..from your in-laws for your wedding? I mean real gold sets…
my in-laws gave me one, and now my husband’s bro is getting married and my MIL told me she is giving his wife 2 ![]()
makes me feel kinda crappy…
..from your in-laws for your wedding? I mean real gold sets…
my in-laws gave me one, and now my husband’s bro is getting married and my MIL told me she is giving his wife 2 ![]()
makes me feel kinda crappy…
Re: How many Jewelry Sets did you get??
request for 1 more n ask for justice … ![]()
Omg…if I were you. I would DEMAND that my in-laws get me not 1, but 2 more sets, after all, you WILL be the barri bahu, correct?? What kind of monsters do you live with? I don’t know how you
Can stomach such injustice, I would have packed up my samaan and been out of there is a second.
Kaisay kaisay log hain duniya main…iss taraa koi zulm karta hai…bichaari luvblingz
Tumhari shabaash hai kai bardashth karrahi ho… ![]()
translate please…
^^ if you need that "translated", then i'm afraid you have far bigger problems then how many jewelry sets you got...
HINT: SARCASM
and why am i getting such sarcastic responses? are you all telling me you wouldn't be a little bit hurt if this was your case??? i've had a good relationship with my in-laws for nearly 7 years even tho i was just married this past summer.. and my BIL's fiancee has been in the picture for 3 months... maybe i should have posed the question differently- it's more about that than the actual "stuff"
i never said a great injustice was done to me, just wanted to see if anyone had a similar experience..
^^ if you need that "translated", then i'm afraid you have far bigger problems then how many jewelry sets you got...
why is that? you don't have to speak urdu to be on this forum, do you? (which btw, i don't if you didn't figure it out)
There's no need to be like that. Gosh!
Aw that sounds a lil unfair, of course I’d be a lil upset too. But maybe their circumstances had changed since your wedding. There maybe several reasons for why ur SIL is getting two sets.
I’d jus ignore it & not let it affect your relationship with ur in-laws.
Saying that one of the reasons maybe that ur set was more heavy in weight n expensive which mayb equivalent to two lighter sets for ur SIL, you could raise d question to ur hubby just for ur satisfaction & peace of mind.
Aw that sounds a lil unfair, of course I'd be a lil upset too. But maybe their circumstances had changed since your wedding. There maybe several reasons for why ur SIL is getting two sets. I'd jus ignore it & not let it affect your relationship with ur in-laws.
Saying that one of the reasons maybe that ur set was more heavy in weight n expensive which mayb equivalent to two lighter sets for ur SIL, you could raise d question to ur hubby just for ur satisfaction & peace of mind.
thanks, guriya- i'm glad someone on here doesn't jump to conclusions about me
i wouldn't let something like this affect my relationship with them- i guess i put it on here to let of a little steam about it since i would never say anything directly to them, you know?
as for the weight- my set is pretty light, and i know the shaadi set for my to be SIL is going to be heavy kundan w/gems-not sure abt the other..
dunno...
thanks, guriya- i'm glad someone on here doesn't jump to conclusions about me
i wouldn't let something like this affect my relationship with them- i guess i put it on here to let of a little steam about it since i would never say anything directly to them, you know?
as for the weight- my set is pretty light, and i know the shaadi set for my to be SIL is going to be heavy kundan w/gems-not sure abt the other..
dunno...
okay all that ^^^ was awkward with all the sarcasm ... i know how you might feel .. its just a little doubt of course cuz its natural to think whats happenin and compare stuff .. im human and i do it too!!
i think being the elder one .. and based on the fact that you have had a pleasant relationship i think its totally okay if u just let it slip .. i mean .. no harm is being caused to you right .. no one is being unfair with you in terms of respect, etc ... materialistic things can go to hell cuz at the end of the day .. God forbid - she can easy lose BOTH of them if theyre stolen or whatever .. sorry but im just painting a picture ..
its totally ignorable i think and God for this reason IA will have bigger plans for you :)
dont judge your in laws based on it either .. if they love you .. love them back the same ..
HINT: someone up there was pmsing :P
it might hit you that they are giving two but for them .. its possible that thy havnt even thought along the lines .. shyt happens .. esp in susrals ... if u have a happy life .. dnt ruin it over some gold set! totally worthless in front of relationships babes!
I think you should be grateful you didn’t get *half *a jewelry set ![]()
^^^EXACTLY!!
Umm, sorry if I offended you, but what else do you expect when you open a thread to complain about the set you got vs. your soon to be SIL…it totally made you sound like a whiny, spoiled brat. but you’re right, I do not know you, so if I hurt your feelings, I apologize.
My whole post was in english..maybe only one sentence in Urdu…I’m pretty sure you got the meaning of it.
Umm, no, actually I would not be hurt because I don’t let such petty things get to me. I could care less what someone else recieves in comparison to me.
Actually, no I’m not. But thank you for your concern. ![]()
OP…i meant no harm by my reply. I am by nature a smart a$$ with a sarcastic sense of humor. If you go back through Life1, you’ll see that lately there have been an influx of unusually whiny threads. It’s these threads that give the impression that all desi daughter in laws are petty, selfish brats. My answere was a simple, meant to be humorous jab at what seemed to me to be not a big deal.
I realise this has nothing to do with your issue. However, just reminds me of a girl my cousin was going to marry until the family I would say demanded £15k in gold. I was just shocked people would demand such high value materialistic things. The funny thing was if she asked for 15k for a house or something which would actually benefit her it wouldn't have been a problem. Instead my cousin refused (I'm glad he said no). Moral of the story is don't place too much emphasis on things that in actual effect have no real worth. What are you really going to do with all that gold? Wear it once and never again. It's useless unless buying gold for investment purposes.
Aw that sounds a lil unfair, of course I'd be a lil upset too. But maybe their circumstances had changed since your wedding. There maybe several reasons for why ur SIL is getting two sets. I'd jus ignore it & not let it affect your relationship with ur in-laws.
totally agree with guriya
uhhhhhhhmmm
i don't even know what to say- wasn't expecting this type of reaction- i'm a nice person and meant no harm
i am not a whiny, spoiled brat- in fact, i grew up quite poor- so i don't expect much- i simply just wondered why things were not equal between me and BIL's fiancee
nor do i think that these are the most important things in life- and i never said that it was- if i felt it to be a life-affecting issue i would bring it up with them
if you guys who are attacking me actually read all of the things i said- i said that i was not going to let this affect my relationship with my in-laws (because in the big picture i know how many sets i got does not matter), that's why i'm letting steam off here and not saying anything to them (which i never would anyway)
but the fact of the matter is in the present small picture- it does hurt a little bit given that i've been around in my in-laws' lives for a lot longer, that's all
i thought this was a place we shared stories and feelings like these openly
feel like i got beat up here jeez
Maybe the amount of gold in her two sets is equal to your one set? My sister got one set but it was hugeee! i said i much rather wanted something smaller so i get two small sets, like 1,5 tola each or something..
anyhow, be happy that you got something, mind you, they didn't have to give you anything.
Lol, battered and bruised? Not my intentions. As many people who have commented. I was just giving you an example of something I know off. :)
Maybe the amount of gold in her two sets is equal to your one set? My sister got one set but it was hugeee! i said i much rather wanted something smaller so i get two small sets, like 1,5 tola each or something..
anyhow, be happy that you got something, mind you, they didn't have to give you anything.
i am very happy with my set and grateful for it which they know b/c i thanked them profusely
my feelings just got a little hurt when i heard, that was all- i will be over it soon