Re: I don't want my kids growing up in Pakistan...
Having knowledge of how many 31 days month and what is the weight of ping pong ball may earn you civil servant exam in Pakistan, but it does not make you educated. :p
and yet 99.99 % of inventions in this modern world belong to them ... Strange innit :)
Most of the time when we make such a comment we forget to compare things as whole
I admit most of the inventions are from them .. .. no doubt but have we ever trried to actually compare the "environment" ?
universities here are getting grants from Multinational companies .. .. how many multinational companies would give grants in pakistan?
Students here don't have to worry about their fee, future because of the loans and scholarship .. however in paksitan, a guy start worrying about his pay and income no sooner he enters in 8th semester. Even if he is intelligent and genius he can't pursue or go further because there aren't "opporutnities" in Pakistan ..
all the researches/thesis which are being written, they are guided by some Ph.D scholars and then student put their effort in one particular direction with "given grants" to the professor and university .. is there any such environment in Pakistan ??
I ADMIT that pakistan's education system is not good because of the government and other stuff but the curriculum is way better than here.
Having knowledge of how many 31 days month and what is the weight of ping pong ball may earn you civil servant exam in Pakistan, but it does not make you educated. :p
wasn't expecting such a reply from you :)
It was just an example not an ultimate judgement based on months ..
P.s:
i believe the topic is drifting away towards education system.
As with raising kids in Pakistan in UK or Pak...I would not raise my kids in one place and one place only. Period.
Traveling and living in different countries truly broadens your mind, you learn and live so much more than you would at by sticking at just one place. I would really want my children to experience and appreciate the natural beauty, history, culture, language, people, lifestyle, climate, all sorts of different colours and flavours, highs and lows of different countries by first hand experiences.
I guess I'm so full of the typical British 'Asian' life, and thank God I'm not some tarssi hui, ochee person who think this country is God's heaven on earth because we have ghettos in the name of 'multiculturalism' or trendy shops, parks, cinemas etc....if anything I find UK and most of the European countries very dull, bland, mundane and depressing....they're all cool for touristy visits and short career stints but spending your entire bloody life here is not an option for me. I've been eying a change of continent altogether and InshAllah the day is not that far...
I know nomi said don't answer with a question BUT my question is why would this question even arise. I don't live in Pakistan so how/why would my kids be raised there? I live in Canada and my kids (when I have them) will live in Canada too.
This is where one needs to look at the topic through the eyes of the person who made the statement ... If I was a girl, fashion conscious and a bit consumer led then I wouldn't question the selective understanding here .... Unless of course you see me as one who sees shoes as a fashion statement rather than to fulfil a functional purpose ... The first thing I thought of after reading your highlighted text from my quote was that - "does Milly think I'm in to drag or something?" perish the thought. :)
Dude you have me confused with someone with equal intellect as yourself with regards to reading posts. I read the word 'shoes' and stopped reading. Yes, I really am* that* kind of lass.
In USA, when we pick a neighborhood to live, we pay premium price so we dont live in a neighborhood of illiterate people. Koi kalaa kisi kaali ke saath baghair shadi kiye mere paros main reh raha hai tou how is it affecting my children? I dont know, you tell me.
Do you think in Pakistan people don't care where they plan to live?? or that there are no neighborhoods where literate people live??
come on man.......you lived yourself in pakistan i assume.......did you see any kids being killed in your muhalla??
guys, plz dont buy everything western media or our very own media throws at us!! ... things are not as bad as they make it out to be!! ... its not just rich ppl love their life in Pakistan ... there are alot of middles class families ... they love living in Pakistan. ... they way you guys are talking abt it clearly shows all these bomb blasts, education and all other probs dont exist in other countries!! ... baat sirf itni hai k kaheen zayda hai tu kaheen kam! but security ki guarantee tu kaheen bhi nahi .. and its gonna get worse !! esp for muslims around the world ... things are gonna get more tight for us in non muslims countries!! ... Alhumdulilah, Pakistan situation is alot better then many other countries!! (somalia,mexico,syria e.t.c
One solution: pay no heed to the newspapers and the diffuse array of crap news channels running on air. They make things seem 20 x worse than they originally are. Sure gruesome stuff happens frequently but please don't let it define the way an *entire *nation is living.
I am of the opinion that raising my kids here shouldn't be difficult at all..infact with all the faciilities and a good lifestyle it should be theoretically better than living in Pakistan. However I have a duty to *my *parents too. Why should they be stuck somewhere where I am afraid of raising my own children. Moreover in a few years' time they would need us. Same goes for my country. I studied there, I managed to get the best of education it had to offer and then I packed my bags and went away when time came for me to step into the practical world and do something for the country.
