Really if your inlaws dont want you to put cream in the kheer then dont put it in. Simple.
You said it was a petty thng that caused this argument. Was cream in the kheer such a big issue for you?
I am on your side really, sometimes its better to go along with the situation your in until you can excplain fully to your husband later what happened. Im sure he could arrange someone other than your inlaws to get you any shopping you want (you said money is not an issue).
Dont worry about whether she controls her husband or not, just hand her the list and let her take care of the grocery buisness.
you know what will she do, she will say, "isme se kuch bhi nahin aana, aaj daal pakalo.." and my anyother word will make her taunt and raise her voice, at me!!
I only hope, I am not sure, how soon will I leave.
my jethani lives in the same house.. she is one of those typical too and rest, she is here on watta satta.. so my MIL or FIL can't pick such minor things infront of her.. they know it can effect their daughter!
about handing over the list to my MIL...
LOL.... infact LOVL and v stands for VERY!
My MIL is the green card to my FIL.. she has controlled him like, even if he wants to eat a boiled egg.. he sees her and say BOIL EGG KHAALOON, then she is the one who tells him to eat it or not!! infact, what all my FIL said or says.. its my MIL at back who fills him!!
Other may have the same impression about your husband, which may include your in laws.
Really if your inlaws dont want you to put cream in the kheer then dont put it in. Simple.
You said it was a petty thng that caused this argument. Was cream in the kheer such a big issue for you?
I am on your side really, sometimes its better to go along with the situation your in until you can excplain fully to your husband later what happened. Im sure he could arrange someone other than your inlaws to get you any shopping you want (you said money is not an issue).
I have done not hundreds but thousands of things according to them! I mentioned in my very first post that why I couldn't control myself this time! because, NOW it was ENOUGH for me.. I am a human.. I couldn't tolerate it more than that!!
My hubby can arrange ofcourse but my inlaws will not let him do this!!
Trust me, daal won’t kill you, kitne din daal baneygi?? If she wants to make daal everyday let her make daal everyday, see how long she can eat daal. Then as I said before ask your hubby to give you pocket money and if you want to eat a chicken murgha, girl you go buy that murgha with your money. If you don’t want them eating your murgha salan, buy yourself a mini refrigerator and keep you chicken murgha salan in there. WOH BHI KHUSH, APP BHI KHUSH. SAB KHUSH.
Other may have the same impression about your husband, which may include your in laws.
My husband doesn't everytime take my side.. he scolds me too sometimes.. even when he was here.. he used to scold me.. but now when he is away.. he is being more polite to me..
and everyone at home knows, I dont misbehave with my husband while every female in my in laws shout at her husband.. I can't.. because I will never raise my voice on him!
My mom would stay in her in-laws' home when we'd visit Pak and she'd invite her married sisters and their kids over. My dad would stay with us for a while and then he'd leave for work....and a few times my khalas and cousins have come to stay over. So, there are exceptions.
I've never really seen that in desi culture either. Well NVM I havent seen much of desi culture other than my family. Maybe its one of those who think" humpay beti kai ghar say pani pena bhi haram hai".