Having Four Wives

Re: Having Four Wives

Surah 4:3 states:

"Marry women of your choice, two, or three, or four; but if you fear that you shall not be able to deal justly (with them), then only one."

Thus, the ruling is clear: men are given the privilege of marrying up to four women. The rule then says that if the man "fears" that he will not be able to deal justly with them then he may marry only one. Thus, the person who is called upon to judge whether the wives will be treated fairly is the MAN himself. The test is therefore subjective: it is the opinion of the man that counts and provided he acts in good faith and directs his mind to all the relevant considerations, any opinion he reaches cannot be impeached by others. If the test were objective, it would say: "but if you or your people or your society fear that...."

Surah 4:129 provides:
"You will never be able to be fair and just among women (wives)...."

This states the obvious difficulty in treat four wives with justice and fairness, yet it does not abrogate the previous rule expressly, nor even by implication. If a co-wife feels that she is not being treated fairly and justly, she should be free to make a complaint to the husband, and if she is not satisfied with his response she should be free to raise the matter with the judicial authorities. However, Surah 4:129 does not say that it is conceptually impossible for a man to be fair and just among his wives, only that it is in practice quite difficult for the ordinary man to be so.

I don't see where the conditions that you're reading into the rule came from, i.e. that it can only be done in times of war or conflict.

My argument is that the rule is quite absolute in its terms. However, as with all rights granted by God one must always act in good faith and with the best heart: one cannot take refuge in God-given rights to inflict an injustice.

i think the rules about war/famine etc. come into play through common sense and through a sense of justice and giving single/widowed/orphaned women and children a shot at a good life.

and i think when it says very clearly that "You will NEVER be able to be fair and just among women (wives)....", then its pretty clear that in fact, it is deemed not possible, and therefore it is forbidden. It's not subjective. When its subjective, that is when people start interpreting things as and how they wish. If it had said, "You MAY not be able to be fair..." then ok, i could understand your pov, about it being subjective. But as far as I'm reading it, it says pretty clearly what "I" (i.e. God, in this case) am stating is that you can do it if IF you can treat your wives fairly, however, please note, thats not possible for you, ever, because guess what, thats how I've made you.

That second surah is the crucial one that most people conveniently forget in this argument about is it allowed or not.

Its a moot issue to argue about. Reality is that most guys don't go for a 4 wives option. Reality is that the ones who do marry more than once do so because of family pressure, because of serious economic-sociologic problems like in times of a genocide or war (its happening in Africa as we speak, and polygamy is being used as a solution), or because of lust and greed and status.

And in the end, God will figure out who to throw in hell for it and who to let go. shrugs I wouldn't be the one marrying 4 women, if I was a guy. I'd be too scared.

Religion or no religion - man if ever my husband even talks to a girl i will shoot him and then myself :P i am very posessive when it comes to this relationship and no denying about it.
Comming to religious point of view a man should have four wives only if he can afford to treat them equally - its not like chalo shaadi karni hai ek say tung aagaya doosri pakro nikah karo aur pehli koh bhool jao :S that not fair - The guy should live one night with his one wife and the other with the second and so forth.

However, Surah 4:129 does not say that it is conceptually impossible for a man to be fair and just among his wives, only that it is in practice quite difficult for the ordinary man to be so.

What part of "never" did you not get?

true dat.

if you see a wife as a headache,..then i feel sorry for ur future wife.

the population of Pakistan is as follows:

**“Ratio of Pakistan Population: 1.05 male(s)/female (2006 est.)” **(source https://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/geos/pk.html)

this clearly shows there are MORE males in Pakistan than females. Hence if one man married 4 women…the calculations are as follows:

Total Pakistan population: 165,803,560

Total Male Population: 84,923,774

If each man married four times then only 20,219,946 men would be married

This would leave 64,703,828 WITHOUT any wife! 64,703,828 men would not even be able to find one wife and hence will remain unmarried all thier lives…(simply because other men are greedy enough to want 4 wives).

65 MILLION MEN IN PAKISTAN WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO FIND A WIFE DUE TO POLYGAMY! HENCE IF POLYGAMY WAS MORE COMMON, IT WOULD LEAVE THE MAJORITY OF THE POPULATION WITHOUT A WIFE. IT WOULD LEAVE THREE QUARTERS OF THE POPULATION WITHOUT A WIFE.

hence does polygamy make sense?** NO!**

ok enough with the bold... its very bold.
also, if people stopped drowing their daughters at birth, we'd fix this problem in a couple of decades... or more.
also, what age are these men? if some of them are too old or too young to marry, they dont qualify for this reasoning. too many variables. my head hurts.

haha this thread reminds me of a joke...

So a man dies.. and when the time of judgement came Allah asked him how many wives he had...he replied One.. Allah told his angel to put him in hell

another man comes to allah for his judgement ... Allah asked him the same question that how many wives he had.. he replied two... Allah told his angel to put him in heaven..

Angel was very shocked that the person who had one wife was put into hell and the other person who had two wives was put into heaven... Angel asked Allah why is that so...
Allah replied that the person who had 2 wives have already seen hell on earth..

if you were a little better at maths, you wouldve noticed that there isnt much difference between 1 and 1.05…even if the ratio was 1:1…if each man had 4 wives…then 75% of men would be left with no woman to marry. it would apply to all countries…since the ratio is roughly 1:1 in all countries.

heres the breakdown of ages:

• **0-14 years: 39%(male 33,293,428; female 31,434,314) **
  • 15-64 years: 56.9% (male 48,214,298; female 46,062,933)
  • 65 years and over: 4.1% (male 3,256,065; female 3,542,522) (2006 est.)
    again the majority are of a marriageable age…there are more males of marriageable age than females…as you can see 0-64 years old…theres more males. its far greater than females…so even if one woman married one man…there would still be many men left in pakistan without a wife…hence polygamy would make the situation 4 times worse than it already is!

its not that hard to work it out…but then again im used to calculations in the degree i’ve done :halo:

dusnt matter u wouldnt be able to help her :p..no fun for her just ghar k kaam … ma private nookrani :blush:..acchi tarah kaam karti rahi to boss khush nahi to doosri nookrani dhoond loon ga.:snooty:.. yeh top shecret hai ussai nahi batana,please:bummer: …

feminazis :sheen:

Draupadi had five husbands. So if a man can have four wives why cannot a woman can have four husbands. What a network..kaun kiska maaibaap..dhoondhate reh jaaoge.

^aur kis ne AIDS/STDs kisko dhi...bechare doctors dhoondhate hi reh jayge

Aaa what AIDS/STD has to do with polygamy?

Aside from the usual tautology from the women, it is clear that polygamy is allowed in the koran, been practiced since antiquity in Islamic countries and will be so in the future.

Also allowed in the Bible, that the Mormons follow, interesting practice where the first wife brings second wife into the marraige herself, and in some cases in Utah the second wife was the first wifes own daughter from an earlier marriage, The Man in question Mr Brown had 14 wives and 32 children, He made the mistake of giving interview on TV.
That got him Jail sentence...
The whole real life drama is an eye opener...

read these verses from the QURAN:

"If you fear lest you may not be perfectly equitable in treating more than one wife, then you shall be content with one." (4:3) **
**"You cannot be equitable in a polygamous relationship, no matter how hard you try." (4:129)

one verse is an explanation of the other....it says you can only marry if you treat them equal but you cant treat them equal....HENCE only marry one.
Its easy for me to understand....but then again we all have different levels of IQ.