Huge fight with husband

Re: Huge fight with husband

Then in the perspective of others, parents who are financially comfortable yet expect their sons to support them or to make a financial or physical contribution to their household, and daughters who are married and now are the responsibility of their husbands - for the parents or the daughter to take from others - that must be low as well?

Suffice to say that, many parents of boys who are comfortable don't like to take from their sons as well, or from anybody for that matter.

Okay i get it, but it would also have been appreciated if some you would not have made condensing remarks about my family, or the currents mods would have taken some action against those who did.

ye behas abi khtm nei hui.

elaan kia jata hy k mian biwi ki apis main sulah ho gye hy. ap sb log b gr ja kr aram krain

You made fun out of her (deceased) mother. That isn’t a joke.

:rolleyes:

If you are offended by the remarks of someone then there is the "Report Post" feature readily available for you to use.
Please don't expect that moderators will automatically/telepathically know when you are hurt by someone's comments.

You know what?

You're also the father of a daughter and should be thinking twice before speaking ill of any girl's family. Someday, you will be that parent you are insulting.

Allah ka khauf karna chahiye hai at the end of the day...you are not bigger than Allah swt and HIS rules.

And HIS rules say...a girl's family deserves utmost respect. No more or less than a man's. If you believe otherwise, your belief system is in direct opposition to what Islam teaches us. His Islam also teaches us that our parents are our responsibilities, NO MATTER WHAT. And again, your belief system is in direct opposition to what Islam teaches us.

Your reasoning Icono is that Pakistani culture dictates this so you follow it.

I think you have some soul searching to do.

More the reason to save and plan extensively for retirement.

Can I ask people here, how you prioritize between your spouse, children and parents, siblings?
A real life argument that I have witness between a couple. Wife complianed that she needed a new refrigerator because the old one is unreliable and not properly functioning while husband kept telling her that keep the thing till it works. But when his mother (who is in Pakistan) said that she needed air condoning in her room, the son obliged and send the money to Pakistan right away.
The husband says that thier refrigerator is fine and they do not need one right away while his mother is a bozurg khatoon who needs AC in summer.
Who is wrong here?

I'd say he's wrong except.....it's really hot in Pakistan. and air conditioning isn't a luxury anymore. But I wouldn't say the wife is wrong though..it depends, does the husband always consistently prioritize his mother's needs over his wife's? If not, then he's in a tough spot but if so....I feel sorry for the wife!

No one is wrong. He just tried to take care of the more important task first. I don't think he was wrong. The heat in the summers in Pak is very bad and for the elderly...its probably even worse.

I donno Sara. His parents are in Pakistan so I can’t imagine that in everyday life they are his priority. Plus his brother’s family live with the parents too.
But my question is more along the lines of who should be our priority after shaddi?

^ usually the wife and his own children should be priority but exceptions do occur... as long as the guy is striking a balance, and being fair, it shouldn't be a problem I think.

now the fact that some guys cannot strike a balance...is antoher issue altogether.

I can’t really speak on anyone else’s situation, so I’m going to give my example only, and this is how I think it should be:

When I got married, my husband did not ask for or question my paychecks that I earned during our engagement period. He did not assume that those would go into “our” family pot. We’ve been married 14 years now mA, and from day one we run our household on his income only. The week before our wedding, I closed down my own personal account and after we came back from our honeymoon, I was added on to his. From that day forward, we both stuck to a budget and our household was first priority. It was a moot point at the time, because both sets of parents were all established and self sufficient on their own. In fact, my mother was a very wealthy women at the time. But… whenever my husband did do something/buy something/provide for something for his mother, he would automatically reciprocate for mine. There was never any distinction as to who had more right. Nor did I ever “funnel” money to my parents for no reason.

When I started my real estate practice, and was working outside of the house, my earnings were divided in such a way that X amount automaticaly went to our joint savings and X amount I kept in my own personal account to do with as I pleased. And what I “please” is to spend my money on my husband and kids. It’s always been like that. However, when and if I ever decided to give my mom or dad money, it better not be questioned if I have it to give! When my husband decided to go back to school to finish a second degree (while still working full time) it was my earnings that paid his tuition. And that is how it should be. We are a team. We treat eachother as equals, and that extends to our families. He would never dream of depriving me or our children of a need or neccessity to fulfill something for his mom, nor would I watch my household suffer just to help out my parents.

When my parents both were diagnosed with cancer at the same time (and subsequently passed away at the same time) my husband and brother in law both stepped up to the plate and did whatever they could financially, since neither parent had insurance at the time, and they did it without having to be asked, because they wanted to. I am very luck in that regards, I know, because there are not many desi men out there who would take 7 weeks off from work to stay home with a 4 yr old and 2 yr old twins while his wife went to Pakistan to care for her dying father. And it was his idea btw. He booked my ticket and put it in my hand despite my protests.

Each of us three sisters recieved a very handsome amount in payouts in the form of inheiritance from our parents, and not once did my husband or bro in law EVER question or ask about it. I was the one who asked him how we should use to better our own family and we both decided together. But he never expected me to, I did it out of my own accord. In fact, my husband was named as executor of my mothers Estate, and 4 years later is STILL settling her affairs and managing whatever was left over for my siblings and I.

It all comes down to mutual respect. I know of examples like you and others have stated of the wife sending $$$ to her own relatives while her husband or own household is suffering, and I will be the first to say that is wrong! What has upset me the most about this thread is the notion that any parent who accepts monetary help from a son in law or daughter is “beghairat” or wrong. That is such a dhakyanoosi (just for you Muzna!) way of thinking, and it needs to be eradicated from our culture.

Uff. I’m tired now, I need a break from this thread, I’m missing my parents now. :teary2:

love it!!!

and for you … :hugz:
I saw ammi and papa in my dream two nights ago…first time together in a dream since they both passed. He was so proud that I can cook biryani and nihari to his standards…took me to butcher shop to get meat so that I could prove it to him. They were both so happy. Ah.

... huge fight with* husband **turned out to be huge fight with **Iconoclast

^ :hehe:

khatti… :hugz:

Khati you are a beautiful person. Feel like hugging you.
And can’t agree more regarding mutual respect and understanding.

Huge fight with husband

Most of you guppies have expressed what I wanted to say. Islamically, parents deserve the utmost respect and helping them financially, physically or emotionally is our haq and duty. How is it beighairat of our parents to take money from us when we cannot even repay them for the one night they stayed up with us when we couldn't even bat a fly. It is beighairat of us to not help, to assume they don't need us, to sit and eat better food than them because it would be sharamnaak baat if god forbid they took money from their daughter. As babies, and as elderly, we need sahara and it was our parents turn once but then Allah gives us a chance to sawaar our akhirat by helping our parents when they need us. I do not see beighairity in it. I see beigharaty in questioning the need to help parent or the reluctance to help your parents but I personally do not see an punce of beighairty on the parents part or the daughters to help. Not every man is the same, so I cannot say that sharing your parents financial haalat with the husband in every situation is the most ideal thing to do. Helping someone is a sawab that comes back ten fold. islam is a religion that emphasizes on the importance of charity in any form so how can a religion that promotes the act of giving over and over again be mindful or have rules for not giving to parents. It is a simple cultural thing to not accept from a daughter or that it is a shameful act. I am not saying you should compromise your own house's financial situation but if you can help then you should. As for parents who are well off who still take money, this is my take on it. I am married and I live with my inlaws and I try and do my best. I feel like I never got to do my parents khidmat and if I even get them a gift, it is always said ke nahi nahi humay nahi chahiye. Guess what that is the only way I feel like I can give something back that I want to give back. I live a 5 hour flight away, I physically cannot do anything if they are sick or need a hand. I dont care what my brother can or cannot do. I know I cannot do anything so those gifts are my way of making me feel better that maybe I can do something for them and if down the road they need my help financially and If i have my money, I would want them to let me help them or simply spoil them. They spoil and indulge me when I didn't even ask for it so when I see that they may clearly need it.. Im gonna get my sawab on!!!!!

Khatti, you are an amazing person! Your post has me in tears.

:hugz:

So ... why hasn't this thread been closed yet?
It's clear that both sides of this argument are NOT going to see eye to eye... let alone let it go and drop it.

It's the same stuff being repeated over over again. Yes, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and telling someone they're wrong for believing IS not always that best thing to do... but going back and forth on the same topic (defending vs debating) isn't going to do anything when neither side sees the other sides reasoning.

throwing up peace sign Let's all love, live and let live