HERMES BIRKIN BAGS!!!!

Re: HERMES BIRKIN BAGS!!!!

I just died and went to heaven ^^

Re: HERMES BIRKIN BAGS!!!

I don’t think i would ever spend more than $500 on a bag but at the same time i can spend alot more on other things so it depends on the individual’s preference :k:. I don’t see anything wrong with people who spend lots of money on buying such bags or anything like that, un k paise hai mainu ki? :bummer:

I have one rule: I will only emulate celebrity fashion when I earn like one. Victoria Behkum or Angellina Jolie can buy these things as you and I can buy candy.
I think it is stupid to spend like a celebrity when your pay check is peanuts in comparison to their income. For example Gisele Bundchen made 45 million last year and still she is not on the top of celebrity income.

Ill have to reward myself with one of these when I hit 30. Right now Im more focused on STARTING my designer bag collection.:wink: Ferragamo was my first :wub:

You said everything I was thinking but couldn't find the words to explain lol

That doesn't mean you can't save up for something you absolutely love. :p

aye haye…sorry if I stepped on anyone’s tail :flower1:

You don't need to making tens of millions to comfortably be able to afford a designer bag.. I've never been in debt or taken out loans and I manage just fine.

I choose to buy these things (my one Birkin was a gift but most of my other stuff I've bought myself) rather than gold, that's just my personal preference.. and besides something like a Birkin won't lose its value.. Similarly, I've sold on some of my old Chanel bags when I've gotten bored of them for more than what I paid..

(Btw you could say the same about quite a few desi weddings.. and in terms of finances they actually make a lot less sense..)

how much does a signature Chanel bag retail for in the US? I'm trying to get an idea of prices since I live here in Scandinavia where it normally costs 2500 USD

^The 2.55 bag are now around $3.5K to $4.5K now, they got increased by 30% or so from 2008 from what I heard.

And well-said, Deeba!

I did mention that its just my rule and reasoning . I know one do not have to be a millionaire to afford a designer bag and of course no body will stop you on how you spend your money but I find it odd.
Celebs who carry such designer goodies also live in mansions and drive luxurious cars. For my life, these things are for people who can live such a life and not for ones who are saving up to buy.
You know the saying Garri aur bewwi aissi honi caheeye jo appni lagaye and somehow I feel same in this situation. I would feel really odd carrying a Hermes bag and shopping from the sale rack of Banana Republic.

^ Adding to your well reasoned post, it is also important to remember that most true A list celebs (like Gisele, Angelina etc etc) don't spend money out of their pockets on latest mega expensive designer handbags, more often than not, the bags are 'gifted' to them directly by the designers for publicity. Thanks to the celebrity culture, seeing Angelina carrying a latest LV will get the company more customers than just a print ad in the magazine.

P.S. Neither Aneglina nor Gisele have ever been spotted with a Birkin. These ladies are in a totally different league than the Kardashians and Victoria B. Respect. :D

The argument only makes sense if you apply it to other luxuries as well.. singling out designer bags whilst ignoring everything else (some of which I'm guessing you're ok with) seems like double standards to me..

Not that I disagree with your argument, but what exactly is so odd about that scenario? If a person shops at a sale, they shouldn't be carrying designer bags and vice versa?

Frankly I really dont' care what celebrities do or don't do....but I do know that many fashion magazines advocate "mixing" designer pieces iwth cheaper pieces. how often they really follow that.... I don't know.

I don't think this is an argument per se, but more of a discussion where one expresses their views and opinions on something. I love designer bags, and am willing to spend a nice chunk of my wallet on them when I can afford them, and many OTHER things also of higher value. Designer bags are a fashion statement, they're great, I get that but at the end of the day it's...a BAG. A bag that we use to store our junk in, so I don't think people who spend on designer bags lavishly can be compared to people who spend lavishly on their wedding, because that is a wedding and it would make much more sense to save up for years to spend there. This doesn't apply to people who don't need to save up to buy Birkins or other bags of similar value.

^How exactly would it make more sense?

A designer bag is usually a much smaller percentage of our incomes and we can use it for years.. plus the fact that a certain brand will hold its value.. I know of ppl whose kids can't move out cos they spent so much on their weddings, after those few days it has all gone.. and that money will never be recouped..

(Btw I'm not against extravagant weddings when ppl can afford them..)

Define value?

Marriage/Weddings are a life changing experience/event, your bridal dress and wedding function is a memory set in stone, so you can't say it doesn't make sense to mark this ultra special occasion with a super fine dress and a lavish function. So yes, weddings indeed carry a huge emotional 'value' for some people.

I had wore some pretty expensive clothes in the past and taken pictures, but I sure don't look at my clothes the way my sister looks at her wedding pictures/videos.

^Because it's a wedding, a designer bag's value can't be compared to that of a marriage. Ofcourse you shouldn't be stupid enough to go bankrupt after getting married either, that's a whole different story. Anyhow, saving up for a wedding make sense to me, but saving up for years for a bag is something I personally would never do. I'll buy one when I can afford it easily.

Why is this even an 'argument'? Were people expecting everyone to join the bandwagon and go yeah I want a birkin, I have a birkin, I'll die for a Birkin, I'll kill for a birkin etc. If I don't see a point in buying birkin for myself, are you seriously gonna tell me I have no right to spend money on my wedding? Do we always have to make comparisons? What you call double standard is actually just a preference of few individuals.

Ok I didn't mean argument in the true sense of an argument.....but I was just curious about that opinion...that's all.

Anyways regarding designer bags, my belief has always been....if I can buy it with one paycheck and still have enough left over for expenses/savings, it's affordable. If I have to save up for months/years, then it's out of my price range. I believe in saving up for a car or home or trip....not for fashion.....I love "girly" things, but when there are so many stores and brands available at all prices, why limit myself? me wearing something cheap doesnt' make me cheap and someone else carrying an expensive bag doesn't necessarily mean they're any classier...