Re: Greg Chappel emails BCCI / Full Text (merged)
Check out the new developments by Bhajji and ex-president of BCCI and players’ diversion.
Sardar Jee ko aqal zara dair main ayee, his interview at 1pm/am after the one to PTI at 12am/pm ![]()
Either he has got singnals that Ganguly is going out this time or Bajju has himself realized that he played his cards too early
=====================================================
Bhajji shoots from the hip and recoils
Kadambari Murali
New Delhi, September 26, 2005
Harbhajan Singh wearily stated on Sunday evening that he was not getting involved in the coach versus captain issue and was not supporting anyone with the forthright statements he made in a sensational interview to PTI earlier in the day. He said what he was upset about was Greg Chappell’s reportedly questioning his professional integrity. “I am standing up for myself,” he told HT on Sunday. ![]()
While mentioning Sourav Ganguly as a very good captain for whom he has great regard, Harbhajan said, “I do not care who the captain is. I don’t mind playing under anyone. I play for my country with passion and pride. ![]()
However, I would be concerned if someone casts aspersions on my character or my professionalism. I am not saying all this in support of anyone, but I am concerned about myself.”
Asked whether he was worried that his outburst could be seen as an act of indiscipline and have disastrous consequences on his career, he said he had no choice but to speak up.
“**Koi mere pe daag lagaye to mein zaroor bolunga, chaahe iska anjaam kuchh bhi ho **(If someone says wrong things about me, I will definitely speak up whatever the consequences). I will speak up even if they don’t pick me to play.”
He denied that Chappell had made any negative remarks to him directly but said he had learnt that his professionalism and integrity had been questioned. Asked whether he had been told as much by Ganguly, he denied adding that he had not spoken to Ganguly on the matter and had heard of it from the media.
Asked whether he confronted Chappell, he said, “Usne to mana kiya.” At the same time, he said he had no problem working with Chappell if the matter was resolved. “I don’t mind working with anyone and will work with Chappell again. I’ll work hard, I always have.”
**He also said that some of the remarks he made had been taken out of context and were not true. “I have been watching television and a lot of what they are portraying on the TV channels is not true,” he said.
“It has been blown out of proportion. I did say that there was insecurity among team members about what was happening and they were scared that something they said could be taken in a wrong way. But I did not say Chappell had double standards or that he tried to create a rift between (Rahul) Dravid and me.”
Harbhajan had told PTI (this he confirmed): “The coach’s conduct can create fear among players over asking any suggestion on his weakness from the coach, who may take it as a complaint against him to the Board.”
The agency interview, which was played back again and again across the country throughout the day, also quoted him as saying, “Chappell’s remarks were an attempt to create a rift between me and Dravid for whom I have great regard.”** :hehe:
Asked whether media reports of up to 10 players were planning to write to the Board against Chappell was true, he said he had no knowledge of any such letter or if anyone else would come out openly.
“I reiterate that my problem is my own. If I am asked to appear before the review committee, I will, I suppose anyone who is asked will appear. But that’s not for me to say.”
Sanjay Manjrekar weighs in nicely…
Here’s the Chappell way…
By: Sanjay Manjrekar
September 26, 2005
The Board of Control for Cricket in India does not like to take decisions. ‘Most issues die a natural death if given time’ is their philosophy.
This approach does work sometimes but when it does not, it hurts Indian cricket so badly that it takes years for the wounds to heal. Match fixing in Indian cricket was known to the BCCI ‘powers’ much before it was actually exposed by the ‘powers’ outside.
Ideally, the Chappell-Ganguly face-off is another matter that the BCCI would want to die a natural death. But the problem here is Greg Chappell.
He is not a John Wright to let things be as they are, make compromises and carry on. Chappell seems to be telling the BCCI, ‘well, you chose me as a coach, so this is the Chappell way.’
Chappell wants answers in a hurry. He will compel the BCCI to do something they have historically never done and that is to take decisions, early decisions. And it seems in a week’s time, the BCCI would have to decide between Chappell and Ganguly.
For me, this difficult choice that they have to make, is not so much between two people as it is between two ways to go ahead in Indian cricket.
Now on one side, there is that typical Indian way — not restricted to sports, mind you. Which is all about compromises, adjustments, emotions, respect, egos and lastly politics.
Then there is the Chappell way which obviously is also the Aussie way where all decisions are generally taken based on cricketing merit; where there is no place for compromises, emotions, egos etc. It’s all about cricket, The simpler way, you would say or also the ideal way.
