yeh u dont care because you know that even with this huge upset they arent goin anywhere
*Originally posted by Sheraz CT: *
yeh u dont care because you know that even with this huge upset they arent goin anywhere
not exactly. they can still end up playing pakistan for bronze and looking at todays play, i doubt if pakistan will withstand indian's aggressive play :~)
Tell you what, why bother with tournaments, just play Pakistan and after you win go home why bother winning the tournaments. Come on, are you trying to tell me that it means more then winning the gold for which your team was one of the favourites at the start of the tournament. I think it was a poor show by both teams, more so by India then by Pakistan. I am talking about the overall tournament. India never got started and Paksitan threw away good starts, just like today.
I think they should play each other more often to improve their game.
Looks like I have ruffled a few feathers again (as always)...
Ehsan bhai, Pakistan is a good team, our arch rival and our enemy(politically speaking). When we defeat such a team, it obviously makes us feel great about ourselves and our team. Even if Indian team ends up in the cellar in this tournament , this victory will still mean that Indian hockey team is not as bad as the other performances suggest and that is a great consolation.
Indians will remember the recent cricket world cup not for the huge defeat in the finals but for the spectacular win over Pakistan. This is the view of a common man on the streets of Bombay (and I am one of them)
Karaa di bisti, phir say ![]()
It seems the only way Pakistan can qualify for the final is, if the match between AUS & ARG results in a draw. No?
*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
It seems the only way Pakistan can qualify for the final is, if the match between AUS & ARG results in a draw. No?
nope. a draw will leave aussies with 8pts, and argentine with 7 thus putting india at 5th place and pakistan on 3/4 [depends on goal difference and thats the main concern for pakistan. aussies have scored 17 and conceded 11, argentines have 15-15 and pakistan 22-21] so in the end Goal difference will determine the finalist. :~)
No AJ Pakistan can't qualify for the Final. If the match between Australia and Argentina tied at 0-0 level. Still Aussies will qualified for the Finals because they got Goal Difference of 6 compare to Pakistan's 1.
If Argentina beat Australia, they'll play Final with the Netherlands; and Aussies will battle for Bronze Medal against Pakistan. If in tomorrow's game, Australia beat Argentina with the Goal difference of 2, India and Pakistan will meet again for Bronze Medal, otherwise, Pakistan will play for 3rd position with Argentina; and India for 5th/6th position with Germany.
Ehsan bhai, Pakistan is a good team, our arch rival and our enemy(politically speaking). When we defeat such a team, it obviously makes us feel great about ourselves and our team. Even if Indian team ends up in the cellar in this tournament , this victory will still mean that Indian hockey team is not as bad as the other performances suggest and that is a great consolation.
Indians will remember the recent cricket world cup not for the huge defeat in the finals but for the spectacular win over Pakistan. This is the view of a common man on the streets of Bombay (and I am one of them)...
Some1 saab
It seems your national self esteem is completely predicated on competition wiht a nation 1/10th your size population wise,,, ahhahahah
how utterly pathetic. This would be akin to the US defeating Canada in basketball or football and then the entire country celebrating, absolutely unthinkable,, or is it not true?
It seems that you guys have some really big self worth issues....
Hawwwwww haye!!!
Itni burri tarha se haar gaye!!!
Thank god I didnt go to the match :-/
ANywayz, Hollllland all the way now
^shinoo: same here! i was planning to go to the match, and when Pakistan was 4-2 up i was looking on the net if there were still some tickets available for the final..........now it has been postponed till tomorrow
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Ab aaya, kharbooza churee ke neechay.
so which one is kharbooza and which one chureee ;) :D
So what if there is an earthquake in Holland tommorrow, and the match gets cancelled, both Aussies and Argetininan players suffer injuries (no deaths) can Pakistan still qualify for the final?
*Originally posted by elahi: *
Some1 saab
It seems your national self esteem is completely predicated on competition wiht a nation 1/10th your size population wise,,, ahhahahah
how utterly pathetic. This would be akin to the US defeating Canada in basketball or football and then the entire country celebrating, absolutely unthinkable,, or is it not true?
no excuses elahi...140 mill itself is a huge population...dont we celebrate our victory over australia in cricket...instead of justifying and excusing our defeat we must acknowledge our faults...we cannot remove our faults unless we confess them...
*Originally posted by elahi: *
Some1 saab
I disagree there, Holland has a population of province of Sindh, they are still better then us.
But I do like this new Pakistani team, they may have choked today but overall, they have done a decent job in the tourney.
Pak lost to India :-(
India defeated Pak 7-4 ahhhh
mera to dil he toot gaya hai
Pak was winning but in las 10 min India scored 5 goals what happened to Pak Defense
Its not a matter of which is a bigger country. Pakistan hockey team was considered a better team going into the match, based on their performance so far in the tournament. But, as the match showed, Indians played far better than Pakistani team today. They won. End of story.
Although the team played quite well in first half, so its not like a totally spineless performance, which we often rue in cricket matches. Its just that we chocked. Yes, its disappointing for Pakistani supporters. We can still make it to the victory stand, but it would have been nicer if we had a shot at the elusive gold medal.
Moral of the story: I think Pakistan should play two teams. One for each half. :)
udher bungali babous ko nahee hara pa rahay hein aur idher india hamari pitayee kar raha hey..hamari to ley li gayee..
*Originally posted by Some1: *
Great news to start my day with !!
I do not care anymore where India stands in the overall rankings in this tournament...
Obviously, because you lost to teams such as argentina, while making big claims..
Im surprised none of you talked about the fight that took place between the players? An Indian player with a reddish turban hit saqlain with a hockey. Now saqlain protested to the umpire and was very pissed, and one Indian hockey player on the left side was messing with another pakistani player who was ignoring him, in the meantime another indian player who was calming saqlain down, got a slap in the face (sort of) from saqlain, and that triggerred Mr. Badmaash Jugraj to do some bollywood style action, but was pushed back by his own team mates. Then the Pakistani manager stepped in and the player were pulled back. Highlights were the turban guy hitting saqlain with a hockey, and then saqlain slapping that nice player. Poor sportmanship from both sides.
Congrats to India on winning the match…:k: