he doesn't care

Re: he doesn't care

sara, After reading your post I feel that I must share with you that I was in the same situation. We eventually got married, have been married for two years. He has not changed!!!! First it was shadi, next it was moving into his mom and dads house (he bought a separate house that my dad required as a condition of marriage, we lived there for two weeks!). His parents behavior is horrible with me but he asks me to be patient and says its not big deal people go thru alot worse. My health has been declining and still is, I am at a point that I want to leave him but cant beacuse I cant live without him.... PLEASE get your self out of this situation NOW. TEST him now and BEFORE you get married make sure you have the type of life you want with him. Tell him you cant take this and he needs to listen to you and untill he decides to listen to you, you will not talk to him. I know its going to be difficult but you need to stand up other wise he will not let you stand up ever!

chamali...
oh my God...
this issue of me moving into his parents house is already under discussion...initially i had this hunky dory picture of wanting to move into his family's house and us living a happy life there but i realised that that's not really possible..
i mean, my life will become hell in a joint family, where i dont even have a kitchen of my own
but, you know things are in pakistan... "good" guys (which my bf thinks he is) dont just leave their parents and get a new house
chamali, yaar do you think the problem might be with us? are we too demanding and maybe our wish-list is never-ending? should we compromise on these things?
i am like you too, but do you think that when so many other girls live with their inlaws why shouldn't we also be okay with that?

i can totally imagine him telling me to be patient about his parents in the future too... and telling me that i am overreacting

since we know we can't live without them, should we make more of an effort to cut down our wish-lists so we have a happier life? or do you think we should try to end our relationships and find someone else?
i think you can relate to how i must feel when he shuts the phone on me and doesn't answer for days
plus, they are faithful to us..

Femme, i am a very impatient person. even at my workplace, i've noticed im always wanting to get things done ASAP. i just dont have patience for people who miss deadlines or dont do their work on time or dont fulfil their commitments to me. i am not a laid back person AT ALL. he says he also cares about all of this and loves me a lot but somehow since i am always pushing it and bringing it up, i dont give him the chance to take the lead on the issue.

he says he cares for me a lot but i dont allow him enough time and i want things to happen too fast, which given the setup of his family and the formal relationship he has with his parents is not possible. he says i am too pro-active from my end, and he can't keep up with that

to all those who suggest that i leave him

if i can leave him, doesn't it mean that i don't love him? i mean tomorrow, i dont want him to think that "hey she never loved me, warna mujhay chor ke nai jaati"

if i leave him, thats what he will say, sara you never loved me, thats why you could leave me so easily

and yesterday the only reason i turned back at the airport gate to go back and talk to him was not b/c i thought if i go without saying bye he might never talk to me again

i only did it b/c i thought he might be hurt like Hell if i walk in without giving him the peace that everything is good

i think the issue is with me...i am too impatient and too demanding.

"Pasting it on whole' is not right whether its me looking at arranged marriages in Pakistan, or you looking at ppl who date.

The example was illustrative to inquire whatyour definition of 'successful marriage" was. To many a successful marriage is one that does not end in divorce. I think that istrue but not comprehensive enough, there are far too many unsuccessful marriages which hobble on crutches of societal taboos, family expectations, concerns about children, especiallygirls of divorced mother not getting rishtas. etc etc and etc

two points

1) Women had no choice, first they were not independent thatthey could go make it on their own, secondly the societal taboos were not too kind to divorced women, or to their kids.

2) why should women be the only one who sacrifice?

3) sure women are choosy, men have been for decades. Many girls in pakistan dont get married because their family is not rich enough, or they are not fair enough, or slim enough or whatever. Why is it so wrong now if women become picky as well.

personally I believe that desis in general have way too many requirements for their mate. genetic engineering would do well in Pakistan :)

The situation existed before as well. andsociety needs to grow up, many professional girls get married in mid to late 20's. The math is simple, undergrad by 22, masters by 24, a couple years of work experience. it may be diff for doctors due to residency and all.

The point however is that if youhave unrealistic expectations like the guy must look like brad pitt and be an ivy graduare and a multi millinaire who sings songs is a romantic and what nots then its a bit much, but simply looking for someone who has attained same educational level is nothing bad..compared to the meat market and chai parades girls had to put up with. because the society expected them to not meet guys on their own and let family and community help them find a mate, yet the manner in which majority of rishtas were made were on looks, family and recommendations of others. Not a very good way to go.

In the past the demands were mostly from the guys and their sides. Now its also from women.
as far as divorce goes, back in the day women simply did not have a choice, if they were married but had no kids and got divorced, no one would marry a divorcee, her character would be scrutinized, she would not have opportunities to make her own life and be independent and in many cases her parents actively discouraged her because her being divorced would impact the chances of her sisters or nieces getting married. So many women just somehow lived with that.

Now in a time where women can be indeoendent, the societal taboos are decreasing especially in the educated people, if the marriage is not working out, why doit. One of my cousins had an abusive cheating husband. she ditched his butt, and married an excellent guy and has been happily married for 5 years now.

some, not all.
there are many women who want to use their talents and want the intellectual challenge.
People who are against women workign dont complain too much when their daughter has a female teacher, or when they take their wife to a gynecologist they are not too concerned then of somone elses wife/daughter/sister/mother working.

why should she be the only one compromising? especially if the word compromise basically meant that the woman would backdown and do whatever it is that her husband/inlaws etc wanted, in the process year after year due to these influrnces she stopped being who she was what her potential was and turned into this caricature of societal, spousal and family expectations.

and if it is her choice to work? who is someone else to tell her she can not? the same ppl who want women to be at home have an issue when a male doctor needs to inspect their mother/sister/wife/daughter's privates during routine checkups.

anyways this discussion os way beyond this thread and should probably be ina diff thread anyways.

First and foremost if you leave him I don't think you should be dying over what he is going to think of you once it is over. Leaving him doesn't mean you never loved him but if loving him is happening at the cost of your own good then its for you to decide what is more important of the two, your one and a half sided love life or your mental and physical well-being? Learn to stand up for yourself first.

btw ladies, on the issue of living with inlaws.
realize that at some point you will have to. when they are older and whether its due to health or due to resources, your husband as a good son would have to live with them. Unless you guys are okay with someone shipping their folks to an old folks home.

wonder if youwould like thatto happen to yourparents cuz yer brother did not want to stay with them since his wife was not too keen on living with the inlaws.

just a point to ponder, no response needed :)

hey, if you wanna believe that and sacrifice your life for someone who essentially doesn't really care about you, then good luck with that! i hope somewhere down the line you find happiness.

You know I feel I am reliving my life thru you. My problem was that since I did not want him to be sad I compromised on everything!!! He is a very good man, he treats me like a princess when we are away on vacation, but the thing that matters more to me is that he stand up for me in front of his parents but he does not think that is needed, Since I have been compromising on everything I know he feels that I will eventaually compromise. I dont know your situation but I knew that my husband was afraid of comitment at first, when I told him that my parents will forcefully marry me unless he steps up he did after alot of fights. It took him two years to marry me.

If I were you I would try to investigate why he needs more time? I dont think since he has formal realtionship with his parents is a good excuse. If you really want to get married to him which I assume you do, then ask your father to talk to them and ask for the marriage to be held soon, This way you will be able to assess the situation and find out the reason behing him not marrying you sooner.

Living situation: If he has more bros that can possibly take care of his parents than PLEASE dont compromise on the house issue. It is one thing dating a person, living with them is a complete differnt thing, the first couple of years of marriage can determin how you will be living the rest of your life. I strongly belive the reason me and my husband dont communicate and have problems are his parents, living with them did not give us the opportunity to get to know each other better. The only time we had to talk was few minutes before going to bed beacuse in a joint family you are expected to spent more time with your in laws then your husband. This is a big problem, how will you guys get to know each other , devlop trust, communication and love (yes I mean love, what ever you have right now will be tested over and over again the first couple of years of marriage). I think if you live with him only it will give you higher chance of being happy otherwise you will end up in my situation. After 4 years of being togater I cant leave him beacuse I will literly go insane!! Once the marriage is finally on its way ask you father to step in and ask for a house for you as a condition of marriage, if he truly wants to be with you he will get you a place to live, it doenst have to be a big house you can live in a one bedroom apartment. Even though we have good men we have to make sure they understand us and dont make us feel like we are at fault to simple things like these. There is nothing wrong with asking to be married soon!, there is nothing wrong with asking to a separate house to live in. you are not being overly demaning and please dont let him make you feel this way. The excuse my husband make is that you have me isnt that enough for you? He does not understand that his parents are harming our realationship. I think you will have a higher chance and will be alot happier and will be able to Train him on caring for you more if you live separatly. Dont bring up this issue by yourself , let you father do the talking beacuse if you talk to him I am sure he will not want to live separately. GOOK LUCK!!! hope you dont end up in my sitiuation :(

Some men are used to doing things and getting their way all the time and that's exactly what's happening with you too. If you were strong enough to resent what you don't approve of, he would have never dared to begin with. Unfortunately, you arguing/fighting/hanging up/signing off/crying and whatever whatever whatever is not gonna do ANYTHING to help your situation. I have seen way too many girls in these kind of situations before and most of them brought it upon themselves because they are too emotional/sensitive to think otherwise. It is so important to use your brain in these situations than thinking with your emotions and heart. I am shocked that instead of thinking about your ownself and your future, you're more concerned about what he will do or think if you were to leave him. Let's say if he left you tomorrow just because he cannot defend you against his parents (god forbid) then what? It's going to be no problem for him to get married off to another girl because for men age does not matter as much as it does for women. Not to mention, by being emotional like you are now, have you thought of what your parents are actually going through or will go through if he left you? All that you mentioned above is not something that happens in a healthy relationship. I am sorry but it's about time you wake up and think logically than basing everything on love. For a successful relationship and marriage, there's alot more required than love- you need respect, understanding with each other, etc etc. It seems to me like you guys have too many conflicts than positive things going on. Atleast right now, you can make a decision and leave him if you KNOW that it will not work out because once you're married, you're basically stuck. I know it's hard for you because you love him and cannot live without him, etc etc, that doesn't really fly in real life. You cannot center your life around just love, you need to be realistic and understand clearly whether this is something you see working in the future or not. I suggest you do istikhara if you really want help with your relationship and I am sure that will most certainly help you in making a decision.

Sab posts mainne parha nahi per aapka problem jitna samjhi hoon to
for example Agar main tumhari jaga hoti na to pata hai kya karti ,main us bande ko rooz yeh song sunati

Kahta hai pal pal tumse ho kay dil yeh deewana
Pyar kiya to nibhana pyar kiya to nibhana...

Just kidding...:D

Yaar tumne haan ki...pyar kiya ,dil se kiya
Karti raho...
Phir chordo Allah pe,tum saachi ho, ...Sab theek hoga
Bharosa rakho!

Tesion layne ka nai deene ka...;)

As X2 said earlier, though you might not be lying, you see everything from your own perspective. From your post, I'd say that you're obsessed with him and he doesn't reciprocate that same obsession. That doesn't necessarily mean that he doesn't care.

How long does that take? A couple of hours? A couple of days?

he does whatever he wants yet i am always okay with it

Such as?

i've lost my backbone to stand up for anything or draw any line
i give in to everything he asks of me
but he can easily say NO to me
i've lost half my weight in the years we've been going out, i've become a skeleton
i can't get proper sleep at night
but he eats and sleeps well
yet....i can't say GOODBYE...
my parents have other proposals lined up for
i just feel committed to him though
but i am destroying myself
what am i doing wrong?

This again I would attribute to your being obsessed with him and him not reciprocating that obsession. That is unhealthy. I do however understand your wanting to get married quickly. I haven't heard his side of the story, but from knowing friends stories, there may actually be something that is holding him up on his parents side. Maybe he thinks he just cannot do anything about it at the moment and hearing you complain about the same thing isn't really going to help him with anything.

For the record, I agree that this constant delaying of marriage plans or at least a response on the topic is unfair to you. On your side, what I would suggest keeping your options open. If, due to his delays/indecisiveness you decide to marry someone else, he really couldn't blame you.

I agree with the person above me. You need to let go of this strong obsession and realize that ANYTHING can happen in relationships. Inshallah things will work out for you but you have to keep all consequences in mind. Especially with how badly things are progressing, keep your options open. By that I mean that do not pin all your hopes on just him. You need to convince yourself that if God forbid, it does not work out between you two, you will get someone better and will be happy. By saying how you cannot live without him, etc etc, you're just making your mind set on one thing and that's not good at all.

i guess what bothers me is your constant denial of any misbehaving on your part... you keep referring to how angry/sad/upset he makes you, etc., and then it all comes back to you and how maybe you're the one who's asking for it in some way or the other. you dont control his behaviour- not now, not ever, so stop blaming yourself. instead take responsibility for your life and end this while you're still fairly sane.

hmmmm

i know what i'm doing wrong

when he doesn't talk to me, i dont let him come back to me himself, i run after him and call him

he should come back to me. i dont allow time for that b/c i think i cant live without him

it is at that time i should exercise self control and let him come back to me... if he wants.. and if he doesnt then i should know what that means

i should just let him call me back and if he doesn't, i should learn to live with it, and accept it, till one day i move on or he moves on

what i'm doing wrong is telling myself that his presence in my life is more important than my own happiness - by saying which i am being unfair to myself :)

i should be ready for this relationship to end if its not going smoothly and if its not going right.

the purpose of my life should not be for this relationship to work but for me to be happy
somehow i forgot to focus on myself and started focusing more on the relationship itself
and in the process i lost my self respect as well

chamali

do you have kids?

a relationship which makes you do things where you are not being self-respectful is just not right ... ive decided that im going to let this relationship end if it has to

you should do the same. its going to be tough yara. no one understands that more than me. but you need to do it yaar. no one said doing the right thing is easy :) but eventually you will feel good

its easy to keep on doing the wrong thing and giving on to emotions. but thats not Right.

i wish you all the best

you can gather hope from the fact that tomorrow you will be better off - either with someone who is better OR at least free of the current stress you are in. like me, you are also losing your health and mental peace. this is a sure sign about how unhappy we are

i think it is basically about you being really strong and standing up for what you think is right. you need to be firm when you make decisions, such as not calling him back or ignoring him till HE comes back to you, etc etc. showing him your weaknesses and all is just gonna make the situation worse.

yes shay - u r right