Happy Diwali

Re: Happy Diwali

I was disrespectful? don't think so. But if anything I said felt that way, sorry. Didn't mean to at all!

You are showing disrespect right here in your post with that (childish ?) capitalization for Allah and non-capitalization for Vishnu, Brahma etc. That is exactly what I mean by "is that what your religion taught you?". In addition to being disrespectful to God, you are also exhibiting some ignorance when you think you can insult God by using lower case for one and upper case for other!

Nobody asked you to practice Hinduism. But greeting one another for what each believes in basic good and not doing so is work of shaitaan. You decide which camp you are in.

Now, about law - Let us assume for the moment that Islam does say to respect the laws of the country one lives in. That doesn't make Islam the law of that country.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING TO ALL GOOD PEOPLE!

abe leave it dude!!! some ppl can go to any extent to book a seat in heaven.

I don't think that I insulted God.......you told me to celebrate diwali and I told you that this is the reason for us to not celebrate diwali.....bcoz according to our faith we do not believe in many gods or godesses, there is only one God worthy of worship and each time you'll ask me to celebrate diwali my answer will be the same.

If I start acting like you then I can also say that you insulted God by setting partners unto Him and making Him look like something funny etc.

I thought you did by asking me to celebrate your religious activity....now if I ask you to celebrate Eid by praying(salaat) and bowing down to One God and denying the other gods, you won't do that bcoz its against your belief.

I did wish all hindus(good and bad) and sikhs(good and bad) if you read through previous pages of this thread.

Yes and your point is?

Hareem, why don’t you understand that in Hinduism it is said that the one true God expresses himself in many forms?

*NO RELIGION, NO CULTURE, NO NATION HAS MONOPOLY ON GOD.To say that, is exactly like saying, “Sun rises only at New York and sets at Honolulu beaches.” The Sun that shines on the New York Mansions and Honolulu beaches is the same Sun that shines the dark Ghettos of Calcutta, dry deserts of Saudi Arabia, killing fields of Rwanada. Similarly the God in the Koran or Bible is the same God that one sees in the pages of Hindu Bhagavad Gita. ONE GOD MANY NAMES…

God also wrote in the Bhagavad Gita:

CALL ME BY WHAT EVER NAME YOU LIKE;
WORSHIP ME IN ANY FORM YOU LIKE;
ALL THAT GOES TO ONE AND ONLY SUPREME REALITY

So You can worship Almighty, which is formless and timeless, as Krishna, Jesus, ALLAH, Moses, ANY-ONE or ANYTHING. As long as you have faith in that form of the Almighty, you will befollowing a true religion and you will ultimately realize THE TRUTH, even if you are following a crude form of worship. *
http://www.hindunet.com/forum/showflat.php?Cat=15,44&Number=2224&Main=1824

*sis Hareem do you agree with the quote? :slight_smile:

And the age old battle goes on :smack:
..theres always a handful that love to spark unnecessary theological friction.
..whatever happened in the name of friendship, brotherhood, and good faith to wish fellow beings on their special days ??? Don’t we wish everyone and anyone in general, a good morning or a good night.. or a simple – have-a-good-day ??? .. why is it a big deal ..isnt it the same thing? :confused:

A hindu wishing a musalman eid mubarik or a musalman wishing a hindu happy diwali doesn’t make anyone something less of a hindu or less of a muslim (a good muslim – might I also add) = > cuz neither does it mean that the hindu is going and reading Eid namaz or salaat..nor does it mean that the muslalman is sitting and singing praises and bhajans of vishnu.:aj:

God Almighty (Indopak – I like the way you said it)
gave us a life – live and let live ppl! :flowers:

Religion is not a Quandary! For all those feigning charlatans that deliberate these quandaries – Please go do something useful with your time – Joining Agnostics-Anonymous-would be a start! :bailan

And for cryin out loud.. Eid is gone, and Diwali too for this year..chalo sab log boriya bistar baandho aur..phut lo:barbie:

Harreem,

Since you. said you didn't insult our Gods I will tAke you on the face of it. In future though remember action speAkS louder than words.

BTW did you know that Hareem in SAnskrit means "of Vishnu"? I know you weren't named with thAt in mind, but I just Enjoy such. Ironiy! These coincidences pop up so routinely!

its Hari and not Hareem

Shri Hari - might I add
::hmmm:

I don't get it. Capital and lower case to worship vs not worship?

Hareem, Lakki,

You didn't get my. satire I guess. What do I care whether you respect or disrespect God or Gods?

My only point is if hE wants to wish Divali let him. If you Don't want to, don't!

Instead of that why all this useless discussion about capital letter and junk!

well if you are being technical.. about pointing out meanings …why not? :barbie:

Hey! Someone talking capital/lower case and my eXhibiting my knowledge of Sanskrit are samE to you? Hmmm? I’ve woked so hard to learn some 20 words and need to show it of!

Those who don't want to greet on some festival, let them not. It is their choice.
If someone doesn't like some religion and tells against it, let him tell. Freedom. You also tell the same to his religion(If it really brings peace to you)
Those who want to fear the wrath of their god, let them keep fearing.
Those who want to celebrate coming down of their god to earth , let them celebrate.

Peace Indopak

It is not possible for us to worship in any way and in a given way at the same time. Though the scriptures may be there saying what you say or they may be misinterpreted or mistranslated to support a given practice.

Islam tells us not to worship Jesus (AS) whereas the Christians worship Jesus (AS) we cannot worship Krishna for he was a man yet you say this is acceptable.

Let’s analyse this quote from the Baghwad Gita …

CALL ME BY WHAT EVER NAME YOU LIKE;

This statement does not clearly direct the reader to do as it says. It could be a conditional statement. Like ‘do what ever you like but that is going to happen anyway’ so we cannot read this sentence and assume it is an instruction.

Also can we really call Him by any name we like? Can we use gutter or trash names? Examples: O prostitute, or O idiot or O pathetic …? Can we say that to God Auzdubillah? Of course we cannot so there is a context to the verse … the context is …

CALL ME BY WHAT EVER (ULTIMATE, UNIQUE and PERFECT) NAME YOU LIKE;

Now we move to the next verse …

WORSHIP ME IN ANY FORM YOU LIKE;

Now again the context is unclear … Is the verse saying that we can be in any form or is it saying that we can assume God is in any form? It makes sense that God tells us to worship Him when we stand, when we walk, when we sit, when we lie down to sleep, before we go to the bathroom and when we exit, in sickness and in health, by glorification or by prostration or by supplication.

But does it really say that we can assume God takes the forms we want Him to? If it does then we can make the form of God into an ant, or a germ or a devil or monster or a human?

It doesn’t say that we should do it either. It says that if we should do it then what will happen.

ALL THAT GOES TO ONE AND ONLY SUPREME REALITY

The answer comes in the last verse. That no matter how or when we pray calling upon Him in His Names that He hears and answers all. Even those people who think they are doing good by worshipping imaginary forms their prayers are answered by Him too but the statement does not say that it allows it, or that it is seen as acceptable. It merely points to the fact that God listens and fulfills the needs of those who worship Him correctly and those who don’t.

in many forms? Like elephant, monkey, dog etc?

One God many names...I agree but with One God many forms(in animals and humans, idols etc) I disagree.

In Holy Qur'an Chapter 7, verse180.* God says,*

The most beautiful names belong to Allah. so call on him by them; but shun such men as use profanity in his names: for what they do, they will soon be requited.

Also in
Chapter112

1. Say: He is Allah, the One and Only;
2. Allah, the Eternal, Absolute;
3. He begetteth not, nor is He begotten; 4.** And there is none like unto Him. **

So how come Krishna, Moses(AS) and Jesus(AS) are timeless and formless, please explain?

Sis indopak, I agree with whats written in the Qur'an because it is more clear.

JazakAllah, this is what I understood from the quote.

who cares abt what you agree or disagree.

So is allah timeless and formless and others are not??

ummm..like you said it.. there is no co-relation … so its unnecessary to show off your halfassed knowledge on the 20 sanskrit words that you claim to have learnt…next time hun.. learn it right.. or come to me I’ll teach you:halo:

On that note - .. its not a race to find out..whose religion makes better sense or is more clear.
..when some thing makes sense to you then thats great follow it and live it up.. when something else makes sense to someone else.. then so be it.. let them follow it and live it up too..
..why come down and stuff something that doesnt make sense to them, down their throats?.. everyone is set in their own skins with their own beleifs.. who really benefits from preaching something to unwanted ears?

Yup.. Yup..with you
kaisey baat ko bathangad..banaaya jaata hai..har baar :smack: