Different cultures got different traditions and rituals for death.
Recently, I came across some of the traditions followed in our community that made me do
My Ammi went to condole a relative’s death and was telling my chachi that the dead person’s (a young boy of 22) grandmother asked a man (who just came home after burial) that where they buried the boy? Means the location of his grave? When he told her that between his Dada and phuppi’s grave, she immediately asked ke Dada and phuppi k naam ka fateha dilwao, because they are going to invite the boy and host his dinner.
To be honest I couldn’t resist saying my Ammi: Kia murdon main bhi one-dish party hoti hai?
Have you come across such traditions about dead and their fateha and eesal o sawaab?
during my last visit to India, i went to this very backward village, where i couldn't find any highly educated person, and i observed something similar. the family of the deceased left do waqt kaa khaanaa by the dead man's grave. i asked why? they replied by saying...he is on his journey, so he needs some food for the way [zaad-e-raah]...OMG! kaise kaise ai'taqaad janam lete haiN un dimaaGhoN meN jis men ta'leem kii kamii hotii hai...i mean deen ke 'ilm kaa foqdaan!
There is also this popular tradition religiously followed in many communities to get Sura e Mulk (Tabarakal zee) recited from students of a madarsa for forty days and offer only sweet food (sherbat, halwa) for fateha. This is done due to the believe that the death angel give some bitter drink to the dead while taking his / her soul and due to this drink’s effect the dead person’s mouth remain bitter for forty days, which can be sweeten through forty days meetha plan
Matlab ghareeb ka munh to roz e qayamat tak kaRwa rahe ga
during my last visit to India, i went to this very backward village, where i couldn't find any highly educated person, and i observed something similar. the family of the deceased left do waqt kaa khaanaa by the dead man's grave. i asked why? they replied by saying...he is on his journey, so he needs some food for the way [zaad-e-raah]...OMG! kaise kaise ai'taqaad janam lete haiN un dimaaGhoN meN jis men ta'leem kii kamii hotii hai...i mean deen ke 'ilm kaa foqdaan!
KKF Bhai, have you gone through Imam Raza Barelvi's Wasaya?
ok in our family, there is no such concept of daswan, teerwahn, or chaleeswan. we mourn till three days after the death of my father. I remember, our stove was turned off during that period and our relative brought all foods for us and for all the people who came for condolence.
Yes, we also did a quran khuwani at masjid but again no sweet or meethai was given to anyone. In the early days, we always went to graveyard on each Friday and do fateha khuwani at father's grave by reading surah Fatiha and all small surahas. I am still asking his duwa-e-maghfriat in each prayer.
ok in our family, there is no such concept of daswan, teerwahn, or chaleeswan. we mourn till three days after the death of my father. I remember, our stove was turned off during that period and our relative brought all foods for us and for all the people who came for condolence.
Yes, we also did a quran khuwani at masjid but again no sweet or meethai was given to anyone. In the early days, we always went to graveyard on each Friday and do fateha khuwani at father's grave by reading surah Fatiha and all small surahas. I am still asking his duwa-e-maghfriat in each prayer.
I think that 3 days meal is called 'KaRwi roti' may be due to grief relatives of the dead person are not in position to enjoy the food. I think this is a good tradition, but now I have observed that this is also affected by show-off. People try to give meals like (chicken, etc) and a poor relative who can afford daal roti can't send to the deceased family due to fear ke 'log kia kahenge?'
muqa bhai: we were in great pain, and we dont have time to focus on those thing, we just thankful to them for being nice to us. even if it was dal roti we would appreciate their effort.
STA, I'm not talking about the deceased family. I'm talking about the other relatives who focus on these things.
Another tradition that is followed in many families in rural Sindh is called 'Saam'. When a person (male or female) dies, you have to send Busri (you can call it meetha paratha full of butter or desi ghee) to Madarsa.
The Busri on this occasion is required to be cooked by Bhabhi (SIL) if Dever (BIL) is died and by Bahoo (DIL) if Saas (MIL) is died. On first eve 5 busris are required to be sent, on next morning before Fajar 4 Busri and in evening 3 followed by 2 in next morning and last one in the evening.