How do you address your mother in law?

Re: How do you address your mother in law?

i think his signature says it all :@:

don’t say that :mad:

Don’t take me serious. :smiley:

thats different.....most guys i know will never call their saas "ammi/mom/etc" and call ehr Aunty instead...yet they insist THEIR moms be called ammi.

I call my fiance's mom "aunty". I've asked him what I should call her and he told me "aunty". His older brother's wife of 6 years calls her aunty. Its never been an issue.

With the couple you mentioned....does the husband call HER mom "ammi"? If he calls her mom "ammi", then I don't think its a big deal for her to call him mom "ammi" if that'll help the situation. However....if he refuses to call her mother "ammi" but expects her to call his....that's a whole another issue.

I don't see why such an issue has to be made out of this. Your cousin should just call her 'ammi'. It isn't a big deal. Even if her husband doesn't call her mother the same, it doesn't mean she should be as stubborn. If calling her MIL 'ammi' would make the MIL happy, then she should do it. I don't see what she has to lose by doing so.

If i was the mil, i would rather be called aunty and be respected instead of being called ami when none of it is meant from heart.

If i was the dil, i would def try and call her ami if that makes her feel better.

same here!

Such things r made to be a question of ego which really sucks and only ends up ruining yr relationship and nthng else.

saasu ji or saasu maan. and sometimes bari maan.

I call her Aunty. So do the rest of her 3 bahus.

i call her mummy.

he calls my mom ammi.

not so hard and it shouldnt be a big deal.

my cousins call my khala mummy hunny and call my mom mummy jani.

A rose by any other name would smell as sweet.****

should be "Mairay Un ki Amma" :)

No Ashi.. i am totally disagree with you. By just calling someone ammi.. we cannot have better relationship with them.. If that was the case then there would be no saas bahu jhagra’s in 80% families here.

Respect dil main hoti hai… names main nahin… its not necessary if someone is calling her saas “ammi” then she will definitely have good relationship with her. Many people call their saas “Ammi Jan” but they don’t have any respect for them… Its better to call them whatever you like but with all the respect. :slight_smile:

For me in this situation everyone is looking stubborn. Why MIL is so stubborn that her DIL should call her “Ammi”, why her son doesn’t talk to her about this? Why DIL is so ziddi? eik Ammi kehny main us ka kia ja raha hai. Whats a big deal here. is situation main sub ghalat hain MIL, son and DIL.

For me i don’t know what will i call.. whatever she likes i think :p. But i will definitely call my father-in- law “BABA” i love this word “Baba” :smiley:

Agree.. One of my uncles has two stepsons alongside his own boy and the older one who's a teenager told him he doesn't feel comfortable calling him 'dad' (at least for now) and everyone was fine with that..

Can't see why some ppl have to make this into an issue..

Only Aunty.

The word mom/mother/maa is only reserved for my own mother. i wouldnot expect my spouse to call my mother "mom,ammi". its gonna be their choice.

watch and learn ..

:hugz: ammi jaan ..

I am sure you like me better now

^ impossible.

I know I know, its kind of not possible to like me more than you people already do. Anything more would be a sin.

so here is a bubble, and TLK is in that bubble.

takes a stab at the bubble