Hitler the great!

Re: Hitler the great!

Also, it is the liberals among the Jewish people that are advocates for peace in that region - where they are based in Israel or elsewhere. But somehow liberal is a dirty word nowadays.

I agree with you here Southie. Some of the most passionate anti zionists ive heard are Jewish with liberal views.

The best example I can give is Dr. Norman Finkelstein (sp?)

Now THAT is someone worth following on facebook.

^ Thank you!

I have never understood the tendency some Muslims have of claiming every crazy idea/problem/atrocity that is held or committed by Muslims and assuming guilt for these things. With people rushing to claim this idiotic idea that SOME AND ONLY SOME Muslims hold and describing it in terms of “we” or “our,” is it any wonder that people associate ALL Muslims with extremism?

Yes, it is disturbing and very unfortunate that the recent events in Gaza have prompted some Muslims to tout Hitler as a hero. However, the majority of Muslims do not subscribe to this idiotic idea and the simple fact that it is held by some Muslims does not mean that all Muslims bear responsibility for their idiocy by virtue of being Muslim. The fact that we share a religion with someone does not mean that we are party to their stupidity. I most certainly do not tout Hitler as a hero or celebrate the holocaust, so, kindly, do not associate me or the millions of other people who don’t with the few idiots who do.

Aap tou naraz he hogai cough bhai Jan.

I haven’t heard of him. Noam Chomsky is and the late Howard Zinn was liberal/jewish and totally pro peace and fairness.

^No need to derail the discussion. This is not liberal versus conservatives. And not every thread is about this. :smack:

Just to clarify for the readers, and not going to dwell on this.

Harry Reid (Senate Majority Leader) , Robert Menendez, Shelly Berkley, Elliott Engel are liberals and very outspoken and strong supporters of Israel.

Guys, please don’t give credit to any liberal who supports Palestinians and speaks against Israeli atrocities..

Umm I did. Not sure why u dwelling on diwana.

Southie, Dr Finkelstein is a lot more political. Focuses on Israel Palestine conflict.

Dear diwana

Please accept my deepest regret that my post rubbed you the wrong way. I am sure it was my fault. Of the lot you have mentioned, I am only familiar with Harry Reid. And he is a Democrat, but not a liberal. There are very few true liberals. You may want to look up Bill Moyer and Bernie Sanders.

Sir, let me humbly add - liberal jewish folks are very germane to this discussion. Hence it is pertinent to point out the role true liberals play in society.

There would be no further need to discuss this further. That would be derailing. So I would gladly give you the last word.

Again, please accept my regret for causing you consternation. That, sir, was not the intent.

Thanks Maula. Will look him up.

I thought I was the only one who couldn’t get pass the gratuitous irony and double standards displayed in the OP.

But I absolutely agree that hailing Hitler on ‘enemy of my enemy’ basis or otherwise is absolutely abhorrent beyond belief. It’s disgusting, it’s pathetic. It reeks of most malicious kind of ignorance. I almost picked up fight with someone on this very forum over the casual desensitisation of the word ‘Nazi’ by meaningless tossing of the term for political point scoring. In fact I personally don’t like the idea of ‘Grammar Nazi’ and find it very disturbing even though I am guilty of using it, but nonetheless, I feel terribly uneasy using the word and no blood way on earth I’d ever use such term to describe my finicky behaviour over language or whatever. I have seen people proudly brandng themselves as such. Ridiculous, if you ask me.

But I must mention, that in my experience, South Asians in general (yes I do really mean South Asians as in Pakistanis, Indians, Bangladeshi) simply associate the name Hitler with extreme strictness and order. They often have very little knowledge about the kind of fascist he was, the crimes he committed, and what he really stood for. In their minds, Hitler was a famous authoritarian dictator with funny little moustache who put Germany back on the world map in such a short span of time. That’s their understanding, and it’s sad. I vivdly remember a member fondly using the phrase ‘my Hitler bhabhi’ to compliment his sister in law as a strict disciplinarian or whatever. I remember that post because I clearly remember cringing for good couple of seconds after reading that gem. And no, I won’t name and shame.

So yes, don’t ever think about praising Nazis and Hitler. It’s nasty.

Meri toba. Will never do that again :nahi:

Excellent post. Thank you so much for writing that.

Unfortunately, every emotional person thinks he has the right to speak on behalf of over 2 billion extremely diverse and globally scattered population based on the world view that doesn’t go much beyond his/her nose. I know and I have seen some seriously twisted and confused Muslims, but I have yet to come across a Muslim who hails Hitler or Osama as ‘hero’. I cannot ever imagine doing that myself no matter how badly I’m pushed on the edge. So really, if such gross madness is found amongst your family, friends and online buddies, then stick to condemning them and specifically refer to them. Do not generalise this behaviour on over 2 billion Muslims with your ‘we’ ‘our’ guilt tripping fluff. Chances are that there are millions and millions of Muslims (in fact billions I’d say since we’re talking about extremely tiny minority) have nothing whatsoever to do with such thinking, they condemn it, and thus, do not want to be represented in anyone’s ‘we’ and ‘our’ self loathing generalisations and stereotypes. (Not a personal attack on anyone. OP, it is my sincere request that you do not take this personally)

But truth to be told, the silent, civilised and eager Muslim majority which is capable of making positive change and thinking on their own is simply is overshadowed by fringe groups. One which won’t stop making loathing statements and the other that simply won’t ever look beyond self loathing. The voice of reasonable majority is lost and struggling somewhere in the middle of both extremes. Maybe it is fair to blame Facebook for all that. Yeah I think I’d blame Facebook.

Btw, you haven’t seen anything yet. Wait till December, and see how this forum will be filled by trollish drivel with serious guilt tripping shoved down in readers’ throat with ‘why o why, you damned mozlams, y u no celebrate xmas’ cries. No jokes.

I’d completely agree with you on the above.

Yes, not praise Hitler but why sensitize South Asians so much? “My hitler bhabhi” is same as saying “my shaitaan bacha”. Hitler reference is not for his genocidal tendencies. Hitler should rather be thankful that South Asians know his name at least. No one remembers King Leopold, whose ‘achievements’ by far overshadow Hitler’s.

Oh, I do! I do! (How terribly grade school of me :D)

The chap did quite a number on the Belgian Congo. Belgian imperialism and interference in the Congo is largely to blame for the instability and chaos that has plagued the region since independence in 1960. The exploitation and atrocities, such as forced labour on the rubber plantations and the rampant enslavement and killing of the native populations, are on par with Hitler’s atrocities and even surpass him in terms of the number of people killed. The death toll (among the native inhabitants) for this period is estimated at 10 million. For some reason people don’t seem to remember that though.

I still cannot fathom the absurdity of this thread.

At a time where Palestinians are literally struggling to find any shelter, we have a muslims sitting in their comfortable western homes concerned about protect jewish people from nutters on facebook.

Just ridiculous.

Just for a big FYI, here’s an interesting statistic.

But no no. Totally right. Lets ask crazies on fb to calm down. Because that’s how obviously the entire muslim population feels about the Jewish population.

Lets not ask the people who made Israel a state and gave them the lands to step in and fix this.

Lets discuss the overreactions a small percentage of the muslims are having to butchering of Palestinians.

Carry right on.

This chart shows every person killed in the Israel-Palestine conflict since 2000 - Vox

^ That’s the idea. By saying that Hitler should have ‘finished’ his job, you are supporting what Israel is doing.

Israel is doing to Palestinians what Hitler did to Jews. You can be against both or none.

The particular point you’re referring to was not so much for South Asians in general, it was more to highlight certain member’s selective morality. If you yourself have no problem using Hitler’s name to make someone you admire appear extra heroic or special, then don’t pretend to act so innocent and disgusted when Hitler eventually gets praised as a hero. The idea (or the man) behind is the same and you must condemn that on equal ground.

Interesting that you mentioned the practice of referring to young children as shaitaan, I’m noticing a certain decline and opposition to this trend by young parents who don’t like calling their children shaitaan in any way or form, and do not shy away from telling people not to do that as well. But that’s more like a topic for Muaqawwee’s channel.

1. Make up your mind about what ‘general’ means.

2. “Hitler should have finished his job of killing jews” and “my bhabhi is a total hitler” have two very different connotations. But that’s more like a topic for Muqawwee’s channel as well.

Selective morality is displayed only when Hitler is (rightly) demonized every day while Unit 731 members are pardoned, promoted and paid for doing similar crimes. But that’s for Muqa’s channel as well.

^ phir ho jae do do hath :lifey: