I am not a happy camper these days [split]

Speaking of Nabiso and Skittles and fishes in the ocean, it reminds me of this wedding cake:

Re: Im not a happy camper these days...

Being the artistic/creative black sheep in my family....I wouldn't mind a cake like that for my wedding, LOL. I might change the colors a bit. I think the above cake needs a blue or a green. I'm not saying I wouldn't explore other options, but I do love color and unconventional things sometimes. Chocolate, however, is a must. I wanted do drive a yellow or lime green car for the longest time. My mom thought it was endearing. She even thought lime green VW beetle-bugs were cute. My dad, and others thought I was weird.

this woman is ugly!!

Speaking of eyebrows, I like them long as well. But if your eyebrows have hair closer to the edge of your nose, the it becomes easier to shape them starting from the edge of your nose. If u don't have hair over there, then u just gotta make do with what you have and find other ways for creating length. I followed the youtube video. And alhumdolillah they turned out nicely. They have an arch, are not too thin, are neater and more precise, and stay close to my natural shape.

I thought you would have said you wanted a Red Velvet cake! Or is that your sister's thing?

Chocolate is my favorite too---but if they could just make a cake out of burfi or gulab jamun that would my cake!

At my brother's wedding...I saw the cake before it got cut, and while it was being cut, but I couldn't find where they were passing out the cake, so I never got a piece! That whole week seems such a fast blur now!

My sister and I never said that we wanted a red velvet wedding cake. In fact I've never had a red velvet cake until just recently......yesterday, to be exact. Yesterday, I finally bought some red velvet cake for the first time and it tastes alright. My nick is based on the red velvet ice cream from Maggie Moo's.

Oh man...I love this thread!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Aisha, Mina is right. Your writing style is amazing and no one can compare. The way you use your words, I love. I just love. You would be so much fun to hang out with too.

Mermaids are gorgeous and I used to sing Ariel's theme song while I did my chores and pretended I was Cinderella as a child. I loved her long red hair but Jasmine was my favorite. Ive been called Jasmine at ever single job Ive had too...including the last one. But you know what? Mermaids skirts dont look good on me ladies...I dont think they do. Im only 5'3" and when I wear a mermaid, I feel like Ive turned all the lights towards my butt...lol. I do like the A-Lines with a long sweeping shirt though...they elongate me a little bit...at least I FEEL taller.

As for the wedding cake...I have to say Im not sure what Im going to do. Im having a full sweet table for the wedding and ON TOP OF THAT a wedding cake? So much sugar! Im thinking of seriously making a very cute and almost whimsical cake...a giant chocolate cupcake just for fun and of course so I can have a cake to cut. I think the cake should be cute and funny. The rest of the place can be elegant and beautiful.

Gulabo, can I call you Gulabo? ;-)

Mina, thank you for saying that! I really hope things work out well, Inshallah. He is a great guy and people tell me that all the time. He is always there to help anyone and everyone, no matter who it is. Ive had random aunties come to me and tell me how lucky I am to have him. And its true. He has never said no to me, lets me do what I want, no restrictions, tons of encouragement, not insecure and the best thing is he doesnt fall prey to desi mentality of men. He doesnt expect me to cook and clean for him. Instead says if I want to learn, he will teach me. Of course, now that he has said that, I will make sure I learn. He treats my family very well and his family treats me well, Mashallah. My mom says I got the best inlaws so far out of all her girls...drama free! I just hope and pray that it stays this way...that I dont do anything to screw it up! LOL.

I hope all of us get wonderful partners and have happy marriages, Ameen!!!!!!!!!!!

Yikes, I forgot to think about height. Damn it! Reha, I'm only 5 feet and 2 inches. Now I'm scared that my mermaid lehnga will make me look shorter! I don't wanna be a mermaid midget....mermaid troll..... mermaid dwarf.......mermaid gnome (this last look being a rather interesting Halloween/Horror movie concept)........Although Ariel didn't seem so tall herself.

So while I'm typing this post, I'm also researching mermaid gowns and I've read that they flatter every shape and height including petite women. Wooohoo! Phew! PSquared, I'm gonna email you my dream bridal gown that I want a la mermaid style. It's blue and red of course:) My mom loves it. InshaAllah I will make something like that for my future wedding, whenever that takes place, lol!

U look like Jasmine........dang u must be quite the stunner, Reha. Shehzad Bhai is a lucky man!

I think I'm going to go do some googling for my wedding outfit too! I was so satisfied with my mother's wedding dress, but now i'm starting to rethink it...hmmm

Mina....about the Nutella....if you still have the jar......just get it over with. When I know there is a nutella jar in my pantry, I attack it every day. It only lasts a few weeks, not even a month actually. You just finish the jar you have, commit the divine taste to your memory, and vow to stay away from the grocery aisle you got it from.

Believe it or not, u can actually tire of Nutella. After finishing one jar, u'll need a break from it. And it'll be a few months before you get another one. Eating Nutella after a long time makes it tast better. But MAN that stuff is addictive. I remember a student of mine once gave me a mini nutella container, about the size of my palm. You peel the foil off and eat the entire contents in one go. That's how small it was. He told me I could only find it in Puerto Rico. I told him u can find it in Walmart. He argued it tasted better from Puerto Rico. Then he said, "If you need some more, just lemme know."

It was cute and funny. The way he said it made it sound like an illegal substance. But NO...it's nothing but mouthwatering chocolate!

Bon, I see your from Chicago! I haven't been there in years! But we just love the Tahoora Sweets there! My parents had them ordered for my brother's wedding! My brother just went to Chicago recently and he got us so many boxes of Tahoora's Sweet- burfis, kalakans, rasgula, and gulab jamun! But there all gone now! My dad and my brothers and me fought over who would eat the last gulab jamun- We had do divide it into 5 itsy bitsy pieces! If I were to own a store it would be a Mithae store!

So when you go to that store, think of me! I'm in love with that store! I even visit their website for fun! It's actually my homepage!

Re: Im not a happy camper these days…

Reha,

I thought u might enjoy this wedding cake…

http://www.sushiordeath.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2007/08/i_like_sushi.jpg

Aaaw, simple but oh so cute. Check it out:

weddingcakes20.jpg (image)

I would however change the frosting color. Not too crazy about the peach frosting. And I think there needs to b a cake base. But I love the teddy bears.

BTW, how to do u post pictures in the posts?

I love them both! Cake and sushi...my two loves! I love the mini cupcake idea...that is something I will look into. I love cupcakes for some odd reason...so cute and so damn good!!!!!!!

To post a picture you have to go Add Reply and then use the quickie bar on the right hand side of the screen...click on image upload and it will guide you on how to upload a picture. It took me forever to figure that out...thought I was nuts or something...lol.

I want to upload a youtube video...know how to do that?

Wait, you can also do it with a quick reply...I just noticed it. Right hand side where it says image upload.

Reha,

When you're posting, if you just type in the url of your youtube video in your response and just post it, the youtube video automatically comes up in the post.

Re: Im not a happy camper these days…

Hey lovelies. I’ve been following the thread all day, but I haven’t had a chance to reply. Glad I’ve finally found a second to breathe! So we’ve figured out which car to rent:

Does it pass? What do you think?

I think a cupcake-cake is an adorable idea. My fiance loves cupcakes too! But beware the MIL (I initially typed in monster but I had to delete it!!) they may not be fond of such cockamamie, unconventional schemes! (What do you think of that word Aisha? Cockamamie. I feel like you’d have a field day with it..)

I mentioned field day in parenthesis. Remember those? Gosh, elementary school was the greatest. I’ve started to feel so nostalgic for those days sigh I was student body president my fifth grade year you know? I’m somebody to reckon with over here. But the nostalgia started recently. I googled my elementary school’s name and I found a faculty list on their website. Quite a few of my old teachers were still around, stil teaching. And these are people who I already thought had enough notches under their belt while I was a student! Redvelvet do you think you could teach for that many years consecutively? I don’t know if our generation has that kind of an attention span… But man, I loved elementary school. I didn’t care for middle or high school as much.

I love me some sushi too. Yummo.

Aisha, that outfit you sent is lovely. I was trying to envision you as it was, but now, in my head you look just like the model. :smiley: I’m also a short, skinny -ahem- petite girl. But I’m gonna rock the mermaid anyway. Since we’re talking about outfits, mine is going to be similar to this one, except with more work done on the top

Lotsa mermaidy stuff going on there, huh? Oh and the girl in the pic is right under 5 foot I’m told. And she looks gorgeous in it, I think. So Reha, stop being silly. I’m certain the style would look really lovely on you. But since you like Jasmine more, you could wear those hawt harem pants instead :wink: GJ - did you find any wedding outfits that you liked?

You know, I love your name Reha. I would name my daughter that. Care to tell me what it means? Or what it was like growing up with that name? I love the simplicity of short, uncomplicated names. I’ve heard that one’s name can effect/impact your life.

Hey Aisha, I know you’re trying to get me to OD on Nutella. But I’m not falling for that! You just want a rehab buddy. I’m not falling off the wagon. Try fooling some other sucker!

lol. Y'all are so funny...

Anyways Reha and Mina---Make sure your wedding dresses comes plenty early before the wedding. I heard this one girl who got her wedding dress a day after the wedding! Yikes! She did however get to have *two *weddings! So maybe it wasn't so bad!

Actually, I love mermaid dresses too. I'm 5'3 (AND A HALF (keech kur)!!), so I have the same problem as y'all! But I don't think height is such a problem- just wear heals and you'll look fine! I know this one friend whose about 5 ft and she wore a white mermaid dress for her valima and she looked gorgeous!

Okay I gotta go study! This is the test where I've studied LEAST in! ha ha! It's on feb 26th...I've been so distracted the last two weeks! And my room's a complete mess. My wonderful mom is coming tomorrow to clean it up!I also dropped chicken and roti on bedroom floor, and so my whole room smells like desi food. I really need mom help! lol.

^ I’ve been wondering myself what Reha’s name means. And I’m gonna take a guess at it. I think Reha means free in urdu. The Arabs believe that the definition of a name reflects in one’s personality. If Reha does mean free, it suits her, she seems like a free-spirit. And Reha, Shehzad means prince :wink: But I’m sure you knew that. He’s the prince charming you’ve been waiting for :slight_smile:

Of all the religious names, i like mine the best. Aisha means life or living/alive or lively or vivacious or joyful life. I just tell people it mean’s life. It’s simpler that way.

I love baby girls and I’ve put more thought into girls names than boys names. I’d want to name my daughter something simple but unique. I like names that phonetically begin with the Z sound…except I would spell it with an** X** because I think it looks sooo much cooler that way. Besides, there are not many Desi names beginning with an X, so I thought what the heck, why not?

And this may sound weird, but I think Friday is a cool name. Guess I was inspired by Nicole Kidman naming her daughter Sunday. So I thought Friday would be interesting. This is how I look at it. Friday is a holy day in Islam and EVERYONE looks forward to Friday. It’s kind of like saying everyone looks forward to someone with Friday as a name. It’s a unique concept and I thought it would be a cool explanation to give my kid if I decide to use that name. But only if it is born on Friday. And it might get **TEDIOIUS **to say Friday all the time…when it’s only Monday. (That can be depressing)…So, I’ll just use Friday as a middle name.

Mina, for some odd reason, I feel nostalgia for high school. I’ve no desire to repeat the classes and coursework and the waiting for it to be over. BUT i’d wanna be a teenager again, just for a while. You ever look at teenagers and think “they’re so young.” It’s a funny thought isn’t it? Especially when we’re not old ourselves. But do you ever look at teens and wish that you could go back if only for a while. And sometimes do you wish you could stop at the age you are now and just not grow older. Not necessarily stop time…cuz you want to experience life and its changes. But maybe stop the aging process, so it stays at one age…and doesn’t move further.

I’m thinking one of these days, I’m going to go and visit my high school. It’s only 10 minutes away from where I live. I don’t even have a desire to see my former teachers. It’s just that I want to remember and feel what it is like to walk down those familiar halls and stairs again. Crazy isn’t it. Since it’s in my system, I should get the feeling out of me…and go one of these days. I was thinking of going today (Friday) but I have to go to the grocery store and buy some ingredients. I’m planning to make cream of roasted red pepper soup today and ghirardelli choc chip cookies:) So, I’ll have to save the high school visit for another time. Maybe another Friday:wink: But it has to be done. I’m a big believer in getting things out of your system sooner or later.

Uggh!! I find nostalagia depressive! Actually i avoid thinking about the past, or going to places like high schools or the house I grew up in just for the sole purpose of nostalgia. It just depresses the heck out of me. I think it's in my genes! My grandmother was the same way! She never talked about the past!

I think one of our home motto is-- the past doesn't exist, but today and tomorrow does! So just remember the past as to learn from it, but not much more!