I am not a happy camper these days [split]

yeah have to get ready for school now :(

***Lovely!!! You write very well Mina, Mashallah. But if I disappear…you have to come up with something equally as beautiful and eloquent. You too Aisha! ***

***As one of our posters said before:::: Long life the Happy Camper Thread!!! ***

Re: Im not a happy camper these days...

Gupshup is so freaken boring for me without Aisha!! Seriously....it's not fun without her-especially this whole thread!! I miss her soooooo much!!

I called her again just now...and just got a voice mail, the kind that you can't leave a message :(

NO SHC, I'm not calling her again...i'm afraid she'll will think I;m stalking her, lol....i wonder where she is! hope she's alright!

Re: Im not a happy camper these days...

Can you split it off maybe and put it in the Wedding or Life1 forum so we can still talk about this stuff somewhere else? Please? This thread has sentimental value to it now...

Re: I am not a happy camper these days [split]

sorry somehowcollide, but this thread had nothing to do with H&F section and it was off topic. This thread wont lose its significance as almost all of the post that went off topic from that topic are moved here.. I feel this discussion can still carry on over here and you may get more people here joining your discussion.

Girls here is your thread you can talk as much you like in it and whatever topic you want to discuss you can discuss its all yours.:slight_smile: We didn’t split this thread because in AV you can have discussion on any topic you want.
Have fun ,I like reading your interesting posts:chai:

Its in AV now :)

So our thread is back…YAY! Im very happy to see that. Now, all I need is for Mina, Gulabo and Aisha to show up and all will be well. But its not the same without Aisha is it? No, its not. What to do? :halo:

Well…I can post my updates and hope you guys show up and dont leave me here all alone. :blush:

I started my Barbell Strength classes at the gym :bb1:…and Im a-hurtin right now. Along with that, Im also doing cardio to my favorite movies. Right now, Im watching The Devil Wears Prada for the 700th time. Nothing makes you work harder on the treadmill then seeing skinny girls with designer bags!!! There is a creme colored Prada Meryl Streep carries in there that I just want to snatch right off her shoulder. Try it, watch your favorite actress while running…your paces quickens almost automatically. LOL. :tm:

Is it true Im supposed to match the whole banquet hall to my outfit? Im wearing light green and red. Red has been done to death and if I do light green everywhere…it might look like vomit. So, purple seems perfect but Ive heard and seen a few threads where girls are doing the entire facility according to the colors of their dress. The cloth behind me wont be purple…it will be either gold or white depending on whats available. So, how can I clash? :confused:

There was a huge South Asian Bridal Expo here on Sunday. I went and it was marvelous except for a few things. See, these people forget that a lot of desi families show up and hired belly dancers. Yes, half naked belly dancers that were pouring out of their clothes. And guess who their primary audience was? All the men!!! :smack: I still dont understand why guys show up to these expos. I get the vendors being here promoting their services and wares but not the random guys that show up.

Anyway, I got some phone numbers, cards and samples of food and cake that day. It was a lot of fun and I also found a really cute bakery that just might be able to do my quirky cake for me. They specialize in cupcakes…yes…I still want the giant cupcake. :CareBear:

Hope you all come by and say hello. :waves:

Hey Mod :wave: thank you for the warm welcome!

Reha, I didn’t realize that you had responded within the quote.

I love the hairstyle that you’ve chosen. How chic! I think it will look lovely on you! I’m also doing something big and poufy :slight_smile: And I’m dying my hair brown too, more of a mocha. My hair dresser wants to do caramel highlights so that there is some definition when she styles it.

I would LOVE to see the stage that your father is planning on designing. That’s really a labor of love, isn’t it? Please send pictures. My father is very artistic as well. Anytime he wears a suit he will always come upstairs or call me down and say, “Mina how does this look? Do you like the way I have matched my tie?” So cute. I will miss that like crazy.

Earlier today my sister was on the laptop on the dining table and mom was making some chutney. We were all chatting and I started busting a move in the middle of the kitchen. Just the type of stuff I sporadically do. And she’s all “are you going to dance like that in front of your saas?” And then we all giggled. But of course, I wouldn’t… How I’m going to miss being in my parent’s home. Reha, do your sisters ever talk about the adjustment?

A few people got the cards in the mail today and they loved them, Shukar. I got all the cards at my house and I am mailing them out for my fiance’s family as well. Shipping on these suckers turned out to be $1.17 each. Yikes. So we’re trying to hand deliver as many as we can! Reha, aside from the color what do your cards look like?

Sobi, I miss Aisha too. Things are quiet without her. Thank goodness that just her computer crashed and it was nothing more severe! By the way, I think your name is lovely too. Care to share the story behind it? Is it the shortened form of something else?

I was in Austin over the weekend. Have you ladies visited? I love that city. Everything about it is just so different. It’s lively, fun, eccentric, weird, cultured - enough synonyms! I could go on and on and still not come close enough to describing it. Most of the restaurants in the city are privately owned with kitschy themes. And there are tons of little vintage stores and festivals all year round. I went to a spa and got an awesome facial and massage. It was great. I am going to do both at least once before the wedding. I to do a couple’s massage with my fiance right before the wedding. He’s never gotten one before. What do you think? Good idea?

I am just looking through my makeup trial pictures. I was being really critical about it when I first got it done, but like the look a lot now.

Oh! I went to this incredible outlet while I was in Austin. About 30 mins away is San Marcos, and the outlets there are incredible. I got lots of nice pj pants from the Victoria’s Secret outlet and this stunning dress from Armani. They had a Gucci outlet there too, and there were some great deals to be had.

Do you girls have a shopping obsession? Something that you can’t live without? I have a big meeting coming up this weekend for my non-profit group that I need to prepare for. Sheesh, when am I gonna sleep?

Mina Darling! :hugz:

You know, we talk about the adjustment a little more now then before because its getting closer. My parents were out looking at some properties earlier this week and our realtor asked how many will be living in there…my parents said 3. WOW! Only three people…at one point there were six of us living together. 4 kids plus mom and dad. We just stood there for a minute thinking about it and then my sister said “thats going to be so sad”!! I have no idea how Im going to do this but it has to be done. Sometime I wish I could just live with them forever but he wont agree to it…haha.

My cards are purple and gold but this is the design:

Same story here hun…card shipping is pricey so we’re going to hand delive as many as we can. Its a bit of a drive but cheaper then mailing them out. So people already got your cards??? Thats awesome! What did they say? Did they like them? Duh, they did. Your cards were gorgeous!!! Mashallah.

I did not know Gulabo was Sobi…is it like Sobia? Because I adore that name. Its beautiful!!

Mina, Ive been to Dallas, Houston but not Austin. It sounds awesome so I have to visit now naturally. There are so many places I want to go…hope I can get it all done before I have kids. Although Austin has got to be better then Chicago…I think every city is cleaner then ours but its still beautiful to me. Also, I think a couples’ massage is a great idea…Im thinking of getting him a set of facials too. Do men get manicures by the way? They must, especially for weddings.

I havent started my makeup trials yet. All of that when my outfit is here so I can take the dupatta with me and she can match shades and colors with it. Im soooooooooooo excited about that part…getting dolled up is the best part! I cant wait. Mina, Ive seen you…you will look stunning! Watch, he will be blown away. Aisha and I were talking about it too…you’re beautiful Mashallah.

For my shopping obsession…its makeup, purses and shoes. Ive got so much makeup, I can sell it and feed a small country, lol. I love makeup and product almost too much. Dont take me near a shopping mall, I can be lethal.

Here is a question I wanted to ask you guys. Ive got a tika and jhoomer that my grandmother left me. She bought it for my wedding but it doesnt have a necklace or earrings to go with it. I want to wear it but how? Should I have an artificial set made to match on the day of the wedding, should I wear my inlaws’ gold set or should I not do grandma’s jhoomer/tika and get a really nice gold plated set from Kyles or somewhere nice? They’re done gold shopping for me so I cant even tell them to please match my tika and jhoomer.

What do you all say? Mina, what kind of jewelry are you wearing? Do you know already?

Your cards look really lovely Reha. Great choice, I think they will look so rich and regal! Have you given decor some more thought? What did your florist say? I think we decided to do a centerpiece that looks something like this Unique Floral Expressions Except we will be using peach/pink colored flowers instead. I love the look of wild, unruly branches. What do you think? My stage designer is also doing my flowers, but she is driving me crazy. She is so freaking stingy! She counts every penny. I feel like I am making her go out of her way for every little detail. Drives me totally insane.

I need to start thinking of ways to stay calm before the big day. I am trying my best not to fall apart.

I have a gorgeous sister and really beautiful cousins too. But you know how girls are? Always trying to loose a few vanity pounds. Anyway, they all wanna be skinny minnies for the wedding so they are on these ultra diets. They have started this magnetic acupuncture routine and every week they go to this nutritionist. He’s also puts them on a strict diet which requires them to eat 5 times a day, mostly fruits and veggies. Crazy girls. They have shed some pounds though.

Its been depressing me to see a lot of my friends and family struggling with the employment situation across the country. I know people who have been laid off and some people who are graduating with no where to go. Its so depressing. I talk to one of my friend’s regularly and she knows her company is on the brink of bankruptcy. The good news for her is that her family wants her to come back home and work in the family business again. I’m not sure what she will ultimately decide to do, but I doubt that her company will survive much longer, I keep praying for her though.

I want to travel very much as well! Reha, I hope you don’t mind my saying this, but I am not crazy about Chicago. I’ve always gone in the winter and I’ve just felt like it was so gloomy. And crowded. And the desis on Devon drove me crazy. In my defense, I don’t even like my home city of Miami. I think its also a dirty place, and I am not crazy about the kind of people that populate Miami either. You can call me a traitor, but I think I’m just being objective and honest!

I do like where Sobi and Aisha are living, Orlando. The residential parts are clean and vast and fairly new. All the Disney stuff aside, and ignoring Kissimmee, I think its a pretty nice place to raise a family. If I had to choose one place to raise my family though, I couldn’t say where exactly I would go. There are really things I like and dislike about a lot of places. For instance, I don’t like California very much. I hate LA. And I like San Francisco and the Bay area, but I don’t think I’d want to raise my family there, you know?

I think facials are a great idea. I need to get my Daddy some too. There is this place here called Massage Envy, they are supposed to give really great hour long massages for about $40-$50 which is pretty inexpensive. I heard they have locations across the country. I’ve spent a lot more on massages and it makes me feel guilty afterwards! Plus, I don’t know if you’ve experienced this, but I actually don’t even enjoy it the whole time. Its painful at moments and I can’t fully relax. Some people fall asleep during massages or facials, but I could’t even think of doing that. I find it really hard to relax when people are touching me. I also hate it when I go to nail salons and the technician tries to give me a foot massage. My reflex is to kick her! Isn’t that horrible? I have never acted on it of course!

Reha, as far as the jewelry goes, it would be a no-brainer for me, get a matching artificial set! I recall your mentioning how much your grandmother meant to you. I know that it would make you so happy to have a piece of her with you on your day. Would your in-laws mind if you didn’t wear their gold? You probably never be able to wear that tika and joomer again if you don’t wear it at your wedding, you know?

So as far as my wedding jewelry goes, I originally was getting a completely different outfit made from an Indian designer. My in-laws got me a matching white gold diamond set to go with the outfit. Unfortunately, I did not end up ordering the original outfit and am ordering from pakifairy instead, and this new outfit is completely different and matches yellow gold. So she is getting an artificial set for me to go with it. Fortunately, the set my in-laws bought match my nikkah sari very nicely so I will still be able to wear it, as it is bridal, but not over the top! Also, my MIL said she was looking through her gold and she found a pretty yellow gold pearl set that I might like, so I’m going to check that out as well.

I’m so sleepy. I want to get up by 8 am tomorrow. Wish me luck?

BTW, how long does it take to get a computer fixed, hmm? I look for Aisha everyday. And now, Sobi is gone too?

Reha, I have makeup trial pics and jewelry pics that I can share with you as a reward for staying with me through thick and thin, in the Happy Camper thread. xx

Those centerpieces look great, I love love the wild branches. Its not over the top and its very elegant. I also like it because Ive been to weddings where the centerpieces are so huge they’re distracting and you cant talk to the person across from you. The size is perfect I think. Very good choice. Your stage designer is a wise woman and is saving you money! Thats a good thing, LOL. You’re funny.

Listen, the big day is all about you getting married more then anything else. Forget the decorations, clothes, etc. Its about the man you will marry and the life you two will have together. Just hold his hand, you will be great. He will help you get through this. I know it, I can tell. And I cant help but add: I cant wait for you to come back and tell me how it all went!!! I am so happy for you Mina!!! This is so exciting and Im praying for you every step of the way. Inshallah, you’ll rock the day!

By the way, Reha here is also trying to lose another 7lbs before the big day…and I WILL! I SO will. I sent my smaller clothes to the tailor so I have no choice but to lose it…lol. That is my motivation. I went to the store today and got myself yogurt, apples, tuna, etc to make sure I have low cal stuff to snack on if need be…I also threw in some swiss chocolate but no one knows. :halo:

Mina, I also got laid off in November of last year. But I was one of the very few lucky ones…I got a severence, live with my parents, dont have a lot of worries right now. The people who are hurting are ones that have families and mortgages. The college I was working for is also shutting down due to this horrid economy. I was laid of with about 40 other people and recently they laid of another 35…it was small to begin with but they’re going to be closing their doors soon enough, they have no choice now.

You know Mina, Chicago is an acquired taste. When you get here, especially in winter…it looks bleak and depressing. But when the weather lets up…the culture and people are amazing. Its got its charm but I can see why people would be turned off by it. My favorite line everytime it snowed here was “Thats it! Im moving to Texas!”…lol. You will just have to come one day during good weather…we’ll go to Navy Pier, shop on Michigan Ave, etc. I was in Pensacola, FL for work once about a year or two ago. It was beautiful…so clean and nice and organized…I felt it was a different country. Downtown Chicago can be a little icky, yes. :slight_smile: I also noticed the culture is so laid back and easy. Here, people run, run and keep running until you eventually drop. But there, life is so casual. No one has anywhere to go, lol. I liked it.

Ive never had a massage Mina…ever. I get a little nervous about people touching me. Dont know what I would do if someone tried to give me a massage…lol. I can give them but getting them is another story. You know what my biggest problem is with pedicures? They tickle!!! And I wiggle!!! LOL. I start to wiggle my foot when they’re scrubbing and it always cracks us up because Im trying so hard to maintain my composure but cant…hilarious. So, they try to put me out of my misery as soon as possible. :cb:

You know, I think I will have them make an artificial set for me for the day of the wedding. You’re right…I wont be able to wear it again and she bought it for me when I was about 15 when I got my first rishta…lol. And, it would make me so happy knowing I wore something she gave, touched, etc. Okay, Ill take pictures and send them to Pakistan. My MIL wont mind it, she said I can do whatever I want and to just let her know! She is a sweet heart, just hope I can keep her happy. Will you live with your in-laws when you’re married? I might for a bit. Scared.

Mina, let me know how things turn out with pakifairy. She has a good reputation and Im sure she will deliver. You gave us an idea of the outfit though and it sounded beautiful!!! I cant wait to see mine!!! Its almost done and Im just dying to get my hands on it…lol. Do you have yours yet?

Mina…the Happy Camper thread is where I met you guys…and Im so happy I did. You guys are amazing. Now, lets see those pictures!

Girls, I'm back!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am soooooooooo happy. If I could do cartwheels I would. You know the type of happiness where you wanna shed tears......but you're so happy that the tears won't come? That's how I feel at 4:43 in the morning! And do ya wanna know why? The reason is rather obvious. It's because I finally have INTERNET!!!!!!! I feel like a parent whose lost/runaway child has come back. This is what maternal love must feel like. The Internet is like my baby. And I only discovered its return but a few moments ago!

In the past I would be irritated with the junk mail that I would have to delete. BUT not today. Not this morning! After just getting Internet back, never have I been soo happy about seeing a slew of junk mail that has piled up during the past week. Never have I had so much fun deleting it.

You must think I'm insane.......but one week was like an eternity. There are certain forms of technology that I am very attached to. Since I rely on them so much, they are almost human to me. For example, the computer and my car. My car, I have named Lily. I was thinking of naming her Lola, but that sounds like the name of a stripper. And although I think my car is just as hot as a stripper, if not more.......I think it would be a crime to taint my pristine white car with such a wild and racy name. Now if she were a lime green or red volkswagon bug, Lola would fit just fine.

But back to the internet. I love it and use it so much that I'm going to research how this diversified mass of informational bliss came into being. It's a shame not to know. Without it, I have relied on exercise, tv, and books to occupy myself. And while each of these activities are well and good in their own place....they were not a strong enough substitute for my Internet!

Reha, GJ, Mina...........I have MISSED you girls sooooooooooooooo much. I had no idea how addicted I was to Gupshup and talking to you guys until I lost internet for a whole frickin week. Minus the heart palpitations, it was a mentally maddening experience. Although I don't smoke at all and never have.......this must be how smokers feel when they go without their nictoine rush! First, I lost internet on the office computer.....and then the premenstrual computer in my room went kaput. But now I'm back. I'm so happy that I feel purple!

Now i hesitate to turn the computer off for fear I'll lose it.

Reha,

I'm right there with ya.......you ain't the only whose got pounds to shed! By staying up all night and waking up late....I felt too tired to exercise as regularly as I used to. And I stuffed myself with junk food and in the process gained 10 pounds. But like you, I am back to my exercising routine again. I love jogging outdoors in my development. That helps a lot. And I also do crunches, weight lifts at home. Don't worry, you'll get there. WE'LL GET THERE! People tend to work better under pressure! And what better effective pressure than a wedding?

I don't think you're going to clash with your outfit and decor, Reha. Because you're also using gold, which is a neutral color. Have you already chosen the flowers? If not could you go to the florist and explain the color of the hall and your dress (take dress with you) and ask her for flower color suggestions that will compliment your clothes?

I think the purple will be just fine. But if you're having doubts........what about using flowers that are of a shade of red which is DIFFERENT from your clothes? It could be a lighter red. It could be a darker red. It could be a blend of red and pale orange even. It could even be a purply-red. I could be a white-red. Does that help?

Have u decided on which flowers?

Mina..........wild unruly branches are sooooo hot especially if they are slender and small! They have that graceful look...kind of like the wavy uneven tresses promised but rarely delivered by shampoos in their well put-together commercials. I saw the branch look for a wedding on tv recently and it looked very pretty. It's a different look and I like it. Thumbs up...go for it!

As far as traveling is concerned.....I've never been to California, but something about it makes me feel uneasy. Can't seem to put my finger on it. My parents have been there and they liked it though. They said it is very clean, lol. I like Orlando, I'm used to it. And it's comforting to know that the theme parks are not too far away from you. But I would like to travel to Chicago (for deep dish pizza) and I wanna go to New York! I haven't been there! Can u believe that? New York almost seems like a rite of passage. I wanna shop there and try the food that is so raved about. I wanna go to chelsea market and purchase a jar or package of something yummy from there like the Food Network chefs. I wanna take a stroll under the trees in Central Park........and silly as it may seem........I wanna see the restaurant, Central Perk. You know, the restaurant from the show, Friends? I wonder if its a real cafe....it would be cool to sit on the couch (or perhaps just look at it) that Joey, Monica, Chandler, Rachel, and Ross idled away their hours upon, lol.

I also want to go to the Keys, Bahamas, Hawaii, France, Italy (venice especially), Greece (for gyros), and Switzerland. And I want to taste real authentic pizza and pasta, french pastries, bread and cheese, lol! While home is comforting, it's healthy to escape its boundaries for a while. I haven't traveled in ages......and at times I feel trapped.....especially since it's something I've done often with the family as a kid.

You know what would be super awesome? If we can take a road trip together. Just us girls. Imagine us meeting some place and embarking on an adventure upon the open road. We can take turns driving.......or we can screw that.......and just fly!

Girl, Im just so happy to have you baaaaaaaaaaaaaack! HUGE HUG

Sorry to intrude guys but just wanted to say congrats for getting your cosy thread back. :)

Thanks Straight_Up. That's really sweet and encouraging of you! You're welcome to join the creative madness of our thread, lol:) You're not intruding.

Wow why didnt I come into this thread before?!? This thread is damn interesting! Good work guys! :slight_smile: I guess I did not come in to this thread as I have soo much work to do from uni and helping out my best friend too! :bummer:

Welcome back RV! :wave:

Thanks for the invite. :slight_smile: :slight_smile: