Re: how to stop your in-laws relatives from borrowing??
Don't get to so worked up over something like this. Just go over to her home in the next few days. I dunno...maybe take something with you (food, etc) and ask her if you can have your curling iron back cuz you have somewhere to go tomorrow and you want to curl your hair for the occasion. I know you don't HAVE to take something with you....but I thought that if you take something that you've cooked...she may mind less that you're asking for your curling iron back. Yes, I know it's your curling iron and she shouldn't mind that you want it back....BUT...with in-laws...they can get miffed at the strangest things. So, a kind gesture might "soften" things up. Just a suggestion.
If you actually GO over to her place...she'll HAVE to give it back. If you do it over the phone...then you'll make it easier for her to make excuses. In person would be better.
And if you KNOW that she and her son are careless with your things....then be a bit more clever next time. The next time she asks, tell her that you dropped your curling iron and that it broke, etc. Or tell her you either don't have/can't find/or broke whatever it is that she wants from you. If your SIL is in the habit of frequently asking you for stuff and doesn't care for it properly.....she'll eventually get so tired of you NOT having what she wants ....that she'll stop borrowing from you so often. Or consider giving it to her as a gift..so she has her own.
Also, if you know in advance that she'll be coming over to your home......then remove those items that her kid is likely to grab. Take some precautions of your own. Or find a subtle way to redirect her kid...if she's not doing it herself.
I know some might think that "what's the big deal...it's only a kid".....but I get irritated with parents who are so apathetic about their kids' lack of manners in other peoples' homes.
Don't get to so worked up over something like this. Just go over to her home in the next few days. I dunno...maybe take something with you (food, etc) and ask her if you can have your curling iron back cuz you have somewhere to go tomorrow and you want to curl your hair for the occasion. I know you don't HAVE to take something with you....but I thought that if you take something that you've cooked...she may mind less that you're asking for your curling iron back. Yes, I know it's your curling iron and she shouldn't mind that you want it back....BUT...with in-laws...they can get miffed at the strangest things. So, a kind gesture might "soften" things up. Just a suggestion.
If you actually GO over to her place...she'll HAVE to give it back. If you do it over the phone...then you'll make it easier for her to make excuses. In person would be better.
And if you KNOW that she and her son are careless with your things....then be a bit more clever next time. The next time she asks, tell her that you dropped your curling iron and that it broke, etc. Or tell her you either don't have/can't find/or broke whatever it is that she wants from you. If your SIL is in the habit of frequently asking you for stuff and doesn't care for it properly.....she'll eventually get so tired of you NOT having what she wants ....that she'll stop borrowing from you so often. Or consider giving it to her as a gift..so she has her own.
Okey.. once again for those, who didnt read my above posts.. since the first day of my marriage.. I keep my straightener on the dressing and it is set over there!! i mean.. EVERYONE knows thats the place, where I keep it.. I need it often and can't make lame excuses!!
second!! its not a CURLING iron.. its Straightening Iron :D
can’t remove dressing.. wardrobe.. divider.. computer table.. sofa set from my room.. the kids are messing with theseeeeeee!! opening drawers.. switching off tv.. jumping on sofa.. grabbing mouse & headphone.. and Keyboard..
Okey.. once again for those, who didnt read my above posts.. since the first day of my marriage.. I keep my straightener on the dressing and it is set over there!! i mean.. EVERYONE knows thats the place, where I keep it.. I need it often and can't make lame excuses!!
second!! its not a CURLING iron.. its Straightening Iron :D
If you're trolling, it's one thing. If you're actually being serious...then consider the problem in a mature manner and be open to suggestions. Who the hell cares if "everyone" knows that's where you place a certain object. At least when your SIL and her kid come over to your place....you can TEMPORARILY (thori dair k liye) put i somewhere else so the kid doesn't play around with it. That's what I meant. That much can be done. It's not something that can't be fixed. It's not like the straightening iron is superglued to your dressing table. You temporarily remove what you can.
Maybe you can gently give an indirect hint to your SIL. I think in our culture we walk on egg shells all the time....that we just end up staying quiet...putting up with things and raising our blood pressure.
If you're trolling, it's one thing. If you're actually being serious...then consider the problem in a mature manner and be open to suggestions. Who the hell cares if "everyone" knows that's where you place a certain object. At least when your SIL and her kid come over to your place....you can TEMPORARILY (thori dair k liye) put i somewhere else so the kid doesn't play around with it. That's what I meant. That much can be done. It's not something that can't be fixed. It's not like the straightening iron is superglued to your dressing table.
don't you thing, the next time she visits my room, will feel the difference?? she will certainly ask.. where is your iron.. and whatever i reply her.. she'll understand that I removed cz of her.. wouldn't that be prominent then??
Don't you think....k the next time SIL comes and notices that you removed your straightening iron....and thinks "K shayad is ne meray bachay ki wajha se kahin chupa diya hai"......that she may take it as a hint and try to be more careful with her kid? Kya is nazar se bhi nahin dekha jaa sakta?
Also, if the kid's mother does nothing....then what do YOU do when he's jumping on the sofa and getting into things? Do you also stay quiet?
Figure out a way to give an indirect hint. I dunno maybe...casually (and make it sound super casual) tell her how you invited a friend over who has a couple of kids....and you had such a good time....her kids were so adorable.....and that you were worried about how to entertain/occupy the kids....but they did great and were so well-behaved and didn't go tearing through the home and get into things as you had feared....and that it turned out great. I dunno....make something up but word in a breezy way that also gets your SIL thinking. Or invite some other kids from your in-laws (well-behaved kids) and praise their manners in front of everyone (including the SIL with naughty kid)..and maybe that might work.
Heat up the straightening iron....and when the mom is not looking...beckon the kid over to you "Idhar aao beta...look at what I have"....and then burn em with the straightening iron. He'll never touch it again. Okay. Baat khatam...since nothing else will ever work.
^ hmm
oh, i say nothing.. but “dont do dear” and isi p wo apnay kids ko ghussay say utha ke aisay le jati hain jese main nain koi bari baat kar di.. leaving sentences like “chalo yahan se chalo” blah blah…
Do you have any insaan k bachay in your susraal? Agar hain...to un ki khoob tareef karo in front of your SIL and the rest of the family. Haan mind karay gi thori dair k liye....lekin us k baad apni izzat ki khatir shayad apnay bachon ko sambhalne ki behtar koshish karay? That's all I can suggest....otherwise just heat up that straightening iron.