HAQ MEHR

I knew this pakhtoon girl, whose Haq Meher was crazy… half of the family property (since she was married to the only son), pataa nahin kitnay tolay sona and 25 lakh rupees cash… and she said humaray khaandaan mein tau itnaa hee hota hai :eek:. I pity the men of that khaandaan.

Re: HAQ MEHR

The trend that I have seen lately is I think either $500 or $100 dollars

:eek:
divorce key baad to banday ka deewala nikal gaya hoga :mocking:

thats as (if not more) ridiculous as 32 Rs haq mehr

@ kaun: Unn kay khaandaan mein divorce nahin hoti.... they're stuck with each other for life. I guess thats why they keep the meher so high, so the divorce doesn't happen even if the parties don't want to live with each other.

Please provide evidence for this.

I hope they have a happy marriage. However, if $hit hits the fan I am sure guy will not dovorce her, rather force her to get a khula. I know of someone who had a very large sum for haq mehr(not this much) but still. That couple started fighting from day 1 of their marriage due to this haq mehr demand. About 2-3 months into the marriage the guy divorced her & threw the money in her face (figuratively)…

There has to be a realistic balance keeping our deen in mind.

Why is everybody assuming that the agreed haq mehr is actually paid? There are some immoral ppl out there who have no issues not paying up and still giving a talaq.

MIA I agree, i guess stating an unreasonable amount of HAQ MEHR is the secret to a long marriage :D. Waisay i pity that guy :frowning:

Afro - So this is a new angle, so if a girl asks for KHULA in dat case she is not entitled to the Mehr :eek:

Mehnaz - I am just asking, we all know that there are enuf idiots who screwup and dont do exactly as they are supposed to, however what i am asking is what is actually the norm :smiley:

Whatever you decide, be fair. The whole purpose of haq meher is to provide the woman with financial security during seperation/divorce, which includes if she has to support herself and any children from the marriage. One should never assume that if you marry in the West, the laws of the West will 'protect' the wife by forcing the husband to pay up. It doesn't work like that.

kaun: My haq meher was Pakistani rupees 25,000 (I got married 6 years ago).

Suggestion from ulema is to set haq meher in such a way that the girl (after divorce) can maintain a similar life style, that she had before marriage, for at least six months.

Having said that, I strongly believe that Haq meher should be inflation adjusted or should be set in grams of gold instead of current currency, to cover up for late divorces (divorces that happen after 10-15 yrs of marriage).

and then there is a part mooajil and 2nd part is ghair mooajil basically once you pay right after nikkah and one can be deferred :slight_smile:

we can do dat? :eek:

okay thats wat, so it indeed is just a gift from the husband to the wife right, but thanks to our ancestors they have turned it into a negotiation, lol. Khair its nice to know and MIA that is where i will start my HAQ MEHER negotiation RS 10000 cuz i dont wanna sound cheap :smiley:
pat nahi konn aur kab hogee (dil bardaashta simily)

thats really cheap of you. 10000 Rs tu look eik dinner per lal qila main phiank daitey hain aur dakar bhaee nahee laitey :slight_smile:

^Kaun, you will sound totally cheap with Rs.10,000, itnay mein tau sirf 3 ya 4 Gul Ahmed kay joraykay aatay hain bhai.

Waisay IMHO every married lady should have a little nest egg of their own (savings account, cash, whatever that they can access) just in case.... and should also be well educated enough to work and support herself if need arises, khudanakhwasta.

lol :hehe: @ MIA and D6C

TLK bhai so ideally it is better to give GOLD rather then money? :hmmm:

I think TLK is saying that you should write value in terms of gold.
For example, you would write that the girl would be paid meher equivalent to 5 tolaas of gold as per sikka-raij-ul-waqt or something like that.

^ yup, this is what I am saying kaun .. (what MIA mentioned) ..

but honestly, I am not sure why there is so much of misconception/confusion about Mehr-e-Mu'ajjal (the one that is payable right after rukhsati) and Mehr-e-muwajjal (the one that is payable only in case of divorce). Both are 2 different Mehrs and one amount is not related to the other.

^ could a girl get both :@: