Re: HOW TO MAKE pakistani parathey
Two techniques
Well yesterday I made chapties from Sainsbury's multigrain flour. They were quite good and healthy too.
Ballay ballay .. the 100 layered paratha turned out awesome ![]()
Excellent video Shinoo , thanks mate ![]()
100 layered paratha looks sooo yummy!
i have never been a paratha fan...its been ages before my marriage that i ever had a paratha...but after my marriage i dont know whats wrong i started eating it occasionally like once or twice in 6 months...but i always knew how to cook a good paratha...my mom makes crispy square parathas..but recently i was at Ibrahimi restaurant in Karama,Dubai and believe me i loved their parathas...ohhhh super duper soft parathas...i have one indian book and over there the parathas seem tooo soft...once i try that i wud post the recipe here inshallah!
yes please do Uetian , this 100 layer paratha is a great way to make a really layery paratha , but I still cant manage to get a soft paratha .. there has to be a trick ![]()
I hope your experiment works out … share it with us then ![]()
exactly how my mom makes them
turn out awesome everytime, so OP, i suggest this recipe ![]()
Salams everyone,
I've just recently started cooking and desperately want to be able to cook decent home made meals after going through the horrors of junk food. I have copied lots of recipes from the recipe section on the website but hardly anyone ever mentions the exact amount of salt and lal mirch. I suppose its taken for granted or depends on the person how they want it. But its the part that I mess up the most. My food has either been too salty or too mirchy with little salt. I try to make a salan that will last two people tow days, so keeping that in mind, how much is a reasonable amount of salt and lal mirch.
Secondly, every time I make salan my onions don't get completely taken in by the gravy, rather they sort of float around which is very annoying. Is there any way to achieve a smooth consistency? My husband likes his salan to be thick, gravy-like so I'm not aiming for super thin shorbas rather smooth thick gravies. How much should I fry the onions, brown, golden, brown-black?
My rice havent been too kind on me either. Let's say, I'm making two cups of rice, how much water should I put? Should I keep the lid on while boiling them? What if the bottom rice are mushy and the ones at the top are still a bit kachey...
Its just these little questions that have become so important in my life. If anyone could please guide me on this, it'd be greatly appreciated.
P.S: Is there a secret technique or something to make rotis on electric cookers or is that right only reserved by gas stoves?
Sorry for the post in this section, I know its not quite relevant to parathey but for some reason, I'm only able to post here. Please feel free to move this to wherever appropriate.
Regards.
Salams everyone,
I've just recently started cooking and desperately want to be able to cook decent home made meals after going through the horrors of junk food. I have copied lots of recipes from the recipe section on the website but hardly anyone ever mentions the exact amount of salt and lal mirch. I suppose its taken for granted or depends on the person how they want it. But its the part that I mess up the most. My food has either been too salty or too mirchy with little salt. I try to make a salan that will last two people tow days, so keeping that in mind, how much is a reasonable amount of salt and lal mirch.
Secondly, every time I make salan my onions don't get completely taken in by the gravy, rather they sort of float around which is very annoying. Is there any way to achieve a smooth consistency? My husband likes his salan to be thick, gravy-like so I'm not aiming for super thin shorbas rather smooth thick gravies. How much should I fry the onions, brown, golden, brown-black?
My rice havent been too kind on me either. Let's say, I'm making two cups of rice, how much water should I put? Should I keep the lid on while boiling them? What if the bottom rice are mushy and the ones at the top are still a bit kachey...
Its just these little questions that have become so important in my life. If anyone could please guide me on this, it'd be greatly appreciated.
P.S: Is there a secret technique or something to make rotis on electric cookers or is that right only reserved by gas stoves?
Gosh..i have the same problem..i NEVER measure my masalas/mirchein etc...but for some reason i add alot (like 2 tbsp of salt, 3 tbsp of mirch) and husband STILL says its pheeka! I make for 2 days worth as well.
How are u frying the onions now? I think the tomatoes give the consistency rather than the onions..but fry the onions til they're light brown....
For rice, it's usually double the water for the amount of rice u are cooking. however I have learnt a new trick, I boil alot of water...let it boil...add in the rice, let it simmer and boil, on lowish heat, uncovered, til i can see that it's not kaccha anymore...drain the rice, add it back to the pot and add a bit of butter/salt to give it that little flavor. I've had trouble with rice too and this is what works for me. Also u may want to check the brand of rice u are using....
Salams everyone,
Niqabi , I usually add one and a half teaspoon each of namak and mirch ....
I think it largely depends on how spicy you like your food ... but start with this measurement and start decreasing or increasing as per your family's taste.
About the gravy, I like thick gravies as well.. and there are two ways to achieve it ...Method one: crush onion into a smooth paste in a grinder/blender with quarter of a cup of water and then fry it .... and I blend tomatoes into a fine paste as well before adding them to the salan ....
Method 2: fry the thinly sliced onions until light brown, then add ginger garlic paste , then tomatoes finely diced ... once the masala is prepared , add salt, chilli, haldi and spices ... put off the fire , let it cool .. then put this in a blender and blend it to a find paste ... that achieves a perfect taste + excellent consistency of gravy ..
As sara said , the gravy depends on the tomatoes .. but make sure you dont add tons of it , or else your khana will turn overly sweet and bland ...
About the rice , mostly when i have to boil rice for chinese or biryani or vegetable rice , I do the same way as Sara suggested ... but when i have to do pilau or yellow zarda .. I add double the water .. for example two cups rice = 4 cups or 3 and a half cup water , then cover and let it simmer on low heat ...
you know when you try to cook rice on high heat , thats when the lower rice get mashed and the upper ones remain uncooked ... so leave it to simmer on low heat and dont cover fully , just leave it a quarter of a space open ... stir one or two times .... and it shouldnt give you trouble inshallah.
About the Roti on an electric stove ... let the first side be done about 60% ... then the second side ... the same 60% .. then turn side again and using a clean cotton cloth , apply light pressure on the roti.. you will notice that it starts to fluff up ...
Oh, Jazakallah so much for your detailed replies, Sara and Chicken Biryani. Really thankful, honestly :) I'll try to follow your tips regarding the rice, onion and roti. Which tawa do you lot use though? I've seen non stick ones, cast iron ones, aluminium ones but still a bit unsure which one to get for the electric cooker. Any suggestions?
go for the non stick ones .. they are the best ...
**hmmmmm ok insha ALLAH in topic http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-cuisine-corner/324061-bint-e-aadams-kitchen.html with images mukhtalif parathas ki recipie with images share ekroon gy
plain partaha ki recipe insha ALLAH kal **
Chicken Biryani, sorry to be such a persistent bug but I just saw you're from the UK and was wondering if you could tell me which brand is your Tawa. I've asked around a few people here for non stick tawey and theyre saying that the ones they have cannot be used on electric cooker. If you could please tell me where to get an electric cooker friendly non stick tawa, that'd be a great relief. I'm dying to eat a normal, home made roti.
Niqabi , dont worry about bugging me ,I am glad to be of help ![]()
Actually I got my tawa from Dubai a few years back … havnt really bought one from the UK yet … but a friend of mine bought it once online , it was a long time back she doesnt remember the website .. but basically this what you are looking for :
I took this from the following site :
Flat Griddle Pan (Chapatti Pan) | Beautiful Cast Iron and Architectural Hardware Cookware | Beautiful Cast Iron Home and Garden Ware | Traditional Ironmongery | Unsurpassable British Quality_
It will work well with Electric stoves , coz the heat will be evenly spread …
One of my other friends here uses a wide pizza pan to do the chapatis …
Hope this helps ..
Thanks for your advice, Chicken Biryani. Will look into this :)
**Bal Daar Parathas
Gundha Hua Aata Jo qadray Sakht ho ![]()
ab tareeka btati hoon bal dar parathas ka ![]()
Sab se pehle aata yun lein aur hatheli per phela lein
ab is per oil lagayein ayd rahei jo hisa ap ki hatheli epr hay us epr khushk aata laga how arna aata hatheli se chipak jaye ga
oil laga lein is per
ab aik side se fold ekrien
Aise
ab dusri side se bhi folde kerein gay to shakal yun ho gy
ab is ka roll sa bana lein lamba sa jaisay image main hay
ab is ki upri satha per oil laga lein
ab isay ap ne yun lapaitna hay
phir dusra laiptna hay mena bal daina hay
aur lein jee last shakal yun ho gy
ab aap ne isay hushkay main press ker k jis satha epr bailna how ahan yun hatheli se naram ker k rakhein
ab isay bail lein
phir bail jaye to bus hatheli epr jhatkein ajise roti eo ekrte hayn k exstra aata jhar jaye then taway epr dal dein
yeh dkehein 2nd image main aik hisa paknay ki nishani tab aap palat dein roti ko
Palatne per shakal yun ho gy
ab is epr oil lagayein taqreeban 2 khanay k chamch
aur palat dien dusri side yun ho gy
udher sebhi pak jaye to shakl yun ho gy
ab final shakal yun ho gy
ab dusra paratha agar rkahein to yun rkahein ta k nichla paratha uper wlaay ki heat se naram na pare
je to janab yeh hay bal dar parathas ki recipe
thankew
tc fi aman ALLAH
If you are in the UK, use Mcdougalls plain white flour for parathas. Do not use desi atas!