I don't want my kids growing up in Pakistan...

Re: I don't want my kids growing up in Pakistan...

hmm.......someone said the Higher education is expensive in pakistan..........but is it really cheap in USA or Canada or UK???

Re: I don’t want my kids growing up in Pakistan…

I agree with you about pakistani channels being crap…but you say Paki channels of UK are crap too…now that doesn’t mean Pakistanis in UK are crap too…?? right??

similarly, just because pakistani channels are crap…doesn’t make all/most pakistanis crap too…

Okay, so you've picked up just this one point I mentioned about the media becoming crap in a decade and you not only ignored my other reasons, you also called it "bashing". And yes people have been "bashing" West too but you didn't notice that and yes they are most welcomed to bash West.

We shouldn't be so sensitive and blind about our patriotism, just because some people can see those problems doesn't mean they are bashing their country.

**I myself have criticized the Western countries more than I have criticized Pakistan or other muslim countries because I don't take sides and I call a spade a spade.

The tv shows etc might not be a big problem as compared to other serious problems but I see it as a part of other serious problems like corruption etc. We have utterly corrupt people in our media and it was never the case 10 years ago. People living in Pakistan probably haven't detected that but when you're outside you have a different angle of looking at things.

Just because I live in Britain doesn't make me any less Pakistani from those who are living there right now...and I have a complete right to talk about the problems and talk about my concerns as I have considered moving there several times but I know I'd be more even more isolated in pak than anywhere else in the world because of shutting everyone down and living in a gated security area.

Btw, my post may sound a bit harsh but I'm only clarifying my position.

That's true but I have never seen some educated British Pakistani defending DM or other crap like that.

Point is why should I consider moving there if Paki media is the same or worse than Western media?

Sure you guys can come up with the same old reply "you can screen your kids from it" but then I can stay here if it's about only screening them out, at least in UK I'll have other things to do and other ways of socializing with like minded people.

We have libraries here, we have mother and toddler groups, we have friendship groups here where you can meet like-minded people, but in Pak I don't think you have such opportunities available for meeting other people. Again I'm not bashing them for it, it's just the way it works in Pakistan.

Daffy, we also criticise the state of the NHS system here in the UK, lack of morals, plenty of things.. It's not about bashing, it's about reality..

We had the riots and we openly admit there are serious issues that need to be addressed, we don't pretend everything is ok or get upset if someone points out those problems..

Its all load of bollocks that i dont wana raise my kids in Pakistan. I am still single but if ive kids i would have never raised them in places like Eastham, Upton Park, Ilford, Whitechapel, Plaistow etc its a long list

there are so many crap places in uk i wont send my kids to the schools in these areas i know they will end up black wana bees. I used to live in eastham and every single morning when i go to work i would see the school kids and i would say to myself i would never ever send my kids to these kind of schools.

I think kids can b raised in much better way in pak thn abroad. There are better schools and good unis in Pakistan and once the kids have done the uni education from pak than one can send them for higher study to usa or uk

Yep, and when you move to a posh area in England you're not in touch with the muslim community, it's a dilemma.

A lot of people stay here for jobs and send their families to Pak for a better lifestyle but it's not an option for everyone I guess.

In UK the education is free although there are good schools and bad schools depending upon the area you live in.

^but Nomi is right about the university/colleges fee. Medical schools are so expensive here.

I do agree to the point that niki aapi made that in Pakistan kids see different types of families who are all apparently Muslims but with very variable mindsets and Islamic values. However, that could be a problem here too. Infact here you have a choice of few families that you have to interact with and amongst them a few are religious but the rest are quite westernized for that matter.

Like during Ramadan we have been invited to a few iftars ..and I really wanted it to be in the right spirit and I decided to wear all my desi dresses with my dupatta but I was actually surprised that out of 5 different families we had visited ..dupatta or covering head while hearing the azaan or even while reciting duas was non existent ! very few bothered being quiet at the time of azaan (they all had their TVs on or had azaan clocks), most kids weren’t fasting and their explanations: ‘the fasts are way tooo long’ , very few guys went to the masjid for namaz ..my hubby suggested about going to the mosque to one family for Maghrib and the reply was ‘yaar abhi to sahi se khaya bhi nai …and namaz ka kya hai perhte rahein ge’.

That’s one side of the picture. I met one or two very good families too MashAllah..and am sure there would be a lot more.

The restaurants where I went to had no proper area for offering Salaat. Even at the time of iftar they kept the indian channels switched on and a few restaurants didnt even have dates., (yes am talking about Islamic restaurants, Arabic, Turkish, pakistani etc)
In pakistan it’s never the case. The ramadan at least is observed with full zeal..even if there is a little room more than half the men stand for namaz in jamaat.

Just giving an example. One should try to interact with the right kinds of people. But what about your own relatives who are settled here and completely with a different mindset and values..you just can’t stop meeting them even here too :bummer:

in UK? You can easily get a loan and pay off afterwards because with a degree from UK/USA you have a whole new options for getting a job anywhere in the world. In fact, lots of people here from Pak said they's send their kids for Uni education to UK/USA.

Also, students taking jobs at a young age is a concept totally alien to Pakistanis (not talking about child labour here), parents full time working for their 18 years old's tuition fee doesn't make sense to me. My husband took his first job at a cinema when he was 15, something I can never imagine a 15 year old Pakistani student doing.

Again I'm not bashing, just talking about the norms.

Enigmatic, you keep telling others to stop generalising but that's all I'm seeing in most of your posts. I'm not going to bother going into it point for point but my family and extended family are completely the opposite of what you describe in regards to Islamic practices both during Ramadan and otherwise.

And to the other guy, yeh, no I wouldn't bring my kids up in any of those areas as I wasn't myself. You can always find muslims and a mosque, even in 'posh' areas as Hareem described them. But even as this thread has shown, only specific areas in Pakistan plus the addition of a lot of money are where people would chose to live. So what's the difference?

This is coming from a person who’s giving great lectures on morals, tolerance, respect, manners, civility, education etc etc. In case you never realized, in Britain this particular word (slur rather) goes against all the things mentioned in the last sentence. So take care of that otherwise there isn’t much of the difference between you and the people you are bashing from far away land.

WTH?

First you call my reasoning pathetic and when you can't answer you start attacking my writing style. I used word Paki as a short for Pakistani and not as a slur or otherwise I wouldn't be calling myself Pakistani in every single thread (I didn't even use this to describe the people, I used it for media and channels). You're so keen on accusing me of "bashing" Pakistani people when I'm the one whose family is living there, why would I bash my own family? You disgust me coming up with lies and totally twisting my words. Get a life please. I don't wanna even talk to you next time. Your posts are highly inflammatory.

Dude the word wouldn't be considered slur if it was only a short for Pakistani! Get a life and educate yourself before you land yourself in trouble in real life. Dissing FOBs on internet while acting like one.

hahhaa.....just a thought from hareem's post....

imagine a mommy/toddler play group in Defense in Karachi!?
possible?

or how about a mommy/infant group that provides guidance on breastfeeding!!!!?
how's THAT?

ROFL!!!!!

I think we had a discussion about this on GS.
Someone remind me.....most ppl concluded that the slur is only a slur if someone that is not Pakistani uses it. Kind of like a similar word for ppl of African descent.

Maybe in your sitting rooms. But in professional environment this word can still get you in trouble whether you're Pakistani or not, countless Pakistani/Black kids in my school would get into trouble for using the P word, and I know someone who actually lost his job because of using that word.

Any civilised and self respecting Black or Pakistani wouldn't use this word (at least in normal conversations).

fyi.....our discussion on GS are pretty "sitting room" based......at least we try to keep them that way.....and everyone's measure of self-respect may not be based on the use of a mere word to describe their community.

I don't believe there is anyone on GS that would consider using any such term "professionally"

I remember we had this guppy Da Pakiguy. I’m sure Muzna and Azkar didn’t fire him. :hehe:

Anyway, the trend is changing.

Are you sucking up to her for sake of sucking up or you're actually following what I'm saying?

No I did not imply that place is a sitting room or a professional office, my point to use that word is such a bad habit, you don't even realize when you get into trouble. It was supposed to be an advice not a start of a new argument. I sincerely hope she doesn't use that word around her kids, in case they haven't picked it up already....