OOOOH I enjoyed A Time To Kill…shocking, the brutality of the crime makes you cry, and you shake your head at the unnecessary semi-love affair…but oh it’s a powerful book/movie.
Re: Im not a happy camper these days...
Im still plodding along in the Appeal right now because I barely get time to sit down and read. If Im GSing, its usually along with phone calls. Otherwise Im out running around for the wedding...why cant I just run away?
RV, kithe ho?
still having troubles sleeping early?
Who doesn't?
Re: Im not a happy camper these days…
im sleepy and my eyes hurtin .. so im gonna hit the sack ![]()
JL: true, who doesnt have troubles sleeping these days… all the stress in life, doesnt matter what it relates to - takin away the peace of sleep from almost everyone.
LL, *superman *ke hotay huay bhi stress hai life main?
Yes LL, Im still up but I think Ill be nodding off soon.
Hope you have a good night's rest...:)
I REALLY REALLY LIKE NORTHANGER ABBEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think that the main character Catherine is a sweetheart who wears her heart on her sleeve and doesn't play mind games....but she can be oblivious to other people's manipulative behavior and devious intentions. I CAN'T STAND John Thorpe, who is aggressively pursuing Catherine and not only deliberately keeps her away from the guy that she likes (Tilney), but ALSO is forceful, inconsiderate, and full of himself. He has nothing better to talk of but himself and horses and carriages. He's so irritating I would like to kick him where it's not so sunny.
And then there's Catherine's friend Isabella who is a beauty and pretends (unsuccessfully) to be humble.....which is a turn-off and she's very self-centered and over does it with lovey dovey titles such as "My Dearest Darling Sweetest Heart of My Soul Cathering" Alls I gots to say for that is YUCK!
But these characters and their weirdnesses make the book interesting. And I'm looking forward to reading Sense and Sensibility next. Psquared, how is the wedding shopping going? I imagine it's stressful. But I'm sure that it's also fun to look at all the options that are available to you from clothes to jewelry and to hall decor, what have you. Now, is not the time to run away, girl! The more involved you are with buying/arranging wedding stuff....the more likely it's gonna turn out the way you have it pictured in your mind, InshaAllah. Don't worry, hang in there, your special day will be worth all the running around u're doing now:)
I knew you would get into it! Her writing takes a while to get into but once you're there, its awesome.
My wedding shopping is going good. I changed my mind SOOOOOOOOOOO many times about my wedding outfit its crazy! I made an emergency run tonight at midnight because my MIL wanted something different then what I had in mind so we compromised a little here and there. I actually like it better with the changes though so it worked out. We're going to go and haggle with the banquet hall tomorrow because I know he can give me a better price then what Im getting.
About to collapse.............................
YAY! I'm sooo happy you like it. That always happens to me with her books, I read one and I was like, ehh? what is this? but then I was hooked! Something about her books are so antiquated and pleasant. This is going to sound crazy, but, do you ever start talking like them? Or, okay, this is REALLY crazy, but do you sort of feeel like you're also living in their world? She's really a captivating author. That's why her books are so timeless.
I really liked Persuasion too. It was her last book I believe. But it kind of reflects her maturity. Her own life was like one of her novels. I think she fell in love, the relationship didn't work out and then she never did marry. She was genteel as well.
I think I might have liked to live during those times. Everything was so whimsical, the costumes were so elaborate and high tea sounds absolutely divine! And their hobbies are right up my alley; leisurely strolls, reading and writing, card games and vacationing for months. Sigh
Well, the next best thing to living in the turn of the sixteenth century is wedding planning! I don't care just how stressful it can be, I can honestly say, that is one of the happiest times of my life. I'm really going to miss it. I know you'll agree PSquared!
I did tell my fiance that we can never get divorced though. 'Cause I sure as heck ain't gonna do this again!
quote=somehowcollide;6303853 Or, okay, this is REALLY crazy, but do you sort of feeel like you're also living in their world? She's really a captivating author. That's why her books are so timeless.
Are you kidding? ** I TOTALLY START TO TALK LIKE THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!** And you know what's even FUNNER? When you are confronted by someone you're not crazy about........and then you cut them down verbally with Jane Austen language, and they give you that stupefied look cuz UNLIKE YOU they're NOT ADEPT with the variations of the ENGLISH LANGUAGE....and so what you say goes over their head and it makes you look smarter and them insultingly dumb! MUAAHAHAHAHAAH!
But other than that, I find that I have a problem with accents. You see, if I'm around someone that has ANY kind of accent, be it British, middle eastern, thick desi, what have you.......it is only but a few minutes before I start copying their accent without realizing it :( And THAT TOO IN FRONT OF THEIR FACE! And when my sister is able to get me my by myself, she's like , "What's the matter with you? Why are you talking like that,you FREAK?" And I always sincerely respond with "Pardon me, but your question rather baffles me. Bloody hell, I don't know what you're talking about!" (OR SOMETHING ALONG THOSE LINES)
But, yeah, I just naturally seem to pick up accents. Must be subconscious. You know I felt relief when I read that there is this diorder called Fake Accent Syndrome.....and I thought that it might be what I have. But it turns out a fake accent is only developed by Amnesiacs. You see, they forget what their old accent was like, so they develop a new one. It's pretty hilarious, actually. There was a true story in the article about a woman who had amnesia and lost her previous accent and developed a British/Irish one or something. And at first her friends played along with her and then they thought she was doing it on purpose, so they DITCHED HER. How sad. First, amnesia, and then no friends.......well at least she has the charming accent. You know a friend is a true friend only if they stick around after any linguistic changes in you.
But, fear not, Collide, you are not odd at all. When I got into reading the Anne of Green Gables series (have you read it?), I started talking and writing like Anne.
But before I end this post, let me tell you how I currently feel about Catherine, the main heroine from Northanger Abbey. I believe that the corset around the waist of Catherine's dress is TOO TIGHT......so she must not be be receiving sufficient blood to the brain......resulting in her lack of intelligence when it comes to observing and understanding people. The dim-witted heroine thinks that the man who is shamelessly pursuing her friend, Isabella, who is ALSO engaged to her brother James, MUST BE STOPPED AT ONCE......as it shall break her brother James' heart! ** But** what she doesn't understand is that.....the flirting man would WALK AWAY....if ISABELLA was sincerely comitted to her brother and did not encourage and respond favorably to the man's flirtations. Isabella more than the man should be held guilty, as she knows what she's doing. Perhaps Catherine, should lay low on the wine, it's clouding her judgement and sight for that matter.
You know the first time I read her books, I actually did start to talk and write like her. My verbage changed and my writing was more elaborate. I loved it and it would have been amazing to have lived in that era! I had a very vivid imagination as a child...lets just put it that way...lol
Its amazing isnt it SHC? I feel like Ive started a brand new era of my life. Im excited, nervous, etc all at the same time. I cant wait but then again think of my parents...going to miss them a lot. I spend a lot of time with my mom now.
RV, I actually laughed out loud at your post right now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOOOOOOL!
Cutting someone down Jane Austen style, thats what Im talkin about!
OMG I laughed so hard, I almost cried. Okay, I cried. I have tears in my eyes. LOL!
DUDEEEEEEEEEEEEEE I totallllllllllllllllllly start talking all Austen-esque. I am all hoity toity and yes, yes, yes! I write like she does too! I can't articulate it ANY BETTER than you did. I do all those things.
AND OMG! I do the accent thing too. All the time. It drives my family crazy. I used to live in Miami, so I have my hispanic accent down pact. You know the Angela Johnson nail lady impression? Love it, live it, mimic it every chance I get. I went to China last summer. OMG! It was awesome. I actually know how to speak broken English, really well. And, just as a side bar, the Chinese people find desis to be absolutely fascinating and they think our whole lives are just one long Bollywood movie. I also try to do the heavy Middle Eastern accents and I have an alter ego. Her name is Fuschia. Her boyfriend works at Wal-Mart and she has 5 illegitimate children.
Wow, I think I just went too far. Well, I'm not deleting it.
But I start doing it - just naturally start mimicking the subtle tone variations. My younger sister will straight up call me out. But I feel like I'm a language chameleon. I was always successful in my foreign language classes, I would always do the accent really well.
OMG! I bet you do a killer desi accent. It's probably a great icebreaker at parties, where people are like, "Hey, redvelvet do the accent thing!" Oh! And I also think I have a great voice. A part of me thinks I need to try out for American Idol. But that could just be Fuschia talking..
And, you know, threes a crowd and all, but I also have an awkwardly shaped nose and for some reason I decided to get my nose pierced twice in high school.
Leaving my family, gosh, the notion makes my heart drop. I will be living several states away. And I've never been without them. My younger sister is my whole world.
I don't know what I'll do. I hate to even think about it.
LOOOOOOOOOOOOOL, Fuschia, eh? I LIKE! What a creative concept! Hmm, I would like to be Magdalena (Magda) the secret Bond-girl who does hair in a beauty salon while also advising women on their personal problems.
See, I personally believe (contrary to the opinion of my uptight sister), that I possess natural talents as far as accents are concerned. Because once I start subtly emulating the accent of the person I’m with…they don’t freak out at all. They think I’m British, or Middle Eastern, or Fobby Desi just like them! My favorite is the British accent. My sister threatens to find me a British guy so I could move to England and practice my accent all I want. But I tell her I prefer to stay close by to her in warmer weather. NO WAY, I’m movin to another continent.
And most of my friends in highschool were Hispanic…and so I was told by a fellow desi…that I sounded hispanic when I talked. And I had the HIGHEST grade in my French class in highschool. I suspect the teacher wasn’t too crazy about me. The assignments came so easy to me, that I spent most of the class time passing notes/or talking to my Hispanic friend, Jessica. And once I was being really distracting I guess…and the teacher sarcastically remarked ouloud, **“I suppose Chantal knows EVERYTHING.” **That was not nice ![]()
Oh, and Chantal was my chosen French name, hehe.
I have discovered some great uses of accents besides entertaining oneself. I use my accents as blackmail. See, now I have a problem with calling up places like Barnes and Noble and speaking in my British accent…or talking to a telemarketer in an accent…or going up to a cashier ![]()
I even have all the answers planned out. I will go up to someone and speak in a thick English accent. They’ll ask me where I’m from. I’ll say England. Then they’ll ask where in England, and I’ll say “Oh I’m from the town of Befordshire, which is not so far from Bristol.”
So, u know where I got Bedfordshire** from? Got it from Bridget Jones. “Bedfordshire” supposedly means bed. And Bridget dressed in pajamas gives her dad and says, “Well, I’m off to befordshire.” Any my ingenious mind thought that was a pretty clever word of great use to me.
So, I use my fake accents to blackmail my sister. Let’s say we’re headed somewhere, and I need to stop at a store. And she says no…I threaten to start talking in an accent out loud to the nearest strangers. And she gives in to my wishes. Sometimes it works. Other times she threatens to take the car and leave me stranded with my fake accent.
Collide,
About the Chinese finding Desis to be fascinating? DITTO!!!!!!!!! Especially Pakistanis, they really like us. I have proof that they find us blindingly fascinating. See, I ain't so crazy bout ma nose either....I wisher it were thinner, BUT GRATEFUL I have one! And then one day, this pretty Chinese girl I used to work with named Gloria thought my nose was good. She says that it's a good to have a high nose. See, now that says it all right there! And like you, i got it pierced too.
Oh and I forgot to mention, I also like to talk Black. People know I'm desi, but they get confused and think I'm Black cuz of the way I talk.
It really bugs my sister. Every time the phone rings or the doorbell rings, I look at her say, "Who that be?" And if I really wanna HAM it up, it'll be something like "Yo, yo, yo, what the dilly-o. Why u be lookin at me that, girlfriend. You betta recognize!!!"
My sister just shakes her head in disapproval and wonders what kind of grammar I'm teaching my students since I teach Language Arts.
^ LOOOL. Imagining RV talkin ebonics...
Yo, I be talking e-bonics all the time, girl. It's like in my blood, know what I mean! Aint no imagination.....it be the real thing for rizzle ma shizzle!