I am not a happy camper these days [split]

Re: I am not a happy camper these days [split]

i like this thread, its so cute and warm, like discussing with friends at a coffee table:@:

yeah true

^ Hey girls!

You're welcome to join in. It does have a conversations around a coffee table feel to it doesn't it? That's really what it is, lol. Aisha Dubaiwali....I won't scare you with any pictures of my ahem ahem lovely feet in this thread, lol:)

Does anyone enjoy reading books containing a vignette (selection of stories)? I LOVE reading books like that. Since each story is different, it keeps your interest going. Currently I'm reading the book, The Women of Brewster Place by Gloria Naylor. And it's sooo good and well written. Each chapter is a story about the life and struggles of various African American women who live in the impoverished neighborhood, Brewster Place. And the author, Gloria Naylo*r,* has an amazing way with words! I envy the way she takes simple emotions and scenes and describes them with such powerful word combinations. It changes the way you think about that simple emotion or scene. And with her words, she's made the simple lives and struggles in this poor area so complex. The stories are moving and the characters are imperfect but strong, as they all fit in their own way to form the fabric of Brewster Place.

Other vignette books I've read are Interpreter of Maladies (interesting), Video, The Unaccustomed Earth, and Krik Krack by Edwidge Danticat who is this amazing Hatian author!

I love women's literature. The themes are often the same that I wonder why I have not tired of this genre. Maybe because although they are the same universal issues many women go through, they are presented differently by each author.

Reha and Mina.....I recently read Mr. Darcy's Diary by Amanda Granger and I REALLY ENJOYED it! It's the first book I've read from Mr. Darcy's perspective and I felt it was simple and well written. At first I thought it started off a bit corny, but then it picked up pace. And its fun to read of the emotional turmoil the witty Elizabeth Bennet puts him into. The book allows you to get inside Darcy's head for a change. The author, Amadna Granger, has kept it pretty close to Austen's P & P and it also contains humor. Plus, it fills in the gaps for anyone who did not understand P&P. Amanda Granger did a decent job.

Oh and last time I was in the library, I accidentally came across the book, Hot Fudge Sundae Blues. On the cover it bore the "reader's circle" stamp.....so I knew it would be a good read. Thinking it was my destiny to come across the book, I checked it out, and it really was goooood! It's about a young girl whose mother loves her to death, but mommy's got growing up to do. This girl goes through anything and everything. It's one hell of a roller coaster ride that leads to charges/trial for murder which changes the lives of the characters forever!

Awwww SU, Lifey, Aisha, everyone is welcome to join in and have some coffee with us! Come in, have a seat and tell us whats on your mind! Ive also got tea if anyone is interested. :)

Aisha, I love women's literature and will check out Amanda Granger's book. It sounds wonderful and who doesnt want to get in Darcy's head? The mysterious man who was so handsome because of his dark, brooding mannerisms. Im intrigued by men like that...lol. You know, all because of him Ive always been obsessed with having a home and naming it Pemberly? LOL. I just wanted to jump in and push Elizabeth and Darcy together the whole time. Since I love Austen so much, Ive got to read Granger's book. The only problem is, I dont get time to read these days but have to start squeezing it into my day because it relaxes me so much. I love reading for pleasure. As for vignettes, I used to read them A LOT but then got into other books so I havent picked one up in a while.

I havent decided flowers yet because Im still Iffy about the colors. If you think its not a big deal to have purple and gold when Im wearing green and red then Im doing it. For some reason, having the whole hall washed in green makes me a bit uneasy. I dont like that idea, especially if I have colored lights. Ew. Sorry if that was anyone's color scheme! Im worried because the photographer I scheduled hasnt been returning my calls lately and the wedding is in June, peak wedding season. I finally got a hold of her yesterday and she said she would get back to me. She is amazing and I hope I dont lose her for that day but if she disappears, I need to find another one.

Have people done their taxes yet? Im going to do mine next week because I finally got my W2's sent over. I do them myself and get so proud like Im the only one in the world to ever do it myself, LOOOL! I cant help it.

Im sitting in a hotel in Indiana right now, bored out of my mind. My sister is competing in a mock trial tournament for her school. I babysit her for these competitions as my mom wont let her go alone and I love them. I get extremely proud of her because she does so well Mashallah. She is a firecracker...lol. She wants to go to law school and I hope she does. Inshallah. :) :) :)

You know Im in PAIN today? I took a strength class Friday and the guy kicked my butt so hard I am FEELIN' IT!!!!!!!!!!! Oh my GAWD it was hard and I could barely move this morning but I forced myself.

Reha, I’m hoping this link below will offer some help and direction about your decor color schemes. A poster on yahoo answers asked how purple and red can be incorporated in wedding decor…and the responders provided picture links for ideas on how to use the two colors together in a complimentary way. Maybe looking at the pictures will give you an idea.

See, purple is a cool color on the color wheel. Whereas red is a fiery color. So by putting them together, you are combining cool with with warm…and it can be made into a harmonious combination if you use just the right shades of each color. Take a look, Reha. There are even flower pictures.

How can I incorporate red and purple into my wedding? - Yahoo! Answers

Purple and Red any ideas??? … | Brides.com

Okay, BOTH those links have some GREAT ideas. I looked at them right now and you're right. Maybe I could do combination and pull it off. The darker purples and reds give it a very autumn-y and fall type feel so how abour violet and red? A light purple will help the red stand out without it looking monotonous. Another idea I got from one of the pics was yellow and purple. Since its summer, it will look good as well. I think if I go with red, it will probably be a very light purple. If I go with yellow, it will be a dark purple. Do you see what I mean?

Okay, let me post some pictures!

I say GO FOR IT, Reha!!! That purple/red combination is so unique and alluring......it will DEFINITELY go with the gold. ANYTHING goes with gold. And the purple will NOT clash with your clothes.............as long as you combine red flowers with purple flowers. I really like the DEEP purple and red flower bouquet in the example below.....the colors will not clash at all.

Reha,

Since you're having a summer wedding, yellow and purple can work as they are complimentary colors. But you mentioned that your background will have gold right? I was thinking that to make the yellow flowers stand out more against the gold....some white flowers can be combined. So it would be a combo of yellow, purple, and white? What do you think?

There is this one red and purple flower arrangement I like. I don't know if you think it would look autumnal.......but i find it alluring. Since your wedding is taking place at night.....the deeper reds and purples will give an enchanting sort of look. I'll post the pics when I find them.

[quote="redvelvet, post:4, topic:195443"]

Reha,

Since you're having a summer wedding, yellow and purple can work as they are complimentary colors. But you mentioned that your background will have gold right? I was thinking that to make the yellow flowers stand out more against the gold....some white flowers can be combined. So it would be a combo of yellow, purple, and white? What do you think?

I see what you're saying about the red and violet combo. And I noticed that combo in the pics in the links above. I like them. They are a very alluring combo....and since your wedding is at nigh (right?) it would make for an enchanting combo.

Hey when you say violet and red.......do you mean kind of like the red and violet flowers in the second link i posted above. It's the vase of violet and red flowers that comes right after the wedding cake pic?

Okay, this is the color I meant when I said violet but it looks more like lavendar:

I LOVE LOVE LOVE the idea of purples, reds and gold! Very pretty and elegant. Yay!!! I think we finally came to a conclusion!!!

Reha…these were the FIRST flowers to capture my attention on that site. ON the other site…I also liked the ones that come right after the wedding cake. If I compare the two…I sincerely and honestly love the first combo (the on you’ve picked)…they’re so soft and beautiful right? The combination of muted pinks, reds, and purples…is very charming. Search no more, you’ve found your flowers…and they dont’ clash at all! You should print out a pic to give your florist an idea of the colors and arrangement.

Hehe, I wouldnt mind even if you showed me your feet redvelvet:cb:

so what exactly am i supposed to post in this thread?:hmmm:

Im so excited now. Now even the bridal bouqet can easily incorporate these colors and not clash with what Im wearing. Speaking of flowers, have you ever see peonies? Im a HUGE fan of peonies and lilies. So beautiful and such full bodied flowers. I was hoping to carry them when I walk in. But, we'll see.

Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!! Im away right now but I will post pictures of the vases so you guys can see what the flowers will be sitting in................yay!!

I'm glad your feeling better and more sure about the flowers/decor dilemma. Purple and red are an alluring and enchanting match! I haven't seen them used in a wedding before, but I love them already. I might go that route one day myself, lol:)

^ Aisha, if you look through the pages in this thread, you'll find we talk about a variety of things. It could be about your opinions about a book, movie, events, and other various topics. This is a thread where we take a break from the usual issues that plague desi society such as saas/bahu henpecking behavior or the complications of the rishta/marriage ordeal. In NO WAY, am i trying to invalidate these issues. I understand and accept that they are issues in our society. But, here you can take a breather and post your random musings. The best part about this thread is that MA it's **respectful **and it has continued so long in this manner. Here, you will find humor and entertainment and things to think about with out maliciousness.

Yes ma'am! That is right! Aisha in Dubai, talk about whatever is on your mind. :)

Aisha in FL, There is a florist my family works with and I contacted her today. Unfortunately, they had a death in the family so they're out of town for a few days so I am to call her on Tuesday and set up a time to take over my centerpiece ideas. I looked online for a while but wasnt able to find something I was envisioning.

I have these tall, glass structures that are hollow but sealed at the top with a small bowl like thing sitting on top. So, you cant put flowers inside it. They sit on top in the bowl and this means no long stems of course. What I want is basically bunches of flowers to sit on top of this thing (I cant think of a word for it) with long vines spilling down all the way to the table. Ive not come across a single picture of what Im talking about, surprisingly.

Does this make sense?

My sister won Best Attorney for her region this weekend!!!!!! Mashallah. I was so proud of her...always will be. :)

Hey Reha,

Congratulations to your sister! I guess if we ever get into a legal scrape…we can turn to your sis :slight_smile:

Yup, I totally get the picture you’re painting of your centerpiece. It’s simply a bowl that rests on top of a long structure. And you want bunches of flowers to rest inside the bowl almost like potpourri…except you’d want your flowers to be in bigger more lusher pieces compared to potpourri…and you want tendril-like vines to flow down and outwards from the edges of the bowl. I have a pretty good imagination…so am I almost right in how you’re visualizing this? Below I’ve included the link to a pic of a bowl like structure on top of a cylindrical tube with flowers resting in the bowl. Take a look at it. Is this the type of centerpiece structure that you have? If so, then I’m guessing you wanna take the water and candle out…fill it to the top with flowers…and let tendrils of vines hang down from the edges, right?

Here is another example of a pic with a bowl on top of a tube…it’s a beach them wedding, and i think it’s sooo cute, Reha. Look at the little sand castle candles on the plates, so adorable.

http://www.myweddingfavors.com/images/product/TropicalBeach-L.jpg