How important is attraction to you

Re: How important is attraction to you

Sad but cruel guys like this do exist....Allah bless your BFF with a very happy life, inshallah and she's lucky to have a good friend like you watching out for her.

What makes you so sure that all those couples actually lead a fulfilling life? Whether they wanted to or not, did they have any other choice but to spent the rest of their lives w/ the person chosen for them?

One minute silence for our friend zoned brother

Its his choice to remain there. Why feel sorry for him?
He can have some self respect and start being at arms length.

Are these euphemisms for saying "the hot guys that I really like to beep weren't available or suitable for long term so I have no choice but to consider guys I wouldnt have taken a crap upon in a free state of mind" ?

Must be very flattering and re-assuring for friend-zoned guys.

Attraction is overrated....physical attraction that is. Some guys I have been attracted to but as soon as they opened their mouth or did something stupid, all that attraction disappeared. I am personally attracted to guys who are confident, know what they are talking about and how to carry themselves.

For me beauty catches my eye but personality catches my heart.

This just in: People on internet claiming they’re not shallow :halo:

This physical attraction stuff on first sight is all nonsense.
It all depends on your brain. You develop understanding, compatibility, attachment/feelings with time (living with a person) and physical attraction goes hand-in-hand with that.

Attraction is important and it doesn't, end very quickly.

However, peace of mind is more important, if u end up feeling miserable with a person, it doesn't matter how attractive he/she is.

I'm just wondering if a man is pressured into marrying a girl would he never be intimate with her? Since attraction is for the most part physical for most people not including me, can men just live a platonic relationship with a girl just because of such a reason? I feel like the answer is no, he would eventually get busy i mean if he isn't gay.

Brain and Looks. I think attraction is important though one needs an intelligent partner along with looks. :)

Even though it is myth (untrue), story goes that … Marilyn Monroe once said to Einstein that she would like to have a child from him, with her looks and his brain. Einstein told her that he fears what would happen if the child would have her brain and his looks.

On the other hand, when Princess Diana's brother Charles Spenser divorced his wife (in South Africa), someone reminded him that his father (Mr Spencer) told him to stick with Victoria (wife Charles divorced) in her think and thin (good and bad). Charles said jokingly that she was surely thin and thick (unattractively slim and stupid).

You can be gay and still get married to the opposite sex for the sake of getting a baby since i'm guessing many desi men don't go around announcing they are gay. Most probably hide it even if they aren't attracted to the one they married. They would get married to a straight woman so parents will be happy

um, its good to leave things on Allah.

However, Allah has blessed us with a brain wants us to use it.

I think all of us can atleast tell if our parents are happy or not. It comes out some way or the other no matter how much they might try to hide it or shield us from it.

And yes I understand what one of the the other posters meant by that was another time anothe rgeneration. I meant that if everything else checks out but the guy is not exactly hot, u could still find him attractive once u r in the husband wife mode or even during the engagement period.
I speak from experience. Because in my head I had always liked atheletic build guys, not those bulky muscles but lean swimmer type bodies. And my husband was in the Bhai category AND he did not have an atheletic body. But he was the person (from like 30-40 Pakistani ppl at my university) who everyone had something good to say about. Even the ppl who my hubby later told me that he himself didn't like, they had on different occasions always said something nice about my hubby. And when the rishta came and I told my mom about it, she discussed it with my dad. From that time till the rishta was done my dad and I had no direct conversation about it at all. I think he felt awkward and I felt shy, so all rishta talk was thru my mom (I was in the US at that time and my parents were in the middle east). But once the parents met and it was done, my dad called me to congratulate me and he told me how happy he was and how much he liked my hubby from the first time he'd met him. That he was the best guy from all the ppl he'd met when he visited. Anyway my point is that even now if I have to describe someone as good looking and attractive my criteria is still the same. And though my husband may not fulfill all that criteria he is certainly the one I am most attracted to. I guess it IS a blessing that Allah puts love in our hearts for our spouses, no matter what we may have hoped for or wanted for in our lives He certainly knows what is actually best for us.

Allah SWT wants us to use it to acknowledge Him SWT The Supreme Being

No where I am denying Allah's supreme power (nauzbillah). All I am saying is that Allah has given us the ability of making informed decisions and we should use it to best of our knowledge.

I know a few people who were not attracted to their spouse's before they got married. However, having all the information, they choose to get married and eventually ended in a divorce as there was no physical, mental/intellectual, or any other attraction to help the couples continue living together.

You can usually tell within a few 'viewings' whether you're physically attracted to someone or not.
Its not a big deal. Really. For instance, I feel physically attracted to atleast half the girls on an average university campus.

Unless you're extremely shallow and men who meet your criteria of physical attractiveness are a rare breed, physical attraction at 'first sight' is not a big deal. It should be a pre-requisite for relationships.

^Men feel attracted to almost every girl who's smartly dressed and has decent looks, I don't believe that's the case with women.... I was sharing a woman's perspective :)

^He should feel a bit more attracted to his wife than 'almost every girl' out there imo

To those who say physical attraction isn't important would you be ok with your husband (or wife) saying they don't find you physically attractive then?