I don't want my kids growing up in Pakistan...

Re: I don't want my kids growing up in Pakistan...

How can you separate nation from the leaders? Where will you draw the line?

If nation was so much in love with AQ, why did not they protest? Why no one came on streets the way people came in case of Ch Iftikhar.

Re: I don’t want my kids growing up in Pakistan…

I can quote worst examples from USA but that is not the point. Point is this that in Pakistan, in case of poor people, legal protection or legal rights are non to zero. I really want to see that woman who beat the kid to death getting life in prison. Do you really think that it would happen?

I have never seen such a white washed Pakistani (i guess you are a pakistani). Stop portraying a wrong image of pakstan when you have never been there.

0% Guarantee of the job .. well yeah its true if you are graduating from some Random college .. but if you are graduating from any good university .. PU, UET, LUMS, GIKI, NUST, you will get your job offer even before you pass your 8th semester.

Regarding school admissions? .. dude .. try to get an admission for your kid in BeaconHouse or The City school .. and let me know if you can use your "connections" Only or not.

School curriculum .. yeah right .. Please read my posts on Page 6. Bring any kid from Pakistan who is going to a school .. and compete his knowledge of "subjects" with any kid of here .. .. school doesn't even take exams here untill you are in class 9th and you are calling em having fll knowledge of the subjecT? The math which is taught in grade 6 or 7 uin Pakistan is taught in grade 9/10 here.

Partially true .. but not entirely. You need memorizations, you can't "conceptually" answer history questions. or you can't "conceptually" rules of basic maths etc .. .. The recent changes in curriculum (MCQ based exams) has made it worst.

If Nawaz Sharif/Imran Khan had not exploited the emotions of AWAM at that time, no one would have come for him as well .. .. People came out for Ch Iftikhar because leaders of oppositions wanted mushraf to leave and they were looking for an excuse and when they Got one .. they exploited it .. ..

People Wud have protested for AQ if the oppositions would have WANTED to make it a mess .. ..

As i explained earlier .. *180 million pakistani don't like Zardari either .. are they coming out in the streets ? People are so busy in their lives and struggle to earn for their families that they don't give a damn what is going on .. They feel it, when they have sometime but they can't devote themselves for a cause. How many of us in the very thread love Pakistan and hate zardari? even if its 1 person who has kids would he leave his kids and go to pakistan and protest against zardari? *

P.S:
I forgot mention SZABIST School of business which was listed as one of teh best bbusineess school of asia

This reminds me of this old joke when a class was asked to write an essay about poverty. She wrote like this . " We are very poor , our chauffeur is so poor he does not have his car , he drives our car. Our gardener is so poor that he does not have a house he lives in our servant quarters , we are so poor that our maid …"

Then the story of that Roman queen , when she was told that the French populace had no bread to eat. She said " then why don’t they eat cakes."

and this emotional numbness of the nation is exactly what makes some of the posters think twice before jumping into the patriotic bandwagon of saying yes to raising their kids in Pakistan

PU/UET isn’t expensive at all .. .. all you need is decent grades to get admission there .. .. 8000 RS for 1 term .. .. is this expensive?

We are mixing up things again n again. As i mentioned earlier .. .. that people have opportunities here to get scholarships, osap and other loans, these thigns aren’t there. Thats one of ther eason. Students there don’t do anything else when they are studying but students here

• have their osap
  • have off campus jobs and work in summer as well ..

I will see how many people go to universities if these opportunities are taken away from them .. if they dun have osap or they dun study. Its the responsibility of parents to educate their child in Pakistan .. but everyone here is big on “individuality”.

My reply, when i mentioned those universities was to address the Question when it was said that 0% job gurantee .. .. my reply wasn’t addressing financial expense and all these things.

One thing I would def admit that in west, everyone has equal rights to study, health etc .. in Pakistan if you are financially good then you are good to go. AND I BELIEVE that this topic is being discussed among the people who are financially good and it is asked from them would they move or not.

For sure, its very hard in Pakistan to live happily if you aren’t better off or your background/family is not financially strong (though i can debateo n this as well) .. but ITS TRUE. healthcare is expensive, education is tough and basic needs .. people in west have higher buying power but in Pakistan its not like this.

Agree .. ..

but how many of these, would step up to protest against leaders? Forget about Pakistan and others .. I ask you .. if you have to protest against Pakistani leaders in your local area (not Pakistan) .. EVERYDAY, leaving your job aside .. would you go ? no .. because WE have family resposibilities .. as you mentioned in your post that if it was asked from you to move to Paksitan .. u might have .. but since the question is about kids, then you wouldn't because you love your kids 10 times more than Pakistan. I agree .. and thats how it is .. and thats the EXACT reason why most of the people don't come out .. since they have responisbilities of earning, taking care of their famiilies and other things.

The rulers keep people so busy trying to get basics like food and fuel that the people have no time to think about changing the bad situation around them.

Who's Jerry Springer?

I suppose you're in Pak so how come you know about a gora show? (I assume it's a gora show).

Do you guys watch that stuff in Pakistan? Wow.

umm.. and you know of the sahiwal bhaiyya's show while living in londonium. does that mean you watch taht stuff? yeh kya argument hai hareem bhai jaan

I have cousins who watch American TV shows.. They all don't just watch weird dramas on Hum lmao

Here's the thing, most Pakistanis might be honest etc but the law has a lot of flaws in it...

I saw a man with a donkey and he was loading all sort of crap on it, the donkey couldn't even walk coz of the tons of burden it was carrying but guess what? There is no law against animal cruelty in Pakistan.

And recently the reaction of Pakistanis (majority) over Tasir Malik's murder was a shock, even in my own family some people were supporting the murderer.

The sound of azan is a blessing but molvis actually compete for having the loudest speakers in areas like Shadbagh, Anarkali, Mughalpura, Krishan Agar etc. People have no respect for azan because the azans are going on all the time, people living there actually hate it.

who is tasir malik? :O

because everyone in Pak on my FB watches it.

My point is, if I don't want my kids to hero worship that Sahir or Aamir Liaquat doesn't mean I want them to follow Jerry Springer or Paris Hilton.

i was gonna write the same....maybe people don't know but we do have access to the internet/international channels and we can find out whats going on in the world. We dnt live in holes.

Then you must've known about all the DIY, gardening, property, science, travel, nature, car shows too?

I don't see anyone on Pak tv coming up with shows like Deadly60 or any good documentaries.

Pakistan has no good TV…nice argument :k:

:khumar: