I am not a happy camper these days [split]

Re: Im not a happy camper these days…

here are pics of purple calla lillies.

http://www.fiftyflowers.com/site_files/FiftyFlowers/Image/Product/Purple_Mini_Calla_Lilies_Purple_300.jpg

From the above list of flowers that Mina posted, I like

The lisianthus (although it’s name sounds like that of an insect, lol)
Both asters, hydrangea, and larkspur.

Reha, I also like Mina’s suggestion of a purple sash around the chairs. That would look pretty, especially if the chairs are covered in white.

I looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooouuuuuuuuuuuuuuveeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelovelovelovelove **purple! **It is my favorite color. And you know why? Just because :slight_smile: I am one of those who say, just because. You know how every girl dreams of painting their room in their favorite color (pink, blue, etc)? I always wanted a purple room. But my parents thought I was crazy. So my walls stayed white (actually off white, more like eggshell, ivory?) But now, Aisha, you have given me all those great reasons for loving purple. I will sound so articulate when people ask why I love purple.

Oh, my bathroom has a purple theme :smiley:

But I don’t wear a lot of purple, I am scared of dark colors because of my skin tone. Aisha, I opened up that page on foundations colors that match desi complexions, but then I felt sleepy and never finished it. Care to share the cliff notes?

I was thinking the chairs would like nice like this

Reha, I recall your saying that the site was throwing in some really beautiful chairs, so they might look very pretty with the sash!

In my opinion, lighting is KEY. Lighting can really set your event off. It can color a room and make it look completely different :slight_smile: As far as centerpieces, since your vases are tall, I would use a tall plant with some branches for the dramatic unruly effect. Dead branches are really affordable (if you collect them yourself, they can be FREE!). Here are some ideas.

As you can see minimal flowers are used keeping costs low, but the look is really elegant! Of course these might not be your taste at all, if so I apologize! But if you want to do something like this, I bet you could do it by yourself. There are lots of good online flower wholesalers, and it seems like you have a lot of support from your family to pull it off :slight_smile: And you have us to help you do all the research.

I would definitely use lots of tea lights around the base of my centerpiece as well. And since you’ve already done a food tasting, it would look really nice to print out a menu to keep at every table, folded into the napkins. I am making sure to specify that all the food at the reception will be halal on my reception menu. Are you doing favors? They could lend to your table decor…

Another really great idea would be to have your own monogram or motif. We have a motif that is being used on all wedding paraphenelia and it really carries our theme all the way from the save the date to the reception lighting (we are getting our monogram/motif projected on the dancefloor). Its super easy to make your own monogram, I would be happy to help you with it if you’d like.

I have lots and lots and lots more ideas. I can go on and on, so I will stop before I get ahead of myself!

Re: Im not a happy camper these days...

I propose that we designate a time to get on GS chat. And then we will talk, OR YELL IN ALL CAPS AND BOLD and only speak to one another and ignore everyone else. So that they can get a taste of their own medicine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Aisha the flowers you posted are very nice choices :flowers:

SHC- I LOVE THE PICTURE WITH THE PINK CHAIRS!!! if you’re going to use that at your wedding, please don’t invite anyone I know—cuz i’m going to it, and i don’t want to feel like a copy cat. lol :wink:

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/thumbs/69099/chivarisash.jpg
LOVE THIS-it’s MINE!!might use mature purple (like eggplant purple) instead! …nice for a valima! LOL :wink: for shaadi I would use maroon and gold so it looks more regal…and less like we’re throwing a baby shower…

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/thumbs/69099/centerpiece4.jpg
my bros shadi had this, we had flowers + candles in the middle. valima had a peach color sash with peach color table cloth- similar arrangement to the pic above!! bride wore light pink that day! So peach theme, with light pink dress. I wore purple! i luv purple too! my room is all purple too ! i think all girls love purple!I would definetly add color here…I like COLOR! i think color adds life!

One friend of mine, had a peacock theme for her shaddi, the wedding card even had a peak feather attached to it! it looked insanely royal!

OMG!! THAT WOULD MAKE ONE HOT WEDDING> I love the monogram on the dance floor idea!! haven't seen that yet!!

^ GJ you made my quoted text purple, hehehehe, nice touch.

I think the sashes on the chairs look GORGEOUS, such a nice touch. Unfortunately, Chivari chairs are about $8 a pop here before setup and tear down. It wasn't worth the $10/pp for us (and the sashes cost extra as well). But they look really lovely, no doubt.

I will take pictures of the projection on the dancefloor. I hope it looks nice!

GJ, just read your post. Peacock SOUNDS amazing. DO IT REHA! It was originally one of my ideas, but it didn't work out. My facility's colors are too neutral. And I've seen gorgeous wedding cards with peacock feathers as well :-)

This is amazing…Im so inspired right now…I was just THINKING of doing purple but I think Ive been converted to Purple as of today! Right now! :slight_smile: I actually love purple as well as all the shades under it like lilac and lavender and violet. Its soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo rich and beautiful. Yummy!

The sashes are being done! Im not even going to to rethink that idea. The hall will look so nice with white chair covers and purple sashes…

Tomorrow, I will have a chat with the florist and find out what she can do to turn my centerpiece into a purple dream. Inshallah, it will be beautiful. I will keep you all posted on what is happening with that.

Okay, all of your ideas are sooooooo nice! I love them! I really truly love them!

First of all, the menu is a great. I am doing wedding favors but not sure what yet. Its a summer wedding with a purple theme so Ive got narrow down my stuff for the favors.

Ive got my cards here somewhere…will find them and get them on here for you guys. I was going to send them off tonight BUT not anymore. Im sending the design to Pakistan and my FIL will take care of all of that for me. Im making the cards purple and gold too. Its too beautiful and amazing…dont want to let that idea go.

Mina, Aisha and Gulabo…you guys are the bestest. Maybe Im just being emotional (Im a wreck, so excuse my mushy sappy self) right now but I really really feel like you girls are just awesome. Im just so happy you guys are here.

Okay girls, we need to do either an AIM or GS chat meet asap. And Mina is right...we need to take over chat and pretend no one else is there so we can hog it up! LOL.

Purple sash it is Aisha! :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Lillies are my favorite flowers. And I think lillies will be perfect for that day. I know that they’re also expensive so I hope this woman can get them done for me for an affordable price. Im going to see what she says to me tomorrow!

Awww Reha :hugz: This is so much fun. Thanks for trusting us :slight_smile:

The only thing is, I have so many ideas, even for my own wedding. But everything starts adding up! I did lots of research trying to find the things that I loved at reasonable costs.

I mean its really easy to have great ideas, you know? The internet is filled with them, but what is most important is being able to do it within your budget, otherwise its not worth it, in my opinion. And it’s actually a lot of fun getting creative and coming up with your own ideas. As a matter of fact, I think that is more fun than having unlimited mullah!

When are we invading GS Chat? I have a bone to pick with these people :asa:

Lets do it...Aisha...Gulabo...tell us when you're freeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!! How about late night? We all seem to do well late nights!

Kidhar gayee?

AISHA!!!WHERE ARE YOU!!!
I MISS YOU!!! COME BACK!!!
:cryb:

Where is she? Call her gulab!!! Stalk her. We need her.

I dont think she is feeling well guys...remember The Ode to a Headache?

Aishaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa...kahan hooooooooooooooooo????????!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am going to write a long post today in memory of our dear friend Aisha, I will try my best to mimic her jovial temperament, the cadence of her writing, the humor **which she so **eloquently interjected and her **sincerity **and **empathy.

Today I received my wedding cards in the mail. Seeing the package in our home's foyer was **so exciting!Speaking of foyer, how do you pronounce it? I try to sound a little uppity, so I often make it a silent "r" at the end. So it sounds like faux yay! LOL. Faux Yay, that sounds like a very *colorful **word! Anyway, there was the package and I tore.it.up! The cards look lovely, even better than in the rendering. I am very happy Allhumdolillah. The best part is my Father, he is great. Girls, you know how your parents do these little things and at one time it would have bugged the heck outta ya, but now you've learned to laught at it? Well, my Father thinks he is great at calligraphy. And he bought himself a calligraphy set and he addressed all the cards to our family members in his calligraphy. Some if came out slanted, some of it was a little wonky. I am a *perfectionist so while I would typically freak out, today I indulged him. It made my heart feel so warm to watch my father address my wedding invitations. It is something that parents wait their whole lives for. I will remember that moment forever, my father proudly scribbling on our perfect invitation envelopes. I know I have to move on, but I wish I didn't have to leave my family so soon...

I also got my haircut today. Just trimmed and my color touched up. I've been dying my hair for a long time. I think I may have greys growing somewhere. I am scared to find out. My hair is quite long now. I like it a bit shorter, shoulder length suits me, but I want it long for all the glamorous wedding hairstyles.

Reha, have you decided how you will wear your hair?

Girls, you know how the world can be a bad place? How people are hurtful, unkind and deceiving? And yet, sometimes when you need it the most people amaze you. The great lengths they will go to for you? I am often impressed by the good people I have in my life. Sometimes I wonder if I have done anything to deserve them. I often hope that I will be able to repay them for their thoughtfulness and consideration.

My entire WORLD revolves around this wedding right now. It consumes every part of my life.

My sister and her best friend are treating me to the movies tomorrow. I think we will finally see Shopaholic! I realized about a year ago, that I really loved watching movies. My fiance and I live in different cities so we were always trying to come up with new ways to stay connected. We used to get movies from Blockbuster.com and watch them together once a week. We'd time the movie so we were watching it together beat by beat. Anyway, we also got really into keeping tracking of the movies that we've watched. We would try and rate every movie we've ever seen. So far I have seen 1200 movies. That's about 48 movies every year. Which is almost like a new movie every week. Crazy! I don't feel like I watch a new movie every week... Maybe I racked 'em up over the summertime..? Remember those days? Summer holidays used to be so much fun. Sigh.

Anyway, how many movies do you think you've watched in your whole life? And is there a genre you absolutely adore? At one point I got really into indie films and documentaries. But I think it was just a phase. I know a lot of people like those new animated films that have cheeky humor (a'la Bee Movie or Nemo). Now I don't hate them, but I don't get super-di-dooper excited about them either. Some of my friends get sooo excited about what I esentially believe to be the newest incarnation of The Lion King. Which reminds me, I always wondered: how do they come up with premise for so many of these films? I'm talking primarly about these animated films. Every single animal species has an animated film dedicated to them. Then there are creatures that don't even exist like Shrek, or Stitch (Lilo didn't look very humanly either, sorry to say.) And there's like a whole genre of animated films deicated to robots and talking toys and machines. There are even movies about kitchen appliances. Oh and talking cars! It's sort of like they just take three or four unrelated thoughts and mesh 'em together to make a movie.

I've decided to take a stab at a synopsis for Pixar's newest computer animated film. A family of socks (the athletic kind) moves into a hoity toity neighborhood (the dress sock kind). The rich daughter of a dress sock family falls in love with the son of the athletic sock family. The entire community says they can't be together, they are not a match, they are not a perfect pair! But they insist that they should be in the same drawer. They are given away to charity as discarded clothing and lie in the discount bin for years at the local salvation army. One day they are chosen by an eccentric homeless bum, who wears the socks with love, mismatched but perfect to him, until the day he dies.

The Reddest Velvet
There is a feeling that is so plush,
It almost makes me blush,
It is the feeling of Velvet.

There is color that is vivid and bright,
It shines with its radiant light,
It is the red of velvet.

There is a poster who is so swell,
How we hope that she gets well,
It is our friend redvelvet.

If someone else disappears from this thread, I'm just saying, don't expect me to write the poem.

Thats so cute!
where did u get ur cards frm, any website?
Movies, well i think i have watched half the amount you watched last year. but i want to watch more this year, there is just nothing else to do around in houston. watch movies and do out to eat. dont you hate that. i think i will also go watch few plays this year. what else, how about comedy clubs, has anybody been to one? who are they? i wanted to go watch Jerry Seinfeld...but guess how much the ticket was...around $500 per person (i check a month before the show, so the cheaper seats weren't avlb.)
anyways
gtg have to work now :(

DARN!! i was going to disappear for a day, just so i could get a personal poem!!! :naraz: no fair!!

I’ll call her again tonite if she’s not back on GS, to see if she’s alrite…