Half and short names

Re: Half and short names

Unique, In Sikh family children generally have unisexual name, Harpreet, Avneet, Prabhjot etc, its last name either Singh or Kaur makes the difference:D Hindus rarely have any unisexual names, and North eastern people have Indo-Bodonese names like Ching bai nang baa is name of my collegue:D

There was a boy in our neighbor whose name was Aalam and people have made it aaloo :D

Another problems with names is common names in near families. There was a time, when people avoid naming their children with same names of the children of their first / second cousins and in case someone named same name to his/her children it was kinda start of ego war.

There are many such names which are given to both girls and boys. Our landlady name was Imtiaz similar to our roommate. :D

Other such names include Irshaad, Anwar, Mumtaz, Shokat (although a very very mardana name), etc.

i agree its not like the name is long thts y shorten its kind of tradition my baby girl name is zahra n evry1 calling her zaro even me n huby my huby name is bilal n i m the one calling her bil :wub: bc i like it i think these r smaller names n u can pronounce easily but still dont know y :hmmm:
my nephew name is ibrahim n v all call him ibbi

my father used to make fun tht ppl now keep those names which can b easily cahnged into nicks… he says now a days nicks r more important he would example tht parents say v want to call her baby sherry so v vl name sehrish or shehryar :smack:
its funy but my dad used 2 make fun

oh achha hai apka bilal bhai ko bil bulati hain billa nahi..............:D

:smack: meray bilal bhai nhi
n i all him bill his frnds call him billa :hmmm:

i was calling him bilal bhai..................................:D

i did not want to say that you call him bilal bhai

Yes there are some common names and there acceptable short forms like Noman (Nomi)

:k: Nice sharing Ninja. I remember families naming their children born during 2005 earthquake as ‘Zalzala Khan’ and in 2010 floods ‘Sailaab Khan’.

^omg.........

No it is not just a desi thing. It is very common in non-desis too.
Both the short form in names as the use of nick names.

My friend call her husband Omar “om” all the time and it looks weird. My kids have big names in school some of their friends make their name short but I don’t do it in house. I like to call them with full names or some names which I mix. :cb:

Unique, though I don’t know any Bhookamp singh or baadh singh, but I do know people like Shaitan Singh and Balwan singh:D

There was also a trend to name children on the names of the day they born. In Sindh, Aachar (Sunday), Soomar (Monday), Khameeso from Khamees (Thursday) and Juma Khan (from Friday) were common names.

In Haryana they have tradition of naming their children on millitary ranks, like major, karnal, janral etc

Means just Major, Karnal, Jarnal :hayaa:

Karnal se mujhe yaad aya:

What a demand. She didn’t accept mahi below Karnail :smiley:

It was very difficult to remember spellings of these ranks especially one below Captain and above Major.

^^^ Nice Song:D

Lieutenant and Colnol though masses pronounce it as leftinant and karnal,

South Indians have another style of naming with father name as middle name, and village name as last name like, Parthasarthi Ramesh Vellipura

Using name of city / village as last name is common in molvis and poets. Saba Akbar Adadi, Waseem Barelvi, Akbar Alah Abadi, Maulana Yousuf Ludhyanvi, etc.

South Indians can be Parthasarthi RV one day and P Ramesh Vellipura the other day, and PR Vellipura another day:D

There is also a trend in Desis to make short forms of their names especially when they live outside their countries. Allah Wasaya Chohdri (AW Chohdri) :D. Pummi is a famous short name for a old but long Desi name of women. :D