How much is a homemaker worth?

Re: How much is a homemaker worth?

^Spiral : It is not a bad deal being a home maker and like I said in one of my above posts most home makers realize how hard their husbands work and try to be accomodating and understanding.
It is not right if men try to make light of home making and raising kids. and

Diwana : Most home makers don't go out driving new cars or have valets parking their cars, if anything most women are very thoughtful about spending money knowing that there is a single income and they have to save as well.

Why do you say things that don’t make any sense?

Apki baaton ka koi sar pair nahin hota hai…kabhi bhi. Jab boltay ho, ulta boltay ho. Even if someone isn’t mad, they’d get mad talking to you because you speak or write without even thinking.

Soch samajke bolna seekhein diwana sahab.

I was home with my baby nephew for 9 days. Just 9 days. I remember thinking to myself…how on earth does my sister do it with him and my 4 year old niece? I had to schedule my showers in the morning with my mom for 20 minutes. I needed that help. How do people do without? I don’t know. I was awake during the night because he got hungry, constantly doing his laundry, changing him, feeding him, watching him like a hawk, showering him, trying to give him naps, always on alert mode until my sister got back.

It is SO much harder than it looks and as they get older their needs grow. You can put a baby in a bouncer but how do you keep a 5 year old’s active mind occupied, happy and satisfied 24 hours a day?

Most women I know who live in the West at least are very appreciative of their working husbands and do not spend the family’s money on expensive dresses or dinners because they don’t think of it as just their money. Its their family’s money.

No home maker I know of goes and just spends money thinking “oh I can do anything I want since I am a stay at home mom”. In fact, they’re very cautious knowing its a single income household and future planning is extremely important.

yawns

Oh and one more thing:

To everyone who might think that a home maker's job can be compensated with a salary...I'd like for you to start putting your money where your mouth is...you go home and hand your mama and your wife their first paychecks.

one more question......

those women that say their efforts as SAH moms go unappreciated.......how exactly would you prefer to be compensated?
what kind of recognition do you look for?

I said exactly what a homemaker CAN do. These ‘chores’ can be managed very easily if someone applies time management properly.

Diaper change, wow! Takes two minutes but makeup on the other hand takes minimum 30 minutes before going to dinner ! :smack:

Not everyday house/bathroom etc needs to be deep cleaned, not everyday food is prepared, not everyday laundry is done. Not everyday blinds need to be cleaned.
Yard and pool work hardly is done by homemakers unless they just want the fun work of growing few flower plants once in a while. :slight_smile:

Husband on the other hand works outside 5 days a week and 2 days at home. Changing bulb, taking car to maintenance, doing paper work at home, helping wife at home etc. etc. When does he get a break?

I asked what should be the worth of those homemakers whose husbands provide for maid service, lawn service, nanny and school pick and drop etc. besides doing themselves house chores and helping their wives?

As much as the home creator himself is worth.

I agree sometimes you really want to hear that thankyou after a long tiring day. My husband doesn't ever say "thankyou" to me... but he is more than happy to take care of our baby, he is more than happy to put baby to sleep, I can do whatever I want in that time. I go out alone for shopping, no questions asked.

So to everyone who is saying that its hard, I think that your husbands need to help you around the house. I don't get compensated for any of my hard work, hours of cooking, cleaning, chaning baby's diapers. He doesn't say thankyou. Everything I do is what I see as a wife's role.

You have it all wrong!!!

universal rule - pay should be based on how many (relevant neuron fire) - (the un-necessary ones that degrade productivity) in ones head in a day

OK. But how? There is one question in the end of that post. :)

i agree with diwana, tlk on this topic

I can't answer that question because I am not in that situation so I don't know what life is like with all of those services provided.

You think its easy being a housewife?? NO!!! There is a lot to do around the house and with no help its even worse. All I am saying is that it could be easier if you have a partner who understands that you need a break too and help you with raising kids and giving you your time. My husband doesn't say thank you or gives me money to do all the housework but there are other ways he shows that he appreciates everything I do for him.

Here, I quoted you full and still believe that you cannot replace an office recognition with the recognition coming from spouse. Plus who says that you do not need to work our your mental muscles when taking care of home. Every now and then when I have to take care of kids and household chores, I feel like a dumb person, and grow even more appreciation towards the intelligence and wisdom that my wife uses to run the our home .

So you would feel appreciated only when someone pays you for the work?

hawwww .. itna bara ilzam :mad:

Difficulty is not the part of discussion.

I don't think both husband or wife always have easy work in marriage.

Some do, some don't.

The article is just for fun and discussion. Otherwise the price tag has no meaning. Already said above no comparison can be made.

Those who think the worthiness should be based on amount of money are who I am directing my discussion/question to.

All the arguments I read in this thread; they seem to be based on a general assumption that HomeMaking is a thankless job. I totally disagree. I've see husbands in our social circle who are totally appreciative of what their wives do at home and they do everything and anything (inlcluding if possible; to work from home, come home early, buying gifts, giving her credit card so she can shop till she drops, and all) to help her out.

Yep.

Well, not much I can say if you feel like a dumb person. For those of us who are used to it and are also good at time management and multi-tasking, it can become mind numbing when you don't get a chance to have a decent convo, or read or book, or whatever.

Heh, I remember when I was I dunno, 8 or 9, I needed my mum to write me a note for school and it took her so long and she had forgotten how to spell words. I thought maybe she just wasn't that educated. Then in my teens, I found her O level folders... she had impeccable writing, her english was way better than mine, I also realised O levels were way more advanced than our GCSEs. That is what motherhood and cooking all day long had done to her. Now we're all grown up she's taken courses to try and remember what she had once known. Can't imagine how she must have felt all those years.

I should add that before marriage she was working and knew shorthand and stuff too.

And thankfully, you are right, things are changing now and husband's do appreciate/help out. That's all anyone wants. No I don't agree with putting a price on it.

wow…hades must be frozen solid, because I think I am actully in agreement with something you just said… :konfused: