How many husbands

Re: How many husbands

me me

I cant go to cricket unless she goes to shopping a day before :(

every Sunday game is costing me b/w 50-100 bucks ... :(

and thats not 'regular' shopping. Thats just cricket aadla-badla-shopping....

adla-badla!!
that's the term that I have been trying to recall......

I am so confused as to WHY women want to hold their husbands to them like that though? It makes no sense to me.

^Insecurity?

The same reason some husbands try to control their wives..

kuch aortain apnay shohron ko hameesha dopatty kay pallu say bandh kar rakhna chahti hain. ;)

shayad unko shak ki bemaari ho :@:

I have a feeling some men almost prefer it this way? It means no arguments ?

Okay one more thing which makes no sense to me.

Agar apko kisi insaan pe shak hai…to ussay shaadi kyun karrahi ho?

some of the reasons identified here are:

• control issues stemming from insecurity
  • sense of inequity therefore demanding an something of value (could be an experience rather than a material thing) in return
  • lack of trust

Do control issues between spouses always stem from insecurity ?

^Nah.. but obviously it can be a factor for many..

Can someone start a thread about this.About the various factors that lead to controlling issues between spouses.

from the majority of posts on here, it would seem like wifeys would be unfazed if hubbyji called up and said he's going out with his frands after work, just like that. and let her cook and feed the kids and what not all on her own.

in reality, this will only work for that one day of the month when she isn't annoyed at anything in the universe. one has to maintain some form of give and take and trading and agreements on personal time. i would always ask my wife before anything on a short notice, and so does she. as for big things like camping trips, no matter how large-hearted you claim to be, if the fun and chores distribution in the marriage doesn't seem fair, you are not gonna sit and home and knit while hubby is roasting marshmallows with his frandships every long weekend.

^ not true. my husbaaand takes trips with his friends every couple of years...sometimes they meet in London, sometimes Karachi, sometimes Toronto, or here in Dallas. I have no problem with it. I also take girls only trips with my best friend...most recent one was to NYC last summer. I have my regular GNO's at least once every 6 weeks or so.

He plays cricket whenever he wants, spends an insane amount of time flying his beloved planes...I may get annoyed at times, but there is definitely no "voucher" problem in this household.

Muzna, the examples listed aren't all that 'extreme,' though I know what you're getting at. Queer has a point. When you're married, the assumption is that your priority is your family, so I'm assuming people ask their spouses when they're making after-work plans, esp. when they've got kids. If the husband goes on 3 camping trips while the wife hasn't been afforded the same leisure time, I imagine "tit for tat" is probably fair. Without give and take, resentment builds up no matter how compatible you are.

But regarding lopsided relationships ... if a wife is controlling to the point where the husband ceases to have an identity of his own, then his nature/personality is probably wired to need that "structure" and/or he's incredibly passive-aggressive. If it's the latter, 20 years down the line he's going to reach critical mass one morning and kill her with a frying pan. Though your average desi husband just develops bleeding ulcers in lieu of homicide.

The dominating and acquiescent are attracted to each other for a reason. That and she's probably pole-dancing for him in the bedroom.

Why would a husband go with buddies to games camping or other outings without checking with his wife? Why would he want to be in a position to " tell" her? This has nothing to do with everything being " equal" to an extreme extent. It is just about mutual respect.

my point was not to bring up some insanely extreme and lopsided examples.....just wanted to know how many of us have noticed this sort of behaviour.....

there's one in my group of friends that I've described.
there's one amongst my colleagues at work.....he's the joke of the cafeteria whenever the boys plan to go out....everyone knows that this guy will be on the phone begging with his wife and ultimately she will say no.

is it really that common?

my husband :phati:

Would they stand in the bathroom too? If they're that paranoid?

no dont know any.

I know some who pretend to be wrapped around. For example, if they want to go out, hey tell their friends "oh let me just ask my wife and i will get back to you....". LOL

I guess its more of a courtesy thing though than being wrapped or pretending to be wrapped

actualy, i just read queer's response and i agree wholeheartedly.

I can't say I know anyone like that. If you were to replace wife with mother, then I could think of a few examples.