Hockey - 25th Men’s Champions Trophy

*Originally posted by Some1: *

India squandered many chances and went down fighting in the end...for god's sake stop this revenge-wevenge ki baatein.... itnaa chouraa mat ho just because Pak won the match by a late solitary goal...
...so just count your team lucky....
Congrats BTW....for the bronze billa...

There was nothing lucky abt it. Pak played better hockey most of the game and they deserved the win. India had the momentum and the high morale after the thumping win couple dayz back. Its a shame they coudn't capitalize on that.They played well no question and it was very close right until the very end but the bottomline is ur team lost because we played better when it counted the most. Live with it...

:crying: :crying: :crying: :crying: :crying: :crying: :crying:

Dutch claim Champions Trophy

Dutch star Delmee and Australia’s Butler challenge for the ball
The Netherlands beat Australia 4-2 to retain the Champions Trophy in Amsterdam.
Matthijs Brouwer, Piet-hein Geeris, Teun de Nooijer and Karel Klaver scored for the Olympic champions, while Craig Victory and Troy Elder converted penalty corners to keep Australia in contention.

This was the Netherlands’ fourth title in six years, and the seventh since the tournament’s inception in 1978.

Germany have won the Champions Trophy eight times, and Australia seven.

It was a great final - we got off to a good start and never let things slip

Teun de Nooijer

Earlier on Sunday, Pakistan rebounded from their heaviest defeat to India by beating their arch-rivals 4-3 in the bronze-medal match.

The Netherlands opened the scoring in the 25th minute when Brouwer deflected in a free-hit from Taeke Taekema past goalkeeper Mark Hickman.

Australia responded through Victory in the 28th minute, but the Dutch moved ahead two minutes later on Geeris’ reverse hit from the top of the circle.

Elder fired home a stinging penalty corner drive in the 59th minute, before the Dutch swamped the Australian defense with a flow of raids.

De Nooijer capped a fine solo run by flicking in from an acute angle on 61 minutes, and sent a pass for Klaver to put the gold medal out of Australia’s reach.

The win avenged a shock 7-4 defeat at the group stage on Friday, and earned Pakistan their second straight Champions Trophy bronze medal.

India had the edge for much of the game and they led three times.

Jugraj Singh scored the opener from a 26th-minute penalty after a foul on the impressive Gagan Ajit. Sohail Abbas levelled the scores from Pakistan’s second penalty corner.

Seconds before half-time, India snatched the lead again. A shot by Gagan was deflected to Prabhjot Singh who instinctively poked the ball into the bottom corner.

Pakistan levelled from a 42nd minute penalty corner. Sohail’s shot rebounded off the crossbar and Kashif Jawad lashed in the rebound.

India’s third came after a centre from Baljit Dhillon flew high and was touched over the Pakistan goalkeeper by Deepak Thakur.

Abbas scored his second and Pakistan’s third nine minutes from time to level once more before Butt slid the ball past the keeper after latching on to a cross for the winner.

Pakistan’s coach Tahir Zaman said: “The team learned from its mistakes in the previous match and the players did not get emotional. I am very happy with the result.”

India’s failure to beat Pakistan for a second time cost them what would have been only their second Champions medal since 1982.

Earlier on Sunday, Argentina beat Germany 2-1 in the play-off for fifth and sixth places.

India's failure to beat Pakistan for a second time cost them what would have been only their second Champions medal since 1982. <<

wow..what a bunch of losers

One medal in 21 years. :eek: :eek:

I’m pretty sure that beats the cricket record of no win abroad in 18 years.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Congratulations to Pakistan team and as always after winning one match Dhanraj opened his big and Loud mouth and so did many Indian guppies and I think it is a fitting reply to their 'BAKWAAS' after India's loss.

asif, can you please tell some1 that he should appreciate what pakistani team did today. when india beat pakistan i didn't even reply because we were outplayed and india was a better team. according to some1, if india beat pakistan then it is through sheer determination and toughness but when pakistan beats india it's always "they just got lucky". some1, atleast have the self confidence to rejoice in your teams victory but also be able to congratulate other team when you get beat. looks like someone lacks a bit of self confidence.

*Originally posted by rana no.1: *

asif, can you please tell some1 that he should appreciate what pakistani team did today. when india beat pakistan i didn't even reply because we were outplayed and india was a better team. according to some1, if india beat pakistan then it is through sheer determination and toughness but when pakistan beats india it's always "they just got lucky". some1, atleast have the self confidence to rejoice in your teams victory but also be able to congratulate other team when you get beat. looks like someone lacks a bit of self confidence.

yeh some1 bara dheet hai, asif ki baat bhi kabhi nahee maney ga...

Allah ka shukar hai…

It was finally worth staying up all night to watch the match starting at 3:30 am. Every time India will take the lead, and I would be … :grumpy: but then the last goal a few mins before the close and balay balay.

I think the critical factor was that our defence did not let a single penalty corner to the India forwards. Zero batta zero. That was critical, because that Jugwal (sp?) dude is as lethal in PC as our Sohaila. Well done Sohail for hitting two clean PC’s and one great rebound PC goal.

Baaqi, Pakistan team played really well. No nerves (like last time) and the defence was much more compact than the seven goal devastation. Good thing for Pak hockey.

All match statistics.. penetrations (16 compared to 9), penalty corners (9 compared to 0), chances for fieldgoal … every thing (including the solitary yellow card :p) Pakistan was way ahead of India in this match.

[thumb=D]PakInd1.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd2.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd3.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd5.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd6.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd7.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd8.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd9.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd10.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd11.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd12.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd13.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd15.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd16.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakInd17.JPG[/thumb]

Thanks Teaser!!

*Originally posted by rana no.1: *
according to some1, if india beat pakistan then it is through sheer determination and toughness ....

Oye Rana.... can you give us a link to the post where I said that... dont attribute statements to me from thin air...

BTW, I see that Ehsan has removed my post about India drubbing Pakistan 5-0 today to win the Junior five nation championship. I can see that it would have spoiled the party here for my paki friends...

Great Moderatorship Ehsan bhai... keep it up....

Arey CT bhai....kyon itnaa CT bajaa rahe ho...In my part of the world..its early morning..I mean atleast for me a late riser...
Anywayz just read the news....looks like India could have just as well won the game... India squandered many chances and went down fighting in the end...for god's sake stop this revenge-wevenge ki baatein.... itnaa chouraa mat ho just because Pak won the match by a late solitary goal... to me there is little to choose between the two teams...any team can win on a given day(though it has been mostly India this year)....
...so just count your team lucky....
Congrats BTW....for the bronze billa...

read this you uneducated fool.

:hula:

Oye Rana.... can you give us a link to the post where I said that... dont attribute statements to me from thin air...

BTW, I see that Ehsan has removed my post about India drubbing Pakistan 5-0 today to win the Junior five nation championship. I can see that it would have spoiled the party here for my paki friends...

Great Moderatorship Ehsan bhai... keep it up....

Some1 this thread is about the 25th Men's Champions trophy and what you were posting related to another tournament. Thats why I removed it. However, you are more than welcome to post it in a seperate thread.

so many ppl in india yet they can't win anything..is it that hard to develop great athletes?
i think they need to change their diet

BRONZE MEDAL Match - Pakistan(4) vs India(3) Pics

[thumb=D]DillionandAli.JPG[/thumb]

Baljit Dhillon Singh (L) from India is stopped by Ali Raza from Pakistan

[thumb=D]RehanandVikram.JPG[/thumb]

Vikram Pillay(right) of India, duels for the ball with Rehan Butt of Pakistan

[thumb=D]SohailandSaqlain.JPG[/thumb]

Pakistani players Sohail Abbas (right) and teammate Mohammad Saqlain celebrate after a goal against India.

[thumb=D]Rehan1.JPG[/thumb]

Pakistan's Rehan Butt (C) scores the fourth and winning goal in the match against India. Indian Viren Rasquinha (R), and Indian goalkeeper Devesh Chauhan (L), were unable to prevent the goal.

[thumb=D]HappyRehan.JPG[/thumb]

All Smiles for Match-Winner Rehan Butt

[thumb=D]Rehanandteammates.JPG[/thumb]

Rehan Butt of Pakistan, center, celebrates his winning goal against India, with his teammates

[thumb=D]Pakfan.JPG[/thumb]

Delighted Pakistan Fan

*Originally posted by Sheraz CT: *
so many ppl in india yet they can't win anything..is it that hard to develop great athletes?
i think they need to change their diet

I hear you CT. I am passing your recommendation to our Government.

GOLD MEDAL Match - The Netherlands(4) vs Australia(2) Pics

[thumb=D]DelmeeandDean.JPG[/thumb]

Jeroen Delmee(left) of the Netherlands, duels for the ball with Dean Butler of Australia

[thumb=D]RobandPaul.JPG[/thumb]

Rob Derikx of the Netherlands, left, in a duel for the ball with Paul Gaudoin of Australia

[thumb=D]Karel.JPG[/thumb]

*Karel Klaver of the Netherlands, center, celebrates after scoring the winning goal against Australia. In the background, Matthew Wells(left) and Brent Livermore(right) of Australia. *

[thumb=D]Nathandejected.JPG[/thumb]

Nathan Eglington of Australia cries after losing to The Netherlands in the Final.

[thumb=D]Capt.JPG[/thumb]

Captain Jeroen Delmee of the Netherlands holds the trophy, after winning the Champions Trophy Field Hockey Tournament against Australia

[thumb=D]TheDutch.JPG[/thumb]

Group Photo: The field hockey team of the Netherlands with the trophy, after winning the Champions Trophy Field Hockey Tournament against Australia in Amstelveen, the Netherlands