I want to move out from parents house! (24yr old girl)

Re: I want to move out from parents house! (24yr old girl)

Why not? She's not in Pakistan. Many girls I know of do not live with their families.

So you mean to say a girl can survive alone in a society without family or any support ?

I really can not even imagine how they are surviving alone. May be they live with their... aham aham

What country do you live in? Why can’t a female, especially one that has a college degree, get a full-time job and support herself without anyone’s help? :konfused:

I live in Armangtar, an under-development country of Jupiter :stuck_out_tongue: here we do not allow our young ladys to roam around anywhere alone… for their own good. Anyway, obviously OP can do whatever she wants to, i just gave my opinion.

Just to clear it, I was talking about her safety, precisely.

errr thousands of grls move out of the house for school and work in the US...its not that big a deal....

Hitman seriously??? I moved out wen I was 22. Never had the ahem ahem that u talk of and my security has never been an issue. I live alone in the UK and my parents have never worried about anything. Oh except that yes they would prefer I wasnt alone and had someone to come home to but thats another story.

dear sis... i think i am wrong, as you experience all this personally by yourself so surely you know more than me... i still have no idea how can a girl live alone... kinda scary for me :P well, good for you and i appreciate... you are managing your life entirely by yourself.

and plenty in pk do it as well when girls live in hostels for uni my own 2 sils are living way from home

Whats an aham aham?

Its so interesting to see how living alone automatically leads some guys to think that a girl must be living with an aham aham.

I lived alone for a few years...at about the same age actually as the OP. It was really nice and I am glad I did it. Its an experience and you learn life skills and then appreciate being home more.

Aham aham is just aham aham :p

I am surprised to see how most girls are doing well in their lifes.... aLoNe :P May be i need to come out from my cave and realize that the world is changing rapidly... no one bother alone girls living in an apartment in a totally new society and world is filled with decent people and a beautiful place to live.

Yes. Definitely do that.

Totally new society and world?? LMAO I don’t think OP or any of the other girls living alone have been living under a rock all their lives :rolleyes:

Obviously the specific country makes a big difference but in the U.S., girls living alone is not a big deal. I moved to a new city at 22 and lived by myself for several years without any problems (safety or otherwise). 2 of my sisters currently attend college in a different city and they've been living in dorms (ie. no family, husband, or "aham aham") and they haven't had any problems. And I know plenty of women of all ages and from all types of nationalities who have lived on their own without any issues.

And on the flip side, I have also met women who have been victims of harassment and other crimes while living with someone. In fact, when in grad school, one of my classmates and her husband's apartment was broken into and she was gang-raped IN FRONT OF HER HUSBAND. So yea..... the world is full of good and bad people. It's silly for anyone to think that a woman is 100% safe just b/c she's living with parents/husband or another family member.

Thanks God someone came up with the harsh reality which i was worried about. Girls deserve more security, respect and you know care. Ok so i think it totally depends on an individual and her family whether they are ready to take a bold step or not.

One more thing, people who live in US/UK think they are superior and the other one is typical narrow minded who want to rule over women and stuff. Its kinda offending. Bad things happened, no matter whether you are in US or somewhere else. I am still not convinced :P

So what? Just because Mr. Hitman is not convinced girls will not stop moving out.

i also think you didn't really understand Paheli's post. That negative incident she wrote about happened to a married woman living with her husband. So what she's trying to say (I think) is: Bad things can happen to anyone. It doesn't matter whether they live alone or not.

In fact I think girls living alone are probably extra careful when it comes to dealing with creeps that unfortunately are out there.

LOL...his post is dripping with sarcasm...hahahaha. Dude now you're gonna think twice before you clear your throat around this neck of the of the GS woods in the future.

Ok more seriously.....i think what Hitman is trying to say is that it's more risky for a girl to be on her own...not that it can't be done. It can be done and there are many women who live on their own and are managing. But take something like being out really late at night (factor in location as well) for example, is more risky for a woman than a man. The various differences in the genders.....such as one gender being more or less physically stronger/emotional/objective/etc than the other....do indeed have a bearing on life and do indeed present challenges. I think it would be unreasonable to deny that. And the need for companionship is a natural one.

AGAIN...not saying that women can't manage alone.....they can and do.....but it's not smooth sailing.

The ahem ahem assumption, though, was a rather silly one.

U Jelly, uncle :zobo:

Hitman may be thinking that…but that’s not what he wrote.

:confused: This isn’t about women who move out and become hermits for the rest of their life. Women living along in an apartment/house can also have companionship through visiting family, having friends, dating (if they choose to do so), and eventually…when the time is right…getting married.

I completely agree. :k: But on the other hand, for MANY women (including quite a few right here on GS), living with parents or a husband isn’t smooth sailing either. :chai:

^i know that living with husband n parents isn't smooth sailing. Life overall isn't smooth. I thought that was kind of like what hitman was saying. As for his ahem ahem assumption... I don't support that.

Hmm. I realize living alone might be hard but living with a husband is not exactly rosy. My real issue is...why do some guys think that a girl living alone would be involved in immoral activities? It really means you are living in a cave and still believe that independence is equal to awarapan. Jin logon ka dimagh is tarha ki batein sochta hai kisi aur ki behen ke baray mein...unke baray mein aap kya kahengay? Wouldn't they be the actual aham aham's? ;) I lived alone. I came home at an appropriate hour, cleaned, cooked, went to school, etc. My parents were only an hour away. They had keys to my apartment and I saw them ever single weekend. Sometimes they even came over. When I was done, I moved back and that was it.