I don't want my kids growing up in Pakistan...

Re: I don't want my kids growing up in Pakistan...

i will say one thing ... too many generalizations made here!!
u guys make Pakistanis look bad!! ... wht u see on tv dramas or news is not how 17 crore awaam is!

like someone said here!! i dont want to raise my kid in Pakistan .. cuz he will turn out a loser ... im like seriously???????????????

and also someone said ... Pakistanis are insensitive cuz of so many bomb blasts happening every next day!! they hav no value of human life .. again ... generalization!! ... we are not insensitive .. everyday we bleed green ... we feel the pain of sisters and brothers everyday! ... but we dont let these things effect us ... we have just learn to cope with it well, these things dont stop us from moving forward!! ... we are survivors!! ...

and as for not protesting against injustice ... so again wrong!! ... people have come out on the streets many times(after Salman taseer's muder, shabaz Bhatti, those two brothers and many other examples!!) ... woh aleg baat hai .. nothing big was achieved!! ... but Alhumdulilah, our youth is very much alive and many are working with non govt organizations ... doing whtever is in their capacity.

kher, im outta here!! to each their own .. lakin remember you dont have to put down others to make urself look good ... there are always pros and cons of living in any country!! ... ive been living abroad for the past 12 years and trust me ... whnever the right oppurtunity will arise i will go back!! ... :)

abb dont start bashing me guys !! :(

Re: I don’t want my kids growing up in Pakistan…

You’ve been living abroad for 12 years and you think you know better than the rest about Pakistan? That’s very convincing. :rolleyes:

Everyone here is obviously talking from their experiences so you don’t need to dismiss their opinions completely.

Btw, what sort of opportunity? looking for a good job?

and why not ..

heck that this the only way I look good, I am master of making others look bad

yes dear!!! :D cuz pretty much every year i go to Pakistan for 2 months!! ... and also i was born and raised in Pakistan as well!

btw ... tht's all u got from my post!!?? im nobody to convince someone here!! tht was not even my point yaar!!i was just stating my opnion! :)

I entirely agree to this because this is what you choose for yourself and your family. In your opinion things look brighter on the other side, period. Who could ever dare to argue with that? None.

Its just some of the excuses given here for not living in Pakistan that are way way out of track. If a friend likes Megan fox and I don't, what right do i have to judge him out on it?

Someone said you need to source yourself into top schools in Pakistan. I've been to the City school, and I know several others who've been there as well as Karachi Grammar, Bayview high, Beaconhouse without any sources what so ever. They let you in on grades, and thats it.

Another said, In Pakistan, If someone hits you on the road, he makes sure he hits you again and again until you're dead. This is absolutely false. One incident in a year and you call it frequent and label Pakistan as bad.

Now coming on some statistics. The United States has the highest levels of lifetime illegal cocaine and marijuana use, the United States also has the highest rate of lifetime tobacco use but comes in third in alcohol use, behind the Ukraine and Germany. Going on this, why should I choose to raise my son there.

The United States has the world's highest rape rate of the countries that publish such statistics. It's 4 times higher than Germany, 13 times higher than England, and 20 times higher than Japan. Again, what makes anyone think raising a daughter there would be a good idea? There are so many other examples. Evidently, no country is perfect, it all comes down to what you choose for yourself and your children.

TLK and his jokes :(

I agree with you...I'm sure there are a lot of good people in Pak like everywhere else. And I do miss all the fun etc but when you have kids you think of their safety and security first.
I went to lahore last year and seeing check posts everywhere makes it look like a war zone. I hope everything gets back to normal though.

hawww, you made me look bad. I hope you are feeling good about yourself now ..:nahi:

Its a right thing to have concerns for genuine issues like security, economy, health, education etc...but to demonize every itsy bisty cultural difference for heck of it is just so pathetic....pure chechor pan. You think it make you look oh so cool, no it doesn't so stop trying so hard. Those who are living abroad and happily stereotyping Pakistanis living in Pakistan should take a moment and consider all that stereotypes that exist about them in their host countries.

There are just so many reasons why i can't imagine living anywhere else but in Pakistan...;

1) It's my motherland; i was born here, my parents were born here so i have the emotional connect with it.

2) I feel i owe it to this land, infact i want to stick around here now when things are not going that well because it is this very same place where i was born and brought up. It has given me so many lovely memories and opportunities to cherish for all my life.

3) This place gives me the freedom to practise my religion and culture without the raised eyebrows. I am not saying west is not tolerant of other religions, infact i think it is one of their biggest quality however when the differences r so vast in the lifestyles n practises, one is bound to feel out of place.

4) This places gives me apnapan which i was unable to find abroad. It's just a feeling unexplainable in words. It's like you can go have vacations in 7star hotels but eventually you would want to return back home. And just the feeling you get when you are back home, to your people to your room to your bed, lol its just the same feeling i get here.

5) People here can be of real odd, hypocrate, jahil and all that but believe me, at times of your need, they wl come and stick around. I never saw that in west, partly because they have much busier lives but then i don't want a life where i have to dig up my diary to see if i can adjust meeting a family member or friend.

6) Azaan. No words needed to explain not being able to hear it 5 times a day.

The list is endless but i think you must have got a good idea.

You know I agree with everything you said. People make generalizations about pakistan because of what they remember when they were there the last time or what they have been watching on the news. I spent a few years of my childhood there and I had a blast. However, when i think how i would have turned if i had stayed there, I would not be ME and i love ME... Living in the US has given me the opportunity to be who I am today. Had I been back home, i would miss out on all those opportunities and i would be an entirely different person.

Having said that, why would anyone living abroad would take their child back home and strip him/her of all opportunities so they can raise him/her according to the culture and religion they believe in? What about what the child would want to be when he/she grows up? That's the mentality I want to avoid!

true that Hareem!! there is always a dawn after dark .. so Inshallah, lets keep our fingers crossed, hopefully, things will improve in Pakistan!!

as for opportunity, yes you got it right!! im looking for a good job!! ... did bachelors in criminology here!!
one day inshAllah, ill help put all those jerks behind the bars who are a disgrace to our country!!

"Screw you guys I am going home...."

Theorist, you're going back to Pak? :p

Sure. Unlike you I'm not denying that all these problems don't exist in these countries and I find myself and other muslim parents handling it very well so yes it comes down to your parenting skills.

Someone who said about "hit and run" on road quoted his Pakistani cousin so not everyone in Pakisatn thinks like you especially when they don't have the options, unlike you.

If I ask from a lower class person he'd have a totally different picture so I'm gonna leave it to that.

and if someone is been living in lahore then believe me .. no other city can attract him .. .. no other city would have that taste in the food .. .. .. LAHORE LAHORE AYE!

So depending upon the crop - we dont have in Pakistan .... :) loyal and faithful leaders !

If you have said LUMS or IBA , I would agree but SZABIST - give me a break ... please

sure it is - in a country where average pay is around 6 ,000 /PM ... your quoted figure is way too expensive ...

We cant follow the Egypt model - as we are simply crowd , not a nation ...

No wonder - Pakistanis living abroad got no clue about Pakistani politics .... Imran has no chance of even becoming a CM - yet you talk about presidency..

If that's aimed at me then let me tell you that that was a serious concern because you probably haven't seen the drastic changes in media in last decade effecting Pakistani culture rapidly, Miss Jolie. It's chichora pun btw.

^absolutely! It depends on parenting style. My only request to all desi parents is don't live your life through your children please. As a parent, you are really just responsible for teaching them to love, respect, and care for all humanity. Let them be the person they would be proud of.

:biggthumb:

I wouldn't have disagreed with all the posters here if someone of them had posted this reason for not raising their kidsin Pakistan .. .. but with reasons like insecurity and bla bla .. .. I ain't buying it .. .. and will defend Paksitan as much as i can ..