Hospital sues Wasim Akram for Rs. 10 Crore, or 50 Cr if he doesn't apologize

Now this is getting ridiculous. Not only are they suing, but are threatening to file criminal charges against Wasim Arkam? Criminal? WTH?

LAHORE: Dr Kamran Cheema of Doctors Hospital has served a legal notice on former cricketer Wasim Akram for levelling ‘false’ allegations against him (the doctor) that he showed negligence in the treatment of his wife, Huma Akram.
The doctor served the notice through a law firm, Chima and Ibrahim Advocates, wanting Wasim Akram to tender an unconditional apology and withdraw all ‘baseless’ allegations levelled against him.

‘You are further required to pay damages to our client in the amount of Rs100,000,000 (one hundred million). Should you fail to tender the apology, the amount of damages to be claimed by our client shall be Rs500,000,000 (five hundred million). In such an event, our client would also proceed to file criminal charges for your entirely irresponsible conduct,’ the law firm warned the cricketer.

The notice said Akram launched a media campaign about the death of his wife accusing each and every doctor, who saw her at different hospitals, of negligence and malpractice.

‘All this has not only caused great loss of name and reputation to our client (as also other doctors), but needless distress and anxiety to our client as well,’ it added. The notice alleged that Akram also influenced the course of the inquiry proceedings by the NA standing committee, by levelling inaccurate and unsubstantiated allegations against doctors.

DAWN.COM | Cricket | Doctor?s legal notice to Wasim Akram

Re: Hospital sues Wasim Akram for Rs. 10 Crore, or 50 Cr if he doesn't apologize

WTH is this now.........

Re: Hospital sues Wasim Akram for Rs. 10 Crore, or 50 Cr if he doesn't apologize

They are turning the table against him. Isnt Wasim Akram & his sons suffereing because of their negligence, yet they are blaming him.

Lame attempt from Cheema Sahib after the inquiry commission set up by National Assesmbly standig commiittee recommended suspension of 17 doctors including Cheema Sahib and revoking of their license.

Read the story of medical negligence here

The saga of Huma Akram’s demise

Personally I thinks this is Political offensive against Doctor's hospital.

I am not sure how many of you know the history of Dr's hospital. It came into being with the efforts of Musharraf when he convened a group of Dr's back in USA to go back in Pakistan and setup an hospital with all latest perks. All of these Dr's are naturally very close to Musharraf and are paying back the political price. Every other day we hear a child or person get killed in Govt hospitals due to negligence of Dr's have we ever heard of any action on that?

While supreme court is doing other things, I guess they should also take up this Sue case once in for all. If someone has done something wrong, he should be punished and if not? Guy who has wrongfully accused someone should pay a heavy price. Its too easy in Pakistan to blame and drown someone's good name.

Other day Shahabaz Sharif suspended scores of Dr from same hospital without any investigation done ... I see this in same prospective...

Did the National Assembly standing cttee contact the doctors and asked for clarification. Lets not juimp to conclusion just because Wasim is a celebrity.

And decent jee aap kee tasweer khasee khaufanak hai. :D

Yee tu jawani kee tasweer hai aab tu hum borhey ho gaeey hain .... Mashallah jaisey CHAAAND GS per uter aaya ho :)

Chaand koh grehen laga howa hai. :rotfl:

There should be a full investigation first before blaming a party. I 've heard that doctors advised Akram not to fly when she was in critical condition but in-laws refused because "doctors in Pakistan don't know what they are doing." Now they are blaming docs and vise versa.

chaand ko kia ma'loom use
dekhtaa hai koi chakor!!!

sach sach bataayeN aur kaun kaun dekh rahaa thaa? ;)**

Totally different version of events given by Cheema and i dunno which one is correct because tehy are entirely different.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/380746-doctor-sends-wasim-akram-legal-notice-puts-record-straight.html

However reading The News inquiry report, there are some glaring misjudgments in the inquiry.

• Bicuspid aortic valve can be silent, they may not have heard any murmur, unless there is a malfunction of valve, which is not reported in the inquiry.

• A faint murmur can easily be missed and specially when properly listenign to such murmur will require manipulating stehoscope over and under her breast.

• Antibiotic prophylaxis is no longer recomended for bicuspid aortic valve in latest american heart association guidelines.

• Antibiotic prophylaxis even given do not prevent fungal infections.

• Kidneys can fail in any severe illness, not necessarily infective endocarditis.

And its strange that there was ony on e clinician in the inquiry team, that is Ghiasuddin Butt, the nephrologist. Inquiry should have included an infectious disease and cardilogist.

Doctor's hospital's name should be changed to pagalon ka hospital.
they were doing an operation on my friend's mother when durig the operation she woke up.

Thats not rare …happens many time in every part of the world. Just youtube it :slight_smile:

Its called “Anesthesia Awareness”

There was a movie about it. With that Anakin Skywalker guy and Terrence Howard.

yeh to wohi kahawat ho gayee k

ulta chor kotowal ko daantey!

but I think Wasim's inlaws are also partly to blame for the unwise move to let Huma fly (against medical advice) in such a critical condition

I am not exactly sure if Huma Akram was airlifted against medical advise. From AKram’s Dawn interview dated Dec. 11 it seems like doctors hospital staff asked Akram to pay $150,000 to transfer his wife to Singapore.

I am taking Akram’s side not because he is a celebrity but because what was reported by the inquiry commission and later confirmed by Pakistan Medical and Dental Council, the governing body of all medical and dental practitioners in Pakistan.

Can you show me the those latest guidelines which says that? It was my understanding that antibiotic prophylaxis prior to dental treatment is strongly recommended for high risk individuals with certain cardiac congential conditions including bicuspid valve. Fow low or no risk individuals it does make sense to avoid unneccessay antibiotic intake.

Well I came across this thread in PA and it seems like the doctors were not as negligent or laparwah as Wasim & his family are claiming

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/380746-doctor-sends-wasim-akram-legal-notice-puts-record-straight.html

"It hurts to hear this. We are all quite upset. We treated the wife of our national hero with utmost commitment and not just me, but the entire team of consultants. In the legal notice you will find a chronology of the phone calls, text messages between him and myself and between me and the various other doctors involved. Not for a fraction of a second, in all honesty, did I or other doctors, shrug off our responsibility towards our patient.

In fact, before she was to leave for Singapore, I painstakingly prepared a detailed summary of her medical history. Then I called Akram and he profusely thanked me for all the care I extended to her"

Re: Hospital sues Wasim Akram for Rs. 10 Crore, or 50 Cr if he doesn’t apologize

^^ Wow…the Doctor seems to be very secure in his statement. I am wondering now…:hmmm:
all along I thought that this was a typical pakistani malpractice case…now I think its wasim getting emotionally carried away…

This is whole document
Prevention of Infective Endocarditis: Guidelines From the American Heart Association: A Guideline From the American Heart Association Rheumatic Fever, Endocarditis, and Kawasaki Disease Committee, Council on Cardiovascular Disease in the Young, and t

Read table 3 and table 6.