I don't want my kids growing up in Pakistan...

Re: I don't want my kids growing up in Pakistan...

Niksik Baji,

Yeah I do see that some times it is assumed that being in an Islamic country, Islamic values will be instilled automatically. This is wrong at the end of parents, that's my only view. What Pakistanis abroad do to keep Islamic values in place is plausible in fact awesome but that is what the parents do & teach. If you want to put those basics in the kids, you can well do that here in Pakistan as well.. no one will stop you.

I am sure you all well know of many families in the west as well who have kids gone astray & wild with their liberty and have crossed all limits.. which is again bad parenting.

Simply put, people who are there for security reasons or for their own choices its up to them for being there and for those who are here its up to them as well. Both are right in their own ways. My basic concern is the confusion among people that :
1-Every Pakistani is a lover of vulgarity & indecency
2-Every Pakistani is a bad Muslim
3-Pakistan is the place that does not teach you Islamic concepts, when in fact its the parents who teach.
4-People who don't do anything for the country i.e. not even vote are upfront to criticize. This of course includes Pakistanis in Pakistan & outside it.

Don't quote me out of context or learn how to read. I was specifically replying to another poster who said he didn't know of any one partaking in these deeds or actions in Pakistan.

I find it hilarious that some of these posts are from people who have chosen to get married abroad. Please stay where you are or move back if you're already here. I'm 3rd generation in this country so I have little affinity to Pakistan. What's your excuse? Please do what you expect us to be doing and stay and make your country a better place. Good luck.

You're right that a dedicated parent can raise a good kid anywhere.I guess our fears are more safety related and opportunity related.

Is this directed to me? :( I never pin pointed at any one's choice of staying or moving. My concern was stereo typing & blaming the wrong party for a problem.

I beg to differ - if you or any one out here loved him - you wouldn't let a dictator do what he did to him ..... If only 50 million people out of 180 million had been on streets to protest this injustice , this wouldnt happen to him ... he wouldn't be in this sorry state ....

So this love and affection blended with Respected words showed here , is not really helping him at all ...

Zulm ko daik kar chup rehna wala bi zalim hai .... Or pUri pakistani qoam , Dr sb - ki mujrim hai ....

Don't even know if it was a general statement or directed at me Daffy or anybody else here. Everybody has a right to raise their kids wherever they want. It's a matter of personal choice. I never once said that any of you were wrong. I resented the generalization and stereotyping to which even BBQ rightly said that give them a break - they have been going through tough times.

We would stay there or if we are here already we would go back InshaAllah to make things better. Our parents have already been doing their best there. Working as professionals (doctors and heading telcom companies and running banks etc). One doesnt need to be on mainstream media or news channels making 'dhooen daar' debates to be doing something for the country.

If one doesn't want to be associated with Pakistan - don't be. It's all matter of personal choices - but please stop *generalising *too.

If you talk about security issues, I could say that even the UK isnt safe for Pakistani Muslims - for as a result of rioting who eventually suffered ..yes parents of the 3 young Pakistani Muslims. Where was the security then? Hadn't they planned and hoped for the best for their kids too and poor Tariq Jahan... did he imagine he would be there doing CPR and helping the injured not knowing his own son was amongst them?

Same goes for the US when it became completely unsafe during and after the 9/11.

Our life is in the hands of Allah. We don't know *when *or *how *any of us would die. Nobody comes with a lifetime insurance/security at the time of their birth.

Libya, Jordan, Egypt were once peaceful countries too. Situations can change within minutes. My best friend's family moved to Canada in search for a better future for their kids .. and only after two weeks their own 15 year old son (my brother as I used to take him as) was run over twice by a drunk hit-and-run driver and killed! :(

I can only pray that none of the families abroad or those in Pakistan ever go through the turmoil of losing their loved ones as millions of people are doing so in Karachi and other places - when it isn't even their fault. and may the future for our kids be secure/peaceful and good wherever on this globe they may be IA :)

I wish I could move to Pakistan with family, even for a few years. I think the life experince that Pakistan can give children of the west is invaluable. Children get so caught up with the duniya that they forget that there is an Akhira too. In Pakistan you are often reminded of witnessing that we are lucky and blessed. Being in a better situation comes with responsbility and I want my kids to realize that. I guess in Pakistan the children can see first hand of the hard life pple suffer and inshallah may keep them grounded. Sometimes the Pakistani ladies come to the west( you know the one who has come from pakistan and believes shes "made it") needs a reality check, how quickly we forget our roots :((. We could be first generation in the west or 4th makes no difference we shouldnt think we are better than anyone just cause Allah has or hasnt put us in situation we are in and strive in both instances to be good muslims with good children inshallah. Sometimes life experince is more valuable the monatary best school, best catchment the list goes on.

What was there to learn? Why not say it clearly that talking abot problems is just excuses.

You negated other poster who said he did not see these problems so common and you said no these problems exist.

It is the battle of your company or observation versus other person. That's all.

I rightly corrected you the same problems are present outside Pakistan. Hence these arguments of comparing problems is useless.

P.S. Work on being civil when discuss. No need to be rude or calling others 13 years old.

Thats a very big generalization. This is the same nation who came out in support of Chief Justice Iftikhar Ch when he was dealt with unfairly.

As much as I would like to derail this thread by addressing Dr AQ's issue, I would just say that I dont agree with your generalization that whole nation is his mujrim

Re: I don’t want my kids growing up in Pakistan…

KIDS people KIDS…:vivo:

amma kya yha har dosre maheene yhi funkari shru ho jati hae , live in pakistan or not !

udhar dollar ko Chuna lga pra hae !

idhar 16 17 sala londe lapare london birmingham walo ki Waat lgae phirte hae :smokin:

jis ne rahna hae hae rhe wrna bhaar mae jae

• jhule laal te lutto maal *

• thand mol te mithe chol **

you want a bahoo who love to watch jerry springer,

I think a good analogy is which school you want your kids to go.

One school only has Pakistani students. It is horrendously corrupt and the children of the rich get good grades while the rest suffer. It is mismanaged and there are constant power outages, lack of basic amenities like functioning washrooms and there is no security at all. Girls get harassed, boys get beaten up, the fees goes up constantly, and there is Zero guarantee that once you graduate you will land a job. People who run the school were chosen for their connections rather than competence. The school curriculum teaches a very narrow subject matter.

The other school is a multicultural school filled with all religions and ethnic groups. They teach tolerance, mutual respect, and hard work. Kids who study hard and good grades and get ahead. It is properly managed, there are basic necessities like electricity, functioning washrooms, security which offers parents a peace of mind. Girls hardly get harassed and if they do they can call security and same goes for the boys. Fees does go up but that is balanced by the yearly pay increases of the parents. People who run the school were chosen democratically and based on their competence and expected results. The school curriculum teaches a wide variety of subject matter.

Now if you were a parent which school would you choose? :)

180 million pakistani don't like Zardari either .. are they coming out in the streets ? People are so busy in their lives and struggle to earn for their families that they don't give a damn what is going on .. They feel it, when they have sometime but they can't devote themselves for a cause. How many of us in the very thread love Pakistan and hate zardari? even if its 1 person who has kids would he leave his kids and go to pakistan and protest against zardari?

Stereotypes, stereoptypes .. and these are being done by people who aren't been in Pakistan for years. They love to make these statements based on the NEWS channels which shows just corruption and all this. even if 3% of people are corrupt (its not actual number just an example) and the news channel only show those 3% then obviously a person who has never been there would say that 100% are corrupt.

I haven't seen that the life of a man living a mediocre life has been effected by these security issues or whatsoever .. .. even today my friends walk on the roads at night .. even today they do the same fun they used to do 2-3 years ago. Only one of my friend got robbed at gun point but it was the time when he moved to Karachi. Never happend in Lahore/Sialkot/Islamabad etc. As @Mirch mentioned his and his family storied about being robbed and i asked him that i believe he is from Karachi.

Now come to the education system. 2 of the Pakistani students got highest A grades in A level (its either O or A). No one here mentioned about them. As i discussed in my earlier posts that pakistan's education system is corrupt but their curriculum is way better. Specially if you are going to Private Schools .. ..

Now come to the religion perspective. I STRONGLY AGREE with whatever is written about pakistan's youth religious awareness .. .. All the iftars that i have done here, we go to Prayer right after our iftar .. but if you get a chance to have an iftar at lets say Pizza Hut, Lahore .. .. you wud listen songs at iftar time .. guys hitting on girls .. girls passing their numbers to them etc .. .. thats true :)

Again, stop stereotyping .. specially if you haven't been to pakistan for years .. .. and all you know about pakistan is something that you heard from News Channels.

mercenary bhai , parso Fox news par dkha rhe thai ke pakistani school ki Moti Ustania bacho ke lunch cheen kr kha rhi thi !

mercenary bhai … is it true :confused:

hai mar jawa, gur kha ke

maiN ne dekhaa thaa Dunyaa, samaa aur waqt TV par k nannhe munne bachche aur bachchiyoN ko piTaaii bhii kar rahii haiN dande se aur moTii moTii ustaaniyaaN nannhii munni bachchiyoN se paauuN dabvaa rahii haiN… :slight_smile:

Jaan ki amaan paaon to arz karu???

so i thought i would try to find some crime stories of amreeka too…to see if there is any..

13-Year-Old Wounded In Apparent Gang Shooting…
http://seattlecrime.com/2011/08/05/13-year-old-wounded-in-apparent-gang-shooting

or this one..

a bechara Bazurg old man got beaten

69-Year-Old Man Beaten, Robbed In Belltown

http://seattlecrime.com/2011/08/03/69-year-old-man-beaten-robbed-in-belltown

Now should I try to say that this place is worse place to live on the face of the earth??

Should I assume that all people in that area are shooters/muggers??

you tell me

:tomato: :tomato:

The matric/inter curriculum doesn't seem to encourage critical thinking or conceptual understanding. Friends of mine who've switched to FSc after Olevels have found that to do well on your exams you have to rely almost entirely on memorization. The format of exams there needs to be improved. That being said, the actual course content isn't bad.

And the Inter-level English curriculum is pathetic, judging from the textbooks.