I am not a happy camper these days [split]

Re: Im not a happy camper these days…

lol tht was funny redvelvet..:hehe:

Re: Im not a happy camper these days...

Laa di daa di daa.....

So, I'm gonna go do my eyebrows now. Having yanked out the wrong hairs....and too many of them....I was left with no other choice but to let my eyebrows grow. Needless to say, it was not fun (aesthetically speaking),.....but it **WAS **rather relaxing, I admit.

Now, after watching a youtube tutorial on how to form the perfect arch, I will go the bathroom armed with a prayer, my white eyeliner pencil, and tweezers.....and attempt to tame my bushy catterpillars. I wish myself the best.

Was that tutorial by Ricebunny? You should get them threaded!! They make you eyebrows perfect!!!!

I'm not really sure what this thread is about, but i know we talked about wedding dresses! So i'm going to tell you mine! I'm gonna wear my moms!!!!! I'm going to get it fitted to my size iA-- it's one those shararah's that goes for any time!! I love my mom's wedding dress, i've worn it at home like 2 times already just for fun!

^ I want to wear my mom's engagement outfit......for my mehendi. Back then the fashions were more simpler. On her engagement, my mom wore this yellow suit with intricate colorful paisley embroidery on it. I tell her I wanna wear that for my Mehendi one day. She still has it in Pakistan folded in one of the many trunks in the basement storage room. I told her to get it last time she went to Pakistan for my cousin's wedding. And she forgot (smacks forehead). But next time my dad goes to Pak, I'll ask him to bring it.

HELLLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOOO LADIESSS!!

How are you? Well, you’re doing well as I can see (read?) I’ve missed quite a bit :slight_smile:

So Aisha, you wrote about the Tudors and Henry the VIII. I am a total Tudor nut. I love the story about his wives! The movie The Other Boleyn Girl is not entirely historically accurate, nor is the book (although the book is loads better, make sure to pick it up!) The whole clan is kinda messed up to be honest. Even Henry’s heirs end up facing all kinds of drama. You know how they say fact is much crazier than fiction? This is great example. Or you know the phrase royally F***ED? I’m pretty sure it was inspired by this breed. But honestly, great non-fiction. I think you’d love it with your penchant for story telling.

Speaking of which. YOU GO GIRL! With your children’s book. Just writing it Aisha, just writing it, takes a lot! And then to continue to pursue it and being offered a freelance job, that should tell you something. You have the gift honey, don’t let it go. I hope you continue to look for other freelance work, and start to build a portfolio. If this is your dream, I have no doubt you will accomplish it. You are a great writer, witty, easy to follow, entertaining. And you’re versatile. Speaking of your writing style, do you know that you dedicated a fairly lengthy post to the word twit? You have imagination and spunk. You know whenever you do publish your work, you will have a built in audience right ova hereeee.

Girls, wedding planning is off the wazoo. Reha, when’s your day? Ours is IN A MONTH! A MONTH! So, two days ago I got food poisoning. And while I am physically better, I am still in an emotional funk. I don’t want to talk to anyone or do anything. I just want to crawl under a rock and wake up and be married. I have really enjoyed planning the wedding, but I wish it was someone else’s. As much as I want to live with my fiance and wake up next to him every morning, I don’t want to have to go through the entire wedding ceremony and all the traditions and hoopla that comes with it.

Am I crazy?

Probably. Both families are dropping major bread (because, that’s what we do, right?) and it really is an outstanding affair. Mashallah, if I don’t say so myself, things have fallen into place beautifully. But God, all the attention on me? For so many days? And, if things don’t go the way I have planned, I have a tendency to get anxiety, become bummed, become depressed… And then there’s life thereafter, I will be so far from my family, my comfort zone.

I don’t want to talk about it anymore!

Reha, tell me more about your planning. Your outfit sounds divine. I wanted to wear a long kameez too! With a simple lenga! But MIL didn’t like the idea at all. And she started showing me vids of old Madhuri movies from like 1995 where she is wearing an outfit like that. Dude, with so many wedding things, I’m like okay, if you’re SO against it, let it go. Honestly, it doesn’t matter either way.

Shall we talk about things that excite me about the wedding (I guess I do want to talk about it after all…)? we got a great deal on a lighting package. There will be spot lighting, pin spotting, gobos, monogram projection. How fun! I can’t wait. So I got over 60% off the price they originally quoted me. Aren’t you proud of me? Reha, I know you do it all the time. Work your charm and save some bucks! It’s a horrible economy to have a wedding in, but at least vendors are willing to work with you.

Reha, what are you guys doing for transportation? We are thinking of getting a classic car. What do you girls think? Which do you like better?

I don’t like white color of the Rolls. Don’t know it doesn’t jive with me.

Enough me, me, me! Did either of you ever watch that BonQuiQui vid? What a classic… I think I perfected my asian accent over the last week. My Dad loves it, but he makes it so politically incorrect. He was telling my fiance, “Me to tujhe Chinese se shaadi karrar ra hu.” My urdo is not so bad, but I’m not very good at reading and writing it on these forums.

Lots of new stuff happening on the forums. And Reha, do you have a new username? Aisha, I sometimes wonder why you don’t post in certain threads, especially when I feel like the thread starter could use some of your common sense…

Missed you xx Long live the “Happy Camper” thread!

You could go away in a gora gharri! one of my friends did that! it was so much fun the horse. But they poo unexpectedly sometimes...so you gotta watch out for that!

But if you don;t want to drop so much bread, you could always get married at home! My parents did and many of my cousins did too!! One of my friends wedding was at her home and it was SOOOO much fun!! it was actually crazy. their were kids running around everywhere. Except for the bride nothing looked. BUT IT WAS SO MEMORABLE!!!! and not so stressful finacially!

I can't wait till my wedding!!

:rotfl: soo funny about the horses poo’ing!! But we have to drive a long distance, and I don’t think the horses will take us soooooooo far!

It was a bit crude of me to mention, even in passing, the cost of the wedding. I apologize! But, no, its what the families want to do. We are both the eldest. We’re lucky Mashallah, that we are able to have what we want. Out of the 5 days of wedding events, one evening we will be having a dholki/mehndi at home!

Ladies, wearing our parents wedding outfits is a beautiful thing. Unfortunately I already did hashar nashar of my mom's shaadi jorda and valima jorda when I was a little younger. I made them over and wore them at weddings...she said I could...it was just sitting there anyway. If you guys can swing it, its a beautiful idea.

Gulab, welcome to the Happy Camper thread! You will find everything here, dreams, complaints, events, funny stories, etc. You name it and we've got it!

Aisha, I know you were sick for a couple of days, how are you feeling now? Any better? Btw, I wanted to ask you...how is the Obagi system working so far for you? And how did the eyebrows turn out? If they're good, you're doing mine, lol.

Mina, my planning is moving along right now. Its fun but you're right. You just want to wake up and be married...not go through all the attention being on you. Im SO used to attending weddings...its a bit wierd to go to my own!

I would do the Rolls...HANDS DOWN! They're both beautiful but I would do the Rolls because you're right, its a classic car and has a certain charm of its own. Beautiful. Okay, I know this sounds a bit odd................but I dont want a traditional car.................I want a stretch muscle car. Like a Hummer or something. I know...its such an oxymoron...a bride getting into a Hummer but I love it!!!!!!!!!! My mom thinks Im nuts but I dont care. Im not that tall so SUVs and big cars always fascinate me.

My outfit will be here end of March and Im praying to Allah swt that it turns out nice...I just cant screw this one up!!!! LOL. But if it doesnt, I have a backup plan. :)

This is my other nick and until people get to know me fully by this nick, PSquared is still out there. After a while, they will merge the two together so I dont lose my posts, threads or blog. THis nick was chosen completely last minute and I hate the cheasiness behind it. And, I know PSquared is leaving a legacy behind but it absolutely MUST GO!

Collide!!! I’m so glad you’re back, I’ve missed you!!! Thanks for the encouragement about my story. Don’t worry, I haven’t given up on it yet. I don’t think Allah would want me to come so far in writing it, if nothing was to be done with it. So, I’m still going to persist and if that means getting the help of literary agents, then so be it. I’ve prayed about this dream of mine so much and I hope it will one day be a reality. When I need to boost up my spirits, I know I can refer back to the encouragement from you and Reha on this thread and that’ll help me stay on track.

Yes, those Tudors are soooooooooooooooooooooo messed up! I am such a nerd. After watching the movie, you know I actually went to a historical web site and read about all of Henry’s wives. Although, I think it’s Henry, more than his wives, whose wits were addled…perhaps from guzzling down so much ale. He was basically a womanizing, heir-hungry, twit :snooty:

About your wedding. I dont’ know what that feels like, but I’ve seen my cousin get married. It was a lavish wedding and a memorable experience. She was going crazy with all the details and the planning. But, Mina, it came together sooooo nicely in the end. All the attention to detail paid off. It truly was one of the most beautiful, smoothest, and well-organized weddings I’ve attended. And it’s going to be like that for you and Reha as well. The anxious feelings are normal and understandable because I’ve seen that. And the traditions are what make our weddings so unique. You’re stressed about them now, but you’re going to look back on all of those traditions and work that you put into it and realize that all these elements made your wedding…uniquely yours. MashaAllah, it seems you and your fiance have a great relationship and you’re exciting about being married to him…so why not start this commitment off with a beautiful wedding. After all the work u’ve put into it, don’t wish for it to be someone elses. It’s going to be worth it when it all comes together…like a painting or a work of art…during which the artist paid maddening attention to every minute detail and impatiently waited for the masterpiece to unfold.

You know, I’ve always wondered about being in the spot light as a bride and sitting on the stage all decked out and seeing all those people looking at you. At first that thought would scare me, but then I realized that…sitting on that stage has got to be among the least stressful of the wedding components…because it means you’re finally there…you’ve arrived…it has finally come to the part that you and everyone have been waiting for!

And it’s a relief to know that since both families are deeply involved in the wedding preparation…you have soooooo many people taking care of things, Mina. And they all know what their roles and timings are. So, it won’t all fall on your shoulders:) I’m close to my family, especially my mom and my sister, so i don’t want to imagine what it would be like to move away from them. I don’t know what to say to comfort you in that regard…but think of it this way. You have a wonderful and loving family who have helped shape you into the strong individual that you are today…and that your fiance fell in love with. And even though you’re going to embark on this new exciting adventure miles away from home…your family will always be there for you. And that kind of bond transcends distance and time zones:wink:

Plus, you’ll have an understanding and supportive husband who will help you adjust to a new environment and whom you can thank by training in the art of fake accents. And one day we’ll all get together and establish the FAKE ACCENT UNIVERSITY, where the professors/staff and their outward appearences will totally clash with the accents coming out of their mouths. Example, a desi math professor teaching calculus in chinese accent. It’s like we’ll have our own twisted world. And being in a new location will allow you access to a new and varied population upon which you can inflict your varying accents:)

I will have to check out the video you mentioned on youtube. I don’t think I’ve seen it. About the cars, I think they’re both nice. After looking at several pictures on the Internet, I like the steel gray one a little bit more. I’m assuming its for the rukhsati, right? And most rukhsatis take place at night. So…at night, I feel the white one would stand out more.

You and Reha will be fine:) Hang in there. It’s almost over!

PSquared,

I watched a youtube video on how to do eyebrows. It's almost like a frickin science. You line up you white eyeliner pencil along the edge of your nose and inner corner of your eye and place a dot. This is where your eye brow should begin. Then, you line the pencil along the outer edge of your pupil...and place another dot. This is where your arch should be. And then placing the pencil diagonally from the edge of your nose, you place another dot. This marks the end of your eybrow. You connect the dots and pluck outside the white markings.

My eyebrows turned out nicely, MashaAllah. I would love to be your offeeshal eye-brows threader for your wedding. I will come in my long sleeved black-and-white striped stretch shirt........a fake mole on my cheek......and my french cap. And let's not forget zee frensh accent. I feel that a master eyebrow threader should be Frensh (French). It puts me in zee character for such an important role, ma cherie,.....for you sssee, zeee eye-browzzz are what frame zeeee visaaje (visage). Oui, n'est pas? Bon!

Obagi does make a difference, Reha. It takes about 4 weeks to see fading of blemishes. It also depends on how dark the spots are. Some people notice a difference in as little as 2 weeks. You know, I never had acne during my teens. And it's irritating and depressing to have to go through this now especially when its something you're not used to. I'm going to set up a laser consultation for next week. It's about $100 which is not bad. Have you looked it into that, Reha? Obagi contains hydroquinone which WILL fade your spots because that what the potent ingredient is for. But since your'e getting married soon and if you feel that you don't have enough time.....then consider talking to your derm about laser. In fact, you can't purchase Obagi without a derm. So, when you see your derm, ask her about the best and most time efficient treatment for your blemishes. I will pm you and tell you how the consultation went:)

About your nick Bonbonniere.......it's not cheesy. It eeez Frensch, ma cherie.......like moi. Bonbonniere means either candy bowl or a store which makes candies. Since I have quite the sweet tooth.......in regards to candy.......I think you can never have enough of either definition. Plus candy is sweet, comforting, and inviting ;-) What's not to like?

But if you want it to be cheesy.....you might want to consider the nick, Fromage.....which eeez Frensh for cheese.........which I happen to like on my pizza, sandwiches, salad, and soups.

^ Oh and since I'm talking food....and french.......my nasty little infection is gone, Alhumdolillah. I feel much better Reha, thanks:)

I was on antibiotics......MAN, that really cleared up my acne. And you know what else helped with that? Cranberry juice and yogurt. They are known to detoxify your system and kill the rotten bacteria that is responsible for impregnating your face with those gruesome puss-filled little boogers! Lovely choice of words, isn't it? I apologize, but it couldn't be helped. Zaaat eeez jjjust how I feel about zeeee visaaje (visage) wreckers!

Since we're on the topic of weddings.....courtesy of Reha and Mina........I think mermaid lehngas are soooooooooo HOT! I'm gonna design my wedding lehnga to have a really strong prominent mermaid fish-tail flounce.......that really stands out.....kinda like the bottoms to some of the hollywood gowns seen on the red carpet. Woooohooo.........I have got a PLAN! Oh yeah! Oh yeah!

You know when I was a kid......I had a brief mermaid obsession. They're cool creatures. Cooler than princesses and fairies and queens.

cipro or bactrim or was it levofloxacin?

[quote="Bonbonniere, post:22, topic:195352"]

I would do the Rolls...HANDS DOWN! They're both beautiful but I would do the Rolls because you're right, its a classic car and has a certain charm of its own. Beautiful. Okay, I know this sounds a bit odd................but I dont want a traditional car.................I want a stretch muscle car. Like a Hummer or something. I know...its such an oxymoron...a bride getting into a Hummer but I love it!!!!!!!!!! My mom thinks Im nuts but I dont care. Im not that tall so SUVs and big cars always fascinate me.

quote]

OMG!! YOu know I SAT IN A HUMMER THIS WEEK!!!!! This kid in my class got a hummer as a loaner since his car was being fixed, and he was like why dont i take you to your car in my hummer! and I was like okay!!!!! So me and these other kids all sat in his hummer and road around it! it was so big and bulky!! YOu need like a ladder to get into it. And while I was getting out i almost fell. Maybe I'm just clumsy, but becareful in that wedding dress!

bactrim

Youtube is awesome...I learned how to do nose contouring on Youtube and let me tell you...its a blessing if you hate your nose and are not into cosmetic surgery. I still have to find the right colors for my face to do the contouring though. Im sanwali but really red so its hard to find a good match. Anyway, Im going to see if I can figure out how to do them myself because its such a pain to actually GO and get them done...you're so dependant all the time.

Btw, I looooooove zee Frensch accent...eet ees so deevine! You shall be my offeeshal eyebrow threader dahling...zat is final!

I had acne when I was in my teens but eventually was able to control it to a certain extent. I would have an occasional zit during my period but thats it. I was doing great for a few years now...the redness is something I cant control but primer helps with that. Then, all of a sudden...BOOM! One day, my face just turned into a pepperoni pizza and I could do nothing to control it. I know Ive got sensitive skin but this was insane! On my chin, forehead (I havent seen pimples on my forehead since 13!), cheeks, along my hairline, etc. I tried everything you can think of...even Retin A. Finally on Gina's suggestion, I went to a doctor and got a series of peels done and that helped SO much. Salicylic acid peels helped my face calm down and finally I started to see myself again. I was SO depressed and upset all the time...thought I was done with it you know? My last one was a glycolic and that was amazing. I loved it. Now, I use sensitive skin washes, gel moisturizers and sunscreen. My acne is almost gone...but the spots are still there. Im looking for something that can help with scars and spots leftover from the war zone that was my face. If the Obagi system works with fading spots, Im interested. For laser, I havent met anyone that had done laser yet so Im a bit hesitant about it. If you do go for it, please let me know how it turns out!

Bonbonniere is here to stay! :) :) :) :)

This is better than triple lining your BFFL. Mostly because every one gets a fair turn at speaking and no one is going on and on about their loser of a boyfriend.

Aisha, can I tell you, I love reading your posts. You're writing style is so distinct. I'm sure you have tons and tons of support within your unit of friends and family, but if you ever need to remind yourself, DO come back to this thread. I think we're being objective, we're judging you solely on your writing. And it's really great. Mashallah. When will you share the book with us? I don't think I'd get the same effect reading the text without the illustrations, so perhaps it will have to wait until I get a live viewing. You said you were in Orlando, right? I was born and raised in Miami. What do you think of Florida? (Man, I hope I'm right and that you do actually live in FL!!)

I'm going to have to google this Obagi stuff. I feel like I've heard about it. Wasn't it all the rave a few years back? Or was that a thermal hair straightener? Are we talking about the same thing..? I am really confusing myself :-/

You know what I love/hate. The smileys on GS. I ALWAYS want to use one of those cutie pie, yellow, fat, bouncing emoties, but gosh darnit, I am not about to spend 15 minutes trying to find just the right expression. So, for the most part, I stick to whats already on my keyboard. I just learned that if you're the 1111th poster in the "Every 1111th post wins" thread, you get to have a smiley named after you. I wish we could have a prize on this thread. How about every 2222nd poster gets redvelvet to recreate a pop song parody in your honor, Weird Al Yancovic style. Or every 1122nd poster gets a lecture about the proper way to address a respectable woman without using catcalls, brought to you by The Poster Formerly Known as *PSquared *(aka TPFKAP).

I totally have a mermaid skirt on my lenga. They are super sexy girl! When Mom was in Pakistan, everyone was telling her they are not "in" anymore. WHAT DO THEY KNOW! I have a mermaid skirt and a train on my lengha. And you know what? I think Ariel is my favorite Disney princess! (After Jasmine of course, because you gotta represent. And also I spent a good portion of my years in school being asked the question, "So hey, where's Alladin?") What color do you envision your lengha to be Aisha?

Girls, your kind words and encouragement have really helped with my wedding jitters. It's emotionally a roller coaster. Your life just changes so very much. Reha, your fiance is so lucky to have you. He sounds like a great person. When you speak to others about their problems, it is a reflection on your relationship. I get a peek into the kind of understanding the two of you share and it really is very admirable. Learning about relationships like yours gives me a lot of hope for our generation of young Muslims. It's very important for me to have a stable, happy marriage, where both partners see each other as equals. I want a best a friend and a confidant. I feel like you and your fiance are achieving the same things.

And Aisha, much like Reha, you will also be the ultimate catch. You're so considerate and kind. You're so intelligent. I think you've got so much to share with the world and certainly with another person. I hope that when the time comes for you, you'll come back here and share the journey with us. Despite the fact that you have yet to make that huge decision as of yet, you're still able to provide some of the most sound, most thoughtful advice I have yet to receive. Thank you for that.

We decided to go with the Rolls girls. I really don't like the white color AT ALL! I think the steel is so much more sleek. And I'm such a sleek chic ;-) Okay, scratch the last line, I've actually decided to hunt some more. I'll find what I'm looking for after all! Reha, I think its so funny that you want a big ol', man's-man car. My friend did that at her wedding and her entire bridal party sat with her. It was cute. How about one of those awesome party buses? That would so much fun. With like 25 of your closest friends and family. I think I'd do the entire reception in the bus, to be honest... And Gulab Jamun, Hummer's are really hugee! I don't care for them myself, to be honest. I felt strange sitting in one... There was a Super Sweet Sixteen where a girl fused two Hummer's together or something. Crazy. You should need a special license to drive that. CDL, the kind that truckers have.

BTW, I am trying to ease of the Nutella. Wish me luck, night girls!!!

Collide,

I totally agree with you.....mermaid bottoms are hot. I didn't know they were out of fashion currently, but I don't really care about that. Out of fashion doesn't mean banished completely from the world of fashion. Cuz it seems to me, some things **never **go out of style. Such as jeans or flare bottoms or bell bottom sleeves (LOVE THOSE!)........and I've noticed, that it just takes a couple of people to start wearing something that is not currently being worn....and then BOOM......it becomes the latest trend! That must be how older fashions repeat themselves. It'll be me and you who will rock that mermaid lehnga.....and just watch......pretty soon all the brides will be ordering one!

As for colors, I LOVE **the red and blue combination. There is something so pretty and exotic and bold about it! Red and blue seems so **mermaidish too. Maybe I feel that way cuz fishies come in all sorts of color combinations. But I've decided that red and blue will be the outfit combo for one of the ceremonies.

And if my monster-in-law dare attempt to thwart my bridal wear plans, I doubt that I will be as good and patient and compromising as you and PSquared. I've seen brides wear unflattering color combinations courtesy of...monster in law. Now, just because monster-in-law feels that she herself looks gorgeous in a blindingly bright outfit fashioned by Nasbisco, Skittles (where you can taste and wear the rainbow)...doesn't mean that the bride-to-be can pull it off......or even wants to...for that matter.

Seriously, if she totally disregards my dreams of being a blue and red clad mermaid.....I feel I would have little choice but to....look my right.....look to my left.....and then with a a powerful swing of my fishtail....knock her into the ocean!

Of course.....it would be just a little drowning ACCIDENT. You know, "Mermaid Tried to Save Drowning Mad Woman," is what the news headlines will read. It just doesn't seem plausible for such a beautiful mythical creature to deliberately harm someone....especially one with sush a sharming frensh accent. Nobody would believe that! Nobody would want to! Can u imagine how many little girls' hearts would be broken? They are relying on a generations worth of traditional mermaid fairy tales. And so am I......they make for a good alibi!

Redvelvet,

Over the years, I 've learned a thing or two about eyebrows…and the one thing I learned is that in the US we do start from the inner corner of the eye. But when I went to Pakistan, the eyebrow threaders told me to start from the outer corner of your nose (the edge of your nose). That makes your eyebrows look longer and less blunted. Since then I’ve always told my threaders to start from the out edge of my nose and not the inner corner of your eye. Here is a picture of Shilpa Shetty and her eyebrows:

See how Shetty’s eyebrows are **long? It’s **because she’s starting from her nose. and not the inner corner of her eye. that’s how most desi bollywood actresses do it. However Americans start from the inner corner of their eye and so they’re eyebrows looks smaller and the top of their nose that meets the forhead looks wider. Example:

You see how Ms. Aniston’s eyebrows look shorter compared to Ms. Shetty’s? It’s cause her eyebrow guy is starting from the inner corner of eye

Here’s another bollywood actress that starts from the edge of her nose…Most Desis do…it makes the eyebrows look longer…But to each it’s own!