Re: Greg Chappel emails BCCI / Full Text (merged)
All it tells me is that BCCI doesn’t have professionals who have decision making capability thats why they asked Ganguly and Chappel to sit down and sort it out in between them.
The funny thing is that it was Gangu who once called Ranbir Singh Mahendra a MORON (his exact words). At the time Mahendra was not the BCCI chief. Mahendra proved yesterday that Gangu was right.
So we are back to square one. I am not sure how much of intellect is needed in realizing that regardless of what Chappel did or did not do - GANGU IS A LIABILITY AND SHOULD BE KICKED OUT. He had reduced the Indian team to 10 players (for all practical purposes) when Pakistan toured India and continues to do so....and it is amazing to me that he is still there. I am beginning to believe that he indeed has DALMIYA's "license to kill" - like Dungarpur said.
I personally feel that this calls for the intevention on Indian Govt. Cricket is too important a game in India to be left to the whims and political upmanships of some bumbling jokers.
Also, can somebody tell me in what capacity did DALMIYA attend the review committee meeting yesterday. From what I understand, he has no official position currently(besides being Mahendra's remote control). What does he think , he is the godfather of Indian Cricket.
At the very least, I hope the India media does not let the dust settle. This unholy truce spells doom for Indian cricket.
arizona-wale.... lol.........Gangz should have been kicked out for good. Indian cricket will suffer for few more years now. Its only SL which is keeping its heads up from the sub-continent, otherwise Ind/Pak are no where near to top the world. Both suffering from internal politics and injuries.
Bhai sahib why are you including Pakistan’s name into the list. At least, Pakistan team management showed great courage by kicking shoaib actor’ a$$ for almost whole year. Not to mention that shoaib still has a lot more to offer to the Pakistani team as compared to what ganguly has to offer to the Indian tam. Plus, Pakistan had a marvelous tour of India and WI. Pakistan had also courage to kick all super stars after world cup 2003. Can India do the same? I really doubt it now.
Agreed.
As for the “Pakistan having a marvelous tour of India”, I will only say that Gangu’s contribution(or the lack of it) in Pakistan being able to DRAW the test series should not be forgotten. Thanks to Gangu, Indian was playing 1 batsman short through out the series (and it esp had an impact in the 3rd test). However, I will concede that India were thoroughly outplayed in the One day Series - Gangu or no Gangu…and I have no doubts that India will be throroughly outplayed again if there was an Indo-Pak one day series played today.
a valid question indeed. I agree. It is amazing though that no one in the press has raised this question which forces me to believe that Dalmiya must have some sort of legal position with BCCI which allows him to sit in these meetings. isn’t he the Patron or something?
It really is a mind boggling decision. But Ganguly has been given a yellow card in my opinion. If he doesnt shape up, he will be shipped out after one series. That I am quite sure of.
^The outcome of the meeting was kind of expected.
The BCCI is due for elections...and also the selection committee has almost finished its term ...so nobody has any real authority to take any long-term impacting decision. Also, by virtue of Mahendra being Dalmiya's protege, it was a done deal that Ganguly would be left unharmed. But the moron(Mahendra) had the audacity to accuse Greg Chappel (during the Press Conference) of incorrectly stating (which is the same as lying) about Ganguly's fake injuries.
As for Dalmiya, he takes his title of "Boss Of Indian Cricket" very seriously....even though his current official position is limited to President of Bengal Cricket Association.
I hope these guys are wiped out after the elections even though the alternative (Sharad Pawar & Co) is not exactly very inspiring and unpolitical.
I recommed the following column by Prem Panicker(Rediff) :
I think we should just make Anshuman Gaekwad/Ashok Malhotra (or some other pot-bellied mediocre ex-player) the coach of the team, do away with sports psychologists, fitness experts etc and start playing cricket the way it used to be played earlier - Desi Style.
Why are you copying my post from previous page.
You jaggu…
PS: ( In my dictionary Jaggu means ******* :D)
^F&B, I just read your posts on the previous page. Darn , great people think alike , I guess !!
btw, is there anything in Ganguly's body language that suggests the word "fitness" to you. I am inclined to believe Chappel every bit about Gangu. I mean he has no axe to grind with Gangu. In fact it has been said that Gangu helped in Chappel's selection as Coach. There is no personal reason for Chappel to hate Gangu. So what is the problem with people not believing Chappel.
I mean Azharuddin (for all his faults) at least never compromised on his fitness/agility and look at Gangu. Have you seen Gangu bowling. He runs as if he urgently needs to go to potty.
Yep..It is all politics my friend. I do not doubt a single word written on that email by Chappel and I know majority of the supporter( Except hardcore bengalis) feel same way.
Gangu was never a fit player but atleast in past he compensated by his batting.
^ Correct. The problem with us Desis is that we tend to view the world with our Desi lens.
We see "ulterior motives" in everything. As I have said before, any sane person could tell that Ganguly should have been dropped (I mean he playing at the expense of in-form Kaif - who is also a brilliant fielder by the way - made no sense). What was wrong with Chappel communicating the same to the Board.
Like Manjrekar said in his article, Chappel comes from a country where players like Bevan, Mark Taylor and now Martyn are dropped in their prime when required .....and here in India we are making so much hue and cry over a player who has done absolutely nothing on the field for 2 years....plus lacks fitness.
I think, players have become bigger than the game itself in India.
sumone, its marketing and flow of $$ that has started showing its roots that have grown so deep over the ten year time.
Remember India is bringing 60% of the revune into cricket.
First of all board is pro Dalmiyah-Ganguly. Even if it was not, they will think 100 times before sacking Dada as it might turn into an abrupt situation in Bengal and its regional cricket board.
^Ganguly is gone...no matter which way you look at it.
If the defeat of Dalmiya Camp in the impending election does not do it for Ganguly, his own performance on the field will (I don't believe Gangu has the mental toughness to handle the enormous pressure that will be on him now to show results on the field).
So Gangu is gone as far as I am concerned....I am just concerned about Chappel staying and being given a free hand to build the team.
So true..I am concerned about Chappel becoming totally uninterested and then leave or wait for his contract to expire. That would be terrible.
I really think chappel has very good intentions and want to proof himself as a very successfull coach in a cricket crazy nation.
We think so much alike. but cant believe you are a BJP voter. :p you are smarter than that. :rotfl:
and yes, you are so right. azhar was super fit and as a matter of fact i was reading azhar’s interview yesterday and the reporter revealed that azhar still goes through an extremely grueling fitness schedule even today. And look at this idiot ganguly.
Some1 and F&B, I can feel your pain. I used to feel the same way when some brainless idiots used to play with the emotions of whole nation in Pakistan. The biggest criminal was sattaybazz Wasim Akram who destroyed the career of so many followed by paindoo salim malik and milk-seller Ijaz ahmed. God…those black days……thanks god those days are gone and now it is time to sit and enjoy indians’ plight.
^It will be interesting to see where Harbhajan Singh stands in all this.
Ganguly cannot afford to show too much affection for him now (since Gangu-Bhajju love affair is public knowledge now) and Chappel ofcourse , must already have "special" plans for him.
Bechaara Bhajju...and if the Dungarpur Camp wins the elections...the "chucker" singh will be history.
Man...this is gonna be just too entertaining.........who wants to watch any Indo-Pak matches anymore when there is so much going on outside the field.
music
Sardar ka phat gaya dhol..beech bajaria gaanda gol ...
music
can you guys imagine how stupid sardar is :):)...I mean come on....why wud someone open his mouth in these circumstances but sardar jee did :D........
there has to be reason why people make fun of sardars.....they are real Ullu Kay Pathay. Chappel gonna treat him with special love from now on....