Everybody has a right to raise their children in the circumstances and place where they want to. However my question would be to you : *aren't you actually a bit afraid that your future generation would be completely cut off from Pakistan and say your parents and siblings? Since a child born in the west and living up to a good 10-15 years would find it almost impossible to move to Pakistan.
For people whose parents were the ones to migrate/move to the US or Britain ...I agree with them if they say they don't have to come back to Pakistan because frankly speaking they don't have any incentive to do so. For them staying here and contributing to the betterment of Pakistan is a great act on its own.
So Pakistan's a craphole and Pakistanis are jahil, ignorant, bloodthirsty people.
Way to uplift the jashn-e-azaadi spirit.
A standing ovation for the residents of Pakistan for surviving in the worst place on the planet surrounded by the worst people on the planet.
/sarcasm.
And then you lot get so darn angry when Pakistan people stereotype us foreigners of being behaya and whatnot.
Life is what you make it. Your puttar cannot dare look down on women if you embed it into his little brain that everyone is equal. Your daughter will not be deprived of education or career opportunities if you make her a strong woman. They will not be immature at adulthood if you teach them how to fend for themselves. And if you're telling me that this isn't going to work because of the way the society is, then I guess my daughter is going to get pregnant at the age of 15 and my son's going to be addicted to Guinness if I bring them up in Ireland!
I'm not refuting anything else that's been said in this thread about social injustice, crime rate, no safety, corruption etc. That is all bitter but true. And I'm not at all disappointed that people don't want to live in Pakistan especially amidst terrorism n all. Obviously that is everyone's personal preference and no one has a right to tell them otherwise. But the way ye painted all Pakistanis with the same brush didn't sound very nice. And no it's not the bitter truth because I'm not an alien to the country, I've been to a bazillion villages as well as the most developed cities of the country and I don't remember knowing anyone who condones anything that I condemn.
No, the nation isn't perfect but hey they're struggling to survive in extremely difficult conditions, give them a break! I know I won't be able to spend a day in the conditions that the majority of the poverty-stricken nation lives in so I'm not going to sit here and question them as to why they aren't thinking inqilaab when they have a million other things to be worried out such as where to get roti for the family today..
hmm......doesn't quite match up to 12 year old getting killed for not feeding a dog :D....
bhai, wo 12 years old bhee tou kisi ke mohallay main reh rahaa thaa naa. Just because my neighborhood was safe does not make situation rosy in general.
So Pakistan's a craphole and Pakistanis are jahil, ignorant, bloodthirsty people.
Way to uplift the jashn-e-azaadi spirit.
A standing ovation for the residents of Pakistan for surviving in the worst place on the planet surrounded by the worst people on the planet.
/sarcasm.
And then you lot get so darn angry when Pakistan people stereotype us foreigners of being behaya and whatnot.
Life is what you make it. Your puttar cannot dare look down on women if you embed it into his little brain that everyone is equal. Your daughter will not be deprived of education or career opportunities if you make her a strong woman. They will not be immature at adulthood if you teach them how to fend for themselves. And if you're telling me that this isn't going to work because of the way the society is, then I guess my daughter is going to get pregnant at the age of 15 and my son's going to be addicted to Guinness if I bring them up in Ireland!
I'm not refuting anything else that's been said in this thread about social injustice, crime rate, no safety, corruption etc. That is all bitter but true. And I'm not at all disappointed that people don't want to live in Pakistan especially amidst terrorism n all. Obviously that is everyone's personal preference and no one has a right to tell them otherwise. But the way ye painted all Pakistanis with the same brush didn't sound very nice. And no it's not the bitter truth because I'm not an alien to the country, I've been to a bazillion villages as well as the most developed cities of the country and I don't remember knowing anyone who condones anything that I condemn.
No, the nation isn't perfect but hey they're struggling to survive in the extremely difficult conditions, give them a break! I know I won't be able to spend a day in the conditions that the majority of the poverty-stricken nation lives in so I'm not going to sit here and question them as to why they aren't thinking inqilaab when they have a million other things to be worried out such as where to get roti for the family today..
waiting for tamatars
If the title was "would you like to move back to Pakistan". my answer would be yes, but the question is about my kids. That is one point where no parent think of patriotism more than of the safety and well being of their kids. Yes I love Pakistan, but I love my kids 1000 times more. Bitter truth but reality. Just like every sane parent living on this planet, I have right to pick the safest spot on this planet for my kids. Unfortunately, to the best of my knowledge, Pakistan is not amongst the list of such spots.