For example, would Michael Bevan, if playing for India, have been dropped at the time the Australians did? Or would Mark Taylor, one of the greatest captains the world has seen, have been out of the one-day team at his prime? No!
Here we are then. Which way is Indian cricket going this week? The familiar Indian way or the new Australian way?
I can tell you for sure, we the Indian cricketing fraternity, which includes current players too, have always fantasised going the Australian way. It’s often talked about in close circles, amongst friends and believe it or not, sometimes in hushed tones, as if discussing a conspiracy to overthrow the Government.
But when the time or opportunity comes to actually make this a reality, we turn away from that way, which is basically about doing what is right and chose the road riddled with compromises.
You have seen that approach over the years in the selections of Indian captains.
For instance, when Mohammed Azharuddin was made captain for the first time in 1990 for the tour of New Zealand, it was to break the core of senior players that was threatening the BCCI’s authority. That was an instance of politics deciding the Indian captaincy.
You often see it influence team selections and also the structuring of Indian cricket. I can’t accept Vidarbha or Services, who repeatedly get mauled as a team in the Ranji Trophy having as much power (one vote) in administration as Mumbai, who have won the Ranji title 36 times. So, cricketing accomplishments is totally irrelevant when it comes to powers in cricket administration.
Why, you may ask, do we take this road of compromise? Well, simply because we are just used to driving down this road. **Ironically, we find the simple way too difficult. **
So, we prefer that narrow lane with a lot of bylanes to reach the destination rather than that simple straightforward, six-lane highway which can take us to our destination in half the time.
**Coming back to the current issue, before the decision is made, the BCCI will surely talk to Chappell and Ganguly and if after that, they feel they need to go the Chappell way, it’s important they also find out whether the rest of the team and not only the new captain is ready to go the Chappell way. **
For, you are talking of those players who found much of their success the Ganguly way.
http://web.mid-day.com/sports/national/2005/september/119602.htm
Very well written Manjrekar. This is not just Indian story but we can see our history in those examples too. Politics has ALWAYS (atleast in our case) influenced the selection of the team. If Steve Waugh struggled for six months as Gangz has been for last couple of year, he would have been shown to way out, despite of being captain.
Yes we dream of having the professional team as Austrialia has been for last 15 years and yet we fail to take one step towards professionalism and burrying favouritism forever.
^ Excellent piece by Manjrekar. No wonder he is one of my favourite commentators. I haven't a heard a better take on the issue.
He is absolutely on the money about the following :
*Now on one side, there is that typical Indian way — not restricted to sports, mind you. Which is all about compromises, adjustments, emotions, respect, egos and lastly politics.
Then there is the Chappell way which obviously is also the Aussie way where all decisions are generally taken based on cricketing merit; where there is no place for compromises, emotions, egos etc. It’s all about cricket, The simpler way, you would say or also the ideal way.
For example, would Michael Bevan, if playing for India, have been dropped at the time the Australians did? Or would Mark Taylor, one of the greatest captains the world has seen, have been out of the one-day team at his prime? No!
I don't know why we are even considering the Ganguly side of the story. He is a liability on the team and needs to be done away with asap. He has been out of form for more than 2 years.....is scared of facing fast bowlers....is a lethargic player...had he been in Australia, he would have been kicked out long ago.
The baniyaas who have taken over the BCCI board must go. Cricket administration should be left to professionals who know cricket(e.g. distinguished former players)....not arm-chair politicians like Dalmiya/Ranbir Singh /etc.
Its amazing to me how the Bangla babus are rushing to Gangu’s defence.
Here is one such man. Thy name is RAHUL BHATTACHARYA. He even goes to the extent of questioning Chappel’s coaching record :
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/india/content/story/220186.html
Can’t believe I bought this guy’s book “Pundits from Pakistan” for 27$.
Pundits from Pakistan? What's the book about?
^ It is part travelogue but mostly cricket based on the experiences of Bhattacharya Babu during India's last tour of Pakistan.
Synopsis at Amazon says :*
A cricketing romp through Pakistan In early 2004, the Indian cricket team set out for Pakistan. Pundits describes the subsequent tour, detailing the matches, the moods, the games and the players. More than merely that, though, it is also a book about the first major sporting encounter between India and Pakistan in 15 years - a period in which the two countries had fought one war and come close to another. What emerges is a fascinating contemporary account of a beautiful game in its most crucial setting, captured through the eyes of a young Indian discovering Pakistan. *
Bangla journalists have a reason to love Ganguly. Gangu reserves the best scoopes for them. Even in the above book, I remember reading how the author had free access to Gangu.
I read that this morning and was amazed on two things. How stupid is this guy or other emotional Bengaliz protesting on the streets of Kolkata against coach, that they cannot even see the lowest level of sportsmanship and batting form their Dada is showing for last two years. Yet they jumped over the wall and attack on Chappel’s competence instead. Second thing is with four heavy weight candidates for Indian coach why did BCCI selected Greg if they knew that he couldn’t bring South Aurstrilia into top 2 even in his long tenure with a demoralized team. What criteria did they use when hiring new coach? Presentation may be? ![]()
There is a repeated lesson for sub-continent current super stars and the future stars in this mishap. Only professionalism, discipline and hardwork will prevail one, cricket is no more the same game as it once used used to be, like in 70s. If one can dream of beating Austrailia, England and Srilanka, he should prepare himself for hardwork and professionalism. This is not only for Ganguly, but for Zaheer, Harbie, Inzi, Akhtar, Malik and other dheet-charbi and/or big ego players in both teams.
hahaha...the review committee did NOTHING. The outcome is that BOTH Chappel and Ganguly will work together for the betterment of Indian Cricket...yeah right!
This is disgusting decision. Bunch of assholes. What a dumb decision? This will take Indian cricket no where. Now I expect chappel to resign and go. These Indians deserve coaches like Gaekwad and Bedi.
I think Paa-jee will make a good coach with Dada. Aik he matti kay haiN dono. Egos bigger than betterment of country.
Yep… cant believe what is the message of this review committe’s recommendation.
It seems like Mahendra is saying that what Chappel said was a confusion( mild way of saying lie) and then He would expect people to believe him. This is all happening because of Jaggu being at helm he will not let Ganguly go. Anyway, days of Jaggu and Mahendra are over.Wait just 2 more months. Jaggu and Mahendra will go along with Ganguli.
I am totally pissed. This is 10 steps backward by Board. These idiots are running cricket in India like Chaupal of their village.
Shame on Gavasker,Shastri and Venki.
BCCI is basically succumbing to it's 'popular superstar'. It really is mind boggling. I am sure there is more to this than what meets the eye.
Can't these morons make up their mind who is more logical and factual between Ganguly and Chappel?
The simple logical decision should have been to appoint a new captain. A better decision (than this working together) for Indian cricket would have been to fire Chappel. Because as it stands, I just can't see how the synergies will remain.
Typical desi solution.... mil ke masla hal karo.
Totally agree. But here is their Dilemma..
Same set of people appointed Chappel 4 motnhs back , with what face they can go ahead and fire him and say " We did a mistake"..
Now when it comes to ganguly, He is such a darling of Jaggu that no one can touch him. Sometimes I feel Both Gangu and jaggu have a relationship thing going on.
Looks like BCCI is still living in “joint family” system ![]()
No matter kitney bhee jhagrey ho jaeen, kitnee hee lariee ho jayee, eik dosrey ko bura bhala boleen liken KHABERDAAR … SUB KO MIL KER EIK HEE GHAR MEEEN REHNA HAI … YEE SASOOO MAA (read Dalmiya) ka HUKUM HAI ![]()
so who is who in this relationship? ![]()
God…I can’t quit laughing right now…BCCI is really something…For 2 weeks:
the Indian cricket remained at the lowest point of its entire history,
the entire nation was deeply disturbed by the proceedings of this messy incidence and
the international media made so much fun and mockery of Indian cricket
and after all this, the BCCI chief declared that the coach and the skipper will work together for the sake of Indian cricket. yeah right….what a joke.
But you know what, I am very happy. I will be dead honest. Being a hardcore Pakistani cricket lover, seeing Indian cricket at such a low level is so entertaining. I would be rather disturbed if BCCI would have taken some bold steps such as sacking Ganguly and Sardar and bring more discipline to the team. But to my utmost delight, BCCI did absolutely nothing which means that Indian team will remain a divided unit with a sense of insecurity. Good job BCCI. Dil kush kar diya ha.
Frankly speaking the review committee has literally slapped on chappel’s face for no obvious reason. If Chappel’s email was not leaked, it was far easier for both of them to digest this truce imposed on them by the committee. Now that that email has been leaked out and absolutly nothing is done to address his serious concerns at all is very humiliating for him. Poor Chappel. I feel sorry for him. He has absolutely no idea what has hit him. Actually the committee has called chappel a liar by specifically stating that ganguly’s injury was not a fake one.
From cricinfo:
Mahendra seemed to forget that he was addressing 100-odd journalists who had waited all day in mounting anticipation, amid a mad flurry of reporting every tiny morsel. He spoke like a clown would to a group of toddlers at a birthday party, expecting laughter at the right points, silence at others, and wonder and amazements at the revelations. When asked what was going to be done about the reported indiscipline in the team - a very, very serious matter - Mahendra retorted, “What should we do? Hang them?”
Ranbir Singh Mahendra, the president of the body that runs cricket in this country*,** cut a sorry figure, laughing at inappropriate moments, tripping over himself answering simple questions, and dodging the more forthright ones. *
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/india/content/story/220331.html
Grave beginnings, farcical endings
Anand Vasu at the Taj Mahal Hotel in Mumbai
September 27, 2005
http://img.cricinfo.com/spacer.gif
One of the gravest days in Indian cricket in recent years ended on a note of high farce. A long day filled with board officials and committee members meeting behind closed doors, of which four-and-a-half hours constituted a meeting of a committee specifically appointed to review the team’s performance and address the issue of a spat between captain and coach that has threatened to cleave Indian cricket in two, was dismissed in four-and-a-half minutes. Ranbir Singh Mahendra, the president of the body that runs cricket in this country, cut a sorry figure, laughing at inappropriate moments, tripping over himself answering simple questions, and dodging the more forthright ones.
But perhaps it was only fitting that no clarity should emerge, and no real decisions be taken, on such a day. A high-powered committee - including three former Indian captains - entered the hotel in cloak and dagger fashion through a side entrance. A posse of photographers were waiting at the main entrance for hours, and it was only after 1:00pm that they gave up the ghost, when news filtered out that the meeting had begun at 12.30pm. There was no-one from the board to disseminate information, and to cap it all, Mahendra announced that, in future, the captain, coach, and players were all gagged from speaking to the media about the issue.
Ironically, the most explosive leak in recent times emerged from a board official, not the captain, the coach or any players. And Mahendra said the matter was being investigated. The gravity of a confidential email from coach to employers being leaked seemed to be lost on Mahendra, who dismissed the matter saying no committee was needed to investigate this matter, and that the board “has its ways” of conducting its own investigations. All the while shushing certain journalists who doggedly followed up one question with five, Mahendra even sported a big grin, a mischievous one, some might say, when he said, “No,” to the question of whether Chappell would be communicating to the board via email in the future.
The key questions remained unanswered - were captain and coach sufficiently happy with the situation post the review meeting? Did the board really believe that the two could work together harmoniously? Has there been a softening of stance from coach on the grave misdemeanours he had attributed to the captain?
Mahendra seemed to forget that he was addressing 100-odd journalists who had waited all day in mounting anticipation, amid a mad flurry of reporting every tiny morsel. He spoke like a clown would to a group of toddlers at a birthday party, expecting laughter at the right points, silence at others, and wonder and amazements at the revelations. When asked what was going to be done about the reported indiscipline in the team - a very, very serious matter - Mahendra retorted, “What should we do? Hang them?” If the board president believes indiscipline is a laughing matter, then you have to wonder what exactly goes on in his mind.
When he said that Ganguly and Chappell had assured the board they would work together, you had to wonder what miracle this review panel had worked. On the morning of the meeting, neither Ganguly nor Chappell had backed away from the confrontation, and both were waiting for the other to blink first. Does Mahendra expect us to believe that this panel had, with the aid of some witchcraft, cast a spell on these two determined, headstrong individuals, causing them to bury the hatchet, kiss and make up?
Anand Vasu is assistant editor of Cricinfo
I am so thankful to the while Indian cricket team, BCCI and the Indian press for providing all of us a non–stop entertainment for last two weeks. Thank you so much.
No wonder, bollywood makes so many stupid movies. After all, there are so many stupid characters in the real life in India. I thought that PCB is probably the most stupid one after WICB but boy, BCCI is the King. And that stupid Sardar….lol…..and then Gangu Jee and Dalmiya Jee..the list simply goes on and on