Re: How do you address your mother in law?
You, my sister, are oppressed…without even realising it…![]()
Exactly. unless you were with someone for years and had a great relationship with the MIL that calling her ammi is natural....in most cases u dont' even know how the relationship is going to be. everyone can come in with good intentions but u never know when things can go bad and then its just a hollow word.
Calling her ami after nikah/ marriage can be an attempt at starting a good relationship. I am talking about arranged marriages which usually start at good notes. If it was a love marriage and the MIL had an issue accepting the DIL, calling ami would be difficult but still not something impossible. Again it differs from person to person.
Nomi, it worked out for me. It may not be possible for everyone and that’s fine.
I totally fail to understand why we are getting more and more tendency of making issue out of everything specially in relationships. And then we ask question here that why relationships are failing more these days. These are just little things that wont spend you.
Even if MIL has asked girl/boy to call her “ammi”, this can be solved by just one word, i.e by calling her ammi. Is sai kisi ki naak neechee ho jatee hai kia?
Thats because you have accepted it to be a right thing, which its not…i know when people are oppressed long enough…they begin to think that its normal…anyways…Good Luck
(this is so much fun)
I can’t agree more. We have new issues everyday. I think the main thing is to try to keep the main thing the main thing.
NomiCa, stop being a bejamalo.
baat naak neechi honay ki nahi hai… baat zidd hi hai… agar larki ussay ammi nahi kah rahi tou Saas muhterma kounsi zidd ki kam hain? kya ‘ammi’ na kahnay say saas ki izzat kam ho jati hai?? woh jo baaron ka baara pann dekhanay wali kahawat hai, ussay aajkal kay baaray kyon nahi use kertay?? … Mil could have stop making this an issue and Earn the love and respect.. rather than discriminating between her and other Dils and causing the friction between the husband and wife.
like you said why make an issue of everything.. right… so why not have the Mils to change their attitudes rather than having the wives to surrender all the times?
chup karo yaar ![]()
In all honesty, it should be a personal choice because its different for everyone. Some people take two spoons of sugar in their chai and some one and some none. Some people feel comfortable with “ammi” and some dont.
I know one girl whose mother passed away at a young age…she calls her MIL aunty…her husband understands because that word is too near and dear to her.
One girl calls her MIL aunty because her husband calls her mother aunty. Her MIL gets annoyed but should probably fix her son before she starts trying to fix others’ kids. Her husband doesnt care and finds it to be a non-issue.
You can ask your SO if they are comfortable with it and if they are, great. If they’re not…who cares? Why make something huge out of nothing? How much impact will this really have on marital affairs and how a couple chooses to live their lives?
None. So let it be.
Im pretty sure that about 2 weeks ago someone was posting on here about her brother and his fiance having a similar issue, they were cousins and there was a huge age gap and he wanted the girl to call his mum ammi but she wouldnt and it became an issue.....
meri ammii nahiiN haiN is liye i will call her **'ammi jaanaaN'**** inshaa Allah :D**
My mother died before I got married so I called her ammi. She also died recently. She was very nice lady , may Allah give high place in Jannat. Ameen.
My mother is alhamdulillah alive but still I call my MIL, mom and my Fil Papa, exactly what my wife calls them
Im pretty sure that about 2 weeks ago someone was posting on here about her brother and his fiance having a similar issue, they were cousins and there was a huge age gap and he wanted the girl to call his mum ammi but she wouldnt and it became an issue.....
An issue for people who obviously still have some growing up left to do.
I cant imagine how ammi or aunty could possibly become such a huge issue that people would have marital problems over it...
I may be making assumptions but in the case like the one i described and the other i mentioned i feel that there are probably some other underlying issues and this issue is just a way to express it
That may actually be true...she may be using this as a way to lash out for other things that might have happened.
I cant figure ever why people have to drag this hypocrisy and politics into relationships and also as complicated and already sensitive as the DIL MIL relationship. I mean what is the harm actually, it be ammi, aunty, or sasu ma. The relation will still remain the same. If a person knows how to earn respect and love, they shouldnt be needing the false support of how they are called. Your cousin is very very fair if she is annoyed because only calling her MIL whatever she is comfortable with is affecting her marital life. Too bad. The sasu ma should be content with the other two calling her ammi ammi (lets wait for their turn
) and let your cousin lead her life peacefully instead of making excuses to create disturbance in the life of her son. I guess its only like looking for an issue when there isnt any.
Thats because you have accepted it to be a right thing, which its not..........i know when people are oppressed long enough...they begin to think that its normal..........anyways...Good Luck
(this is so much fun)
Why is it not? When I don't have a problem with it, she doesn't, my mother doesn't, then why is there a problem? Splain me pleej.
why so serious??
i was just doing a Life1 duty…![]()
Mera time waste kiya aapney fuzool mein ![]()
BEJAMALO…/ takes nomi in a room and beats the living daylights out of him
… why do i have to discipline all the bigrre huwe bache? ![]()
your FIL calls you stoppit? :-/
Thank you
This should teach you not to take Nomi serious ever again. I don’t.
Well said. :k: