His mom

What do you think the above points that you've made are????????????????? They're mere speculations, Diwanay Sahib. So, don't tell others not to speculate either. A speculation......is another word for an assumption. You're not doing anything different from what the others are.

Don't be so peowed over the "she's not gori enough". I never said that this was a definite reason for the rejection. I threw that in there along with my other more pleasant sounding "speculations" for her refusal (incompatibility, education, cultural background, distance, etc etc). So, I included other possibilities. Also, the whole "she's not fair enough"........whether it is or isn't a reason in this particular story..............is not an entirely unbelievable scenario in our culture either. I'm not exempting the guy either. But my comments about some (key word: SOME) women who do get upset because the girl wasn't her choice...............are based on my personal observations. Everybody's experience is different. ONCE AGAIN......not saying that this is the case here. Women interact with women.........so what is "UNUSUAL" for you because of YOUR GENDER...................is a rather COMMON issue that WOMEN are more familiar with.

Don't just go brushing things off as "unusual" when certain issues are SOOO COMMON that they are seen in MANY of the threads in the life forum here.....that you see often in the media/dramas/etc (which is reflective of a society/culture's mentality and problems). Unusual indeed.

Women can be each other's worst enemies........I've said that before myself. But brushing issues off as unusual or skewed is not right either. It's like invalidating another person's personal experiences as if it's all a figment of their imagination.

OH.......and your above novel solutions have been previously mentioned by others in this tread. Who said mothers don't think of their children's best interests??? But they're human beings......not immune to jealousy, insecurity, etc. I assure you I'm not pulling this out of the air. People write based on their experiences, whilst also putting forth suggestions/possibilities.

I clearly said these could be the possibilities and did not just trash the mother as you did.

Again there was no need to interject that without giving the mother some leeway. Before you had the answer to educstional or incompatibility issues you continued on bashing mother.

Yes it is unusual to have such an opposition merely because the mother wanted her way and her choice. If you had these experiences that does not mean they are usual or common.

And what is this got to do with GENDER? Do men walk around with blind eyes and plugged ears and not notice what women do or how they interact with each other? If you have such misconception then please be clear on it, that is not the case.

Not really I will say that with respect.

Threads can be started with fake story as we all know. Just good for having discussion and exchange of views. They could be very very far from reality. TV dramas and media is also not necessarily a representative of what really happens in real life. Good for entertainment and mind stimulation. Hope I shook some more of your misconceptions. :)

Thank you.

I answered that. Generalizing on desi women/mothers on few unusual experiences is not good and you changed your position later and clarified. No problem there.

Good. And I said the same thing in OP's previous thread.

So your point is?

Great here I am in total agreement with you.

At least you agreed the experience you had with 'evil desi mothers' should still make 'some' desi mothers be bad and not 'many' after I mentioned!! :)

Diwana,

Our assumptions about the mother, the son, the poster may or may not be true. I've heard such stories so many times, that to me it's a common place issue......not unusual at all. It doesn't shock me. And out of my agitation for the frequency of this issue...........I did lash out at the mother in my first post in this thread. My post was rash......and while I usually try my best to mention the disclaimer of "Not every person or every situation is like that" in my first response.......I didn't do so in this thread. I did realize my mistake later and include other possibilities.

I still disagree with you about issues being "unusual." Seen/heard/read them so many times that they're ordinary and mundane seeming to me and other desi women. Yes, not everything on TV is to be believed........BUT..........when certain issues are FREQUENTLY shown on TV......it's a reflection of social problems that are prevalent in a society. And these issues that are portrayed in the media will vary from country to country. Compare the shows in Pak to those in the US.....and you'll find differences. The cultures are different......their dynamics are different. Art is a mirror of society.....it aims to connect to the viewer.....and it does that with issues that one can relate to. It's not only limited to TV....but also includes other forms such as books.

I'm not saying that men walk around with their eyes and ears closed. What I'm saying is that our gender shapes our experiences. That's undeniable. Society has created gender roles and expectations.......and while men and women DO have some similarities.......there are some issues that are better understood by one gender than the other.

Yes, there's always the possibility that one is trolling. And there have indeed been some trolls on here. But it seems to me that most of the threads (not all) are in earnest. I've read the poster, Girlie's, first thread. It was created in November of last year. In her former thread, she mentions that the guy has been trying to convince his mother for TWO years.......and in that thread (just like in this one)........the only reason for rejection that she mentions is that she is not the mother's choice. Assuming that this thread is a sincere one...........two years have gone by........and.........MORE THAN TWO MONTHS have gone by since Girlie's last thread.....................and** STILL** she has not come up with any other reason for the mom's refusal. One would think that in two months (the time between this thread and the last) she'd gain a better understanding of his mother's rejection........but it seems this is the only reason. The guy has tried convincing his mom, but to no avail............and he has even suggested that him and the girl elope (not the most mature of options).

This thread reminds me of another thread created a LONG time ago.......where a guy really wanted to marry a girl. His father, sisters, and even all extended family members were okay with the girl he desired to marry. But the problem was the mom. The guy asked his mother soooooo many times to explain why she didn't like the girl..........and the mom wouldn't tell him. He was even asked by the posters to provide reasons for his mother's refusal. But he had no reasons to provide because none were given to him.

***** The guy's (Girlie's Boyfriend) father is deceased. He's being raised only by mom. I'm not saying that this is definitely the case.................BUT..............it could be that the mom feels that as a single parent, she fears she'll be mistreated or replaced or run out by her bahu....since she doesn't have the support of a husband.... and this might be her ONE AND ONLY son. So, she thinks that a girl of her choice....would be more easy to get along with or won't create problems for her in the future (not exactly a guarantee). Yes, it's an assumption. But, I'm basing this on a similar situation I know of. And, I could be wrong. Maybe the reason could be difference in economic status, cultural background, etc. But for now......no other reason (2 years and more than 2 months have gone by) has been provided by the poster.

And assuming that the story is true........it's strange that a guy who has persisted for this girl for more than two years.......has not told the girl about any other reasons for rejection. One would imagine he would tell her..."My mom thinks this, my mom said that, my mom fears this, my mom fears that, etc."

Perhaps the girl's parents might have their reservations about the guy..............IF SO........she hasn't mentioned any. The only thing she has said about her parents in the former thread is that they are not approving of the match because they don't have the approval of the guy's mother. Things obviously won't go any further if there is no consent from the guy's mother and most parents would be apprehensive about sending their daughter to a family where she's not welcome....no matter how compatible her and the BF might be.

Thanks. :)

RV,
You are probably one of the best poster here. You give good advices. You seem educated and know how to get your point across. But how do manage to type such long essays?? Initially I used to read every single post of yours but now I just think I can’t focus too long, I just skip your posts :bummer: I would love to read your advices on matters but can you please for my sake try to use less words and still give the same advice. Is that even possible??

Re: His mom

redvelvet :k:

Sorry about that, Spiral. I know I can be verbose, it's not deliberate. The above post is rater long, although I've been trying to work on condensing, lol. I just wanted to clarify some points with Diwana. He was right about me being rash about the guy's mom in my initial post, where I didn't consider other possibilities for the mom's rejection. Later on, I mentioned other reasons for mom's reservations.
We differ on what is considered as "unusual." To me, issues like a parent's refusal of a girl/guy because he/she is not their choice.....is not an unusual issue. I've heard and seen it so many times, that it's commonplace.

The rest of my post is just background information about the poster, Girlie. She had created a thread back in Nov of 2009 about the same issue. Her boyfriend has been trying to convince his mom for more than 2 years. Guy has suggested eloping and girl's parents are not approving because his mom hasn't given her consent. And more than 2 months have passed since Girlie's last thread. And surprisingly/strangely....in all this time.......she still cannot provide any other reason besides "I'm not her choice." That's odd.

I've said it before, there are many intelligent posters on here who advise to the best of their ability. Even if you skip my posts (no hard feelings), there are several people who I feel can give better suggestions (with the succinctness, lol). Can't guarantee the length...skim if you have to :)

Man, I’d give up that kind of guy in a heartbeat.

It’s always a bad sign when he doesn’t want to introduce you to his mom day one. Then a worse sign when he doesn’t go ahead with his decision despite family opposition. Like…who are you running after? Deadbeat has no balls. Move on and find a real man. :k:

Seems like its been going on for a while. Mom will not accept her and the son ain't going to do anything about it.
But if I really don't want to do that.. Girle.. I'll try to find out WHY the mom won't accept.. a certain trait.. behavior.. background.. habits... education she doesn't like??? There has to be a reason. Even if you forcefully enter their house, you won't get the respect. To me personally, that is important.

The problem with our culture is that even if she were to POLITELY ask aunti to explain her reservations, she'll be viewed as "chalak/taiz/baysharam/too maadran." An attempt at clarification, which is a sensible step, will only backfire. Then mom might even call the girl's parents and yet again complain that "Aap ki beti mujhay tang kar rahi hai." The girls parents can try to get clarification from the mom.....but after more than two years, they must feel that they have their own self-respect.

It's hard to imagine that in all this time the girl hasn't mentioned any other reason. Perhaps she's hiding something. But if she's waited for this for such a long time and if she's sincere in getting advice...........you'd think she'd give us all the details so we can help her. I hope the guy isn't leading her on. Maybe she needs to set a deadline for him and her....and then move on if it isn't met.

It's called love. Dil sometimes maanta nahin.

shrugs

Easy for us to tell her to move on, but if she's made a connection with the bugger, its not easy to give that up. And hamaray Pakistani "mard" are such "mard" aren't they when it comes to making their own decisions.

When it comes to dating, bharay bahadur sher bhanay phirtay hain. Then it comes time to break news to mom about who he's dating, he craps in his pants, and does what his mom says at the end of the day.

This is why I say Pakistani men are such crap. They are not dating material. They don't know HOW to date, and HOW to stick to a commitment.

You know what's sad.. sometimes its not even them being the "mard". Sometimes its just that the guy is playing... like RV mentioned leading her... and the girls simply fail to understand and see that.
They'll say ammi maan jayeen gi... main kar loon ga.. give me more time.. Few weeks later, meri baat kaheen aur pakki ho gaei

Don't compromise on your self-respect . Mostly the only thing we earn in this life .

That too. Paki boys love to play. :)

They are olympic champions in playing.

That's what even he himself says that his mother is too stubborn.He has been trying to make his mom agreed for the last two years,and as far as i know,they have been having fights with each other because of this,and I believe,that's what forced his mom to give a call at my home.

The mother herself had a love marriage which lasted for around 2 years only,so she doesn't want her son to go through the same.That's why she wants to find him someone by herself.

No,that's not true!He is not a mama's boy.

No,the feelings have been mutual from both sides,and Iam not pushy at all.

He's not a player.I know he seriously wants to get married to me.

He tells me that he has had a big fight with his mom after what she did.So the situation at his home is not so good.And I kinda feel guilty about all this,and Iam actually very heart-broken,and I haven't really been contacting him after that,but he insists I don't leave his side.

^ Then hang on in there then, If you both really love each other, Stay together, and ride thru it. With or without his mums blessing.

Dont attack me now because i said that abt the mum

But I kinda feel guilty especially while thinking of his mom.

Don't say that . After all she gona be Daadi Amma of their bachay .

Then what? Either you stay with him and put up with his mother, Or once your married move out and dont have a relationship with the mum. Or never know she might grow to love you in time. And she shud stop being so spoilt and stubborn just because she's not getting her way, but she cant see shes pushing her son away because she cant find his life partner. Pathetic!

Ermm... and?! If she wants to see the kids, Then accept who he wants, Otherwise loose him and seeing the kids. Its pretty simple.

Desi mothers need to stop being so spoilt. Not all of them are like this obviously some *do *want their sons/daughters to be happy