Re: HAQ MEHR
I want to know where mehr-e-muwajjal comes from. What was the precedence etc.
Doesn't anyone know?
I want to know where mehr-e-muwajjal comes from. What was the precedence etc.
Doesn't anyone know?
OHHHHHHHHHHH, so in other words when we sign HAQ MEHR it is 2 separate ones?
Kinda makes sense now , thanks TLK and MIA.
Allah na karey kisi ko bhi MEHR E MU`AJJAL dena ya lena parey :k:
Personally, I gave both right after wedding even though I had to hear emotional sentences from my begum
yee kia ker rahey heen aap khuda khowasta … I dont need it … why do you think I need it right now … its just the start of our life aur aap abhee sai … and so on. Ah my begum was so shareef then but now
she takes it out of my wallet herself ![]()
^:omg: abhi bhi shareef hai aap ki begum, mein tau direct transfer kar laiti hoon apnay account mein ![]()
I had NOOOO idea there were two different amounts...mine only had one on it. Kyun?
pakroo miaaan ko apney … call him right away at his work …bug him …
PS: One can opt to pay all upfront I think thats what your hub has done
But I didn't take mine at the time of Rukhsati at all. :(
Uff! This is too confusing.
On the Pakistani Nikkah Nama amout of Mehr-e-Moajjal and amount of Mehr Mu'wajjal are both listed.
But that doesn't mean that both are given (or have to be).
I think there is a lot of confusion regarding this issue and as yet no one here has even be able to provide evidence for mehr mu'wajjal. I will try to find out.
then I guess all of your Mehr is listed as the one deferred …and your hubby should pay the price for doing this ..dont get confused, go shopping …! :k:
PS:
here is the english translation. read 13 and 14. I think your ALL MEHR must be Mowajjal (deferred)
prompt (mehr moajjal) or deferred (ghair moajjal or mu’wajjal)
Explanation:
As an essential requisite of marriage, haq mehr is always due to the wife, no matter whether it has been written and specified in the marriage contract nor not (clauses 13-16). Mehr is one of the most basic rights of a married woman and therefore the custom of writing the purely symbolic amount of Rs 32.50 effectively denies women the benefit of their marriage rights.
If it has not been fixed in the nikahnama, it is known as ‘mehr ul misl’ or proper dower and the court will then set it by taking into account her status and the mehr given to her close female relatives. If the mehr has been fixed it can be prompt (mehr moajjal) or deferred (ghair moajjal or mu’wajjal) or split into parts some of which is prompt and some of which is deferred. If it is not specified which form the mehr is, it is assumed to be prompt
all I know is when I got married I was just out of binid schoo..and was joining my company a few weeks after the wedding. when my folks talked to me about the haq meher and noted that the standard was that it is upto net earnings of 6 months, I said well for the most recent 6 months I was in negative, so can I give a negative haq meher. they got a kick out of it, but thats not what we went for.
desis just dont appreciate logic sigh
lol ![]()
Interesting i learned something new , yayyyyyyyyyyy ![]()
My sole purpose on this site is to educate you lost souls and fill your minds with ka-no-lij.
^ could a girl get both :@:
The mu'aajal mehr is to be given right after the rukhsati. It could be money or a commodity. Also, a wife can choose not to take it but must not expect it then otherwise her husband will get gunnah.
The muwwajal mehr is given only in the case of a talaq that has been given by the husband (and/or mutually agreed upon), not when a khula is taken by the wife.
Thaanks faar daa eenfooooooo PIR SAHAB :k:
you really dont want the second one
No, no, Mu’ajjal is the one you give out immediately, you dont want to give out the muwajal one (former is with Ain, later is with Wow)
Check out your nikah nama and see the amount against both mehrs
Okay, forreal....do I HAVE to care about this?
you should know that at least.
you lot are talking big money for haq mehr which it should be too considering the
reasons behind it, I got my haq meher at my nikkah in year 2000
the amount was not mentioned or negotiated it was just given at the time the
rate in our village was 500 rupees ( i know its VERY low ) at that time so we
were fine with it and not bothered at all. :)
This is what I have understood.
Haq Mehr is prescribed by the Quran and is a marriage gift from the groom to the bride. It is preferred that it is given promptly (before consummation) but obviously not everyone is in a position to do this. In the latter case, it can be deferred but must be given when the wife demands it (if the husband has it).
The divorce or death thing comes in the case that the husband has not given the gift during the marriage, it MUST be given at divorce or after death. It is due before any inheritance is divided up.
Tying Haq Mehr (mu'wajjal) with a divorce payout is a misconception. It is not a payment in the case of divorce and should not be considered as such.
The wife can make any other stipulations in the nikkah nama to cover her in the case of divorce or anything else for that matter, such as weekly maintenance whilst married. This is quite separate from the Haq Mehr.
I think the philosophy behind mu'wajjal is that it is indeed the part of the mehr that can be deferred as long as both parties agreed to, but payable immediately once the contract of marriage is broken (in case of divorce)