How much is a homemaker worth?

Re: How much is a homemaker worth?

^Not to mention the cigarette breaks.

Spoken like a true man…let me enlighten you, my friend:

Watch TV: Barney, Caillou, Max & Ruby, Oswald, SpongeBob and Power Rangers does not make for enjoyable viewing

Listen To Music: ^^ refer to above (and no self respecting stay at home mom will leave the kids unattended to listen to music in another room..OR put headphones on while the kids are doing something…

Take a walk to a park: yes, we do this..but tell me have you EVER had to prepare/get ready to do with this a kid, especially multiple kids??? By the time everyone is ready/fed/gone to bathroom, you usually are too tired to take that walk..

Talk on the phone: Bahahahaaaaaa!!! :uz:
Children are pre-programmed to have nuclear meltdowns, have an accident, or wake up the minute mom picks up a phone

Relax: Umm…when is that supposed to take place? Ohhh…that’s right…*after *the cooking, mopping, dusting, laundry, childcare which includes: bathing of child(ren) sometimes many times in one day, feeding, pacifying, entertaining and then runnning of errands etc…

**Take a nap while doing house chores: **this last statement makes no sense whatsoever…

Yes, husbands suffer 8-10 hours of hell at work…stay at home moms suffer 24 hours of hell at home (and i don’t mean this literally, so don’t jump down my throat and pick at this one sentence!) trying to take care of the needs of husband, children, some times in-laws (if they live with), all while still trying to maintain some resemblance of sanity…oh, and let’s not forget keeping yourself looking neat, tidy and presentable so that your husband still has the hots for his wife, and looks at you as still being sexy, not the nursemaid/maasi that you have become…hmph :naraz:

Did you mean while on job?

What if the guy does not even smoke automne77?

So what are those homemaker worth who’s husbands pay for many of these services? Should we take that money out of these calculations? :hehe:

I don't even know why I'm bothering to reply coz it's not worth it and it's the same old crap that comes up in all of these threads. But unless you are a single person or sath wife without kids (who have fairly limited chores), there are a million other things to do while the laundry is in the machine. i don't know anyone who sits and waits for the machine to be done :|

be sure to clue me in once you figure that one out!

Niksik - This is the right time to present this month's invoice ... TLK seems to be in a considering mood :D

^Diwana what services, I don't remember the last time I got myself a pedicure, manicure or a haircut. I have jewellery I can't wear it coz my kid pulls it while it is on me or screams bloody murder till I take off my bangles and give it to him. Earrings, if I want my ears not to be split I better not wear any.

Rings, try doing dishes, laundry or cleaning the bathroom with your fancy rings and pls don't tell me we can put them on after we are done (most mothers are afraid the kids will reach their rings and try to swallow them).

I was talking about those husbands who pay for a maid, nanny, pool/yard guy/dinners/vacations/...and other utilities including the rings or jewelry. etc. etc.

Last time I checked, none of these service providers ask for vacation, jewelry/expensive dresses or dinners. All paid for by one and only...the husband. :D

Prolly gonna get a bashing but anyway.

Having been a second mum to 5 siblings and responsible for all household chores 7 days a week (my life was school and home) from cleaning the bathrooms, changing poop-y nappies, taking care of bathtime (for twins no less) and helping with homework (coz my mum was tied to the cooker).

And now it's just me and hubby and I work a full day (plus work bought home) including a minimum time of 2 hours spent commuting.

The latter is MUCH easier mentally and physically than the former. So unless you have done both roles you can shove it. And actual mum's - they have to do things like bfeeding, cleaning up sick, taking kids to doctor etc etc etc as well.

Rehnay do yaar....you have to have a uterus to understand that ^^^

Just a brand new car for the wife/homemaker can be very expensive! She CAN go shopping in it, and pay for the valet too.
Most husbands drive older cars to work.

:(

Diwana _ I am with these women on this issue ....we man can't survive a day doing , what they thanklessly do every day ...

My younger sister gave birth to a baby girl last month .. So now she masallah has two of them with a year difference .. She studied medicine and was very successful in her career , which she temporarily left for having kids ... and came down to pakistan for having kids .. I wonder if any of us men would do the same .

I have never seen her under this much stress - even not during her hard study years , not even when she moved to another country for work .. but handling two kids at same time is not an easy task ..

Cutting the long story short - we should be thankful to the lord that he didnt make us the women ... Darling , you wont survive 24 hours in their shoes :)

I hope you feel the same way about your wife when time comes!

Bhai sahab, all I was saying that if price tag is to be placed on these services and accepted by homemakers then it should be placed on everything what husbands do.

You said can we men do that?

We can't even afford to do that since men have the responsibility to provide. Women don't. In general. Women CAN stay home, leave their career if husbands are working. Men cannot. :)

P.S. Ab Rung mein Bhung Na Daalo yaaar! ;)

Why not ? Ask your lady to work full time and afford the living , while you stay home and does stuff … it is a fair world out there :slight_smile:

Rang mein Bhang , ab you want to have an argument for the sake of having an argument - then who could stop you :wink:

Then men will be called nikammay, Ghar Ghusnay. :frowning:

I was making few points along the way.

This thread reminds me of a joke which I cannot share. :chai:

Aaaahhh, whatever.

Arrey, everyone works hard…that’s how life goes on. If things didn’t get done we would all be sitting on a pile of poop somewhere. My needs are being met, who cares about the money.

The folks that do studies like these just like to create fireworks. :smooth:!

I agree with Niksik.

I personally don't think its that bad being a homemaker. I love taking care of my baby. I still have a lot of time to do whatever I want to do for myself after he goes to sleep. There are days when I feel like giving up yeah but then it ain't all that easy for my husband too. He travels for work and has a pretty stressful job. I don't have a maid, I clean my bathrooms, I don't have a dishwasher, I am constantly washing dishes, changing baby's diapers... and all that but I am pretty happy and satisfied with my life. I would love to get a job and work but that's something I just want to do because I really don't have much responsibilities not because I don't think I am worthless sitting at home.

Let me make a final nailing point ... If my wife starts charging me for the sex , I would be bankrupt by end of the month ! And I bet helf of desi men would be in the same boat :)

Even if we put a price tag to everything - in the end , we men get a better deal out of it ... believe it or not :) And you better do take the words of the people , who have kept mistresses ... Having a healthy and safe Sex is not cheap at all !