GRE in PAKISTAN

mera nai dil kerta parhnay warhnay ka, na gre dene ka :(

Today’s list

Laudatory: Praising.
Lionize: To treat as a celebrity.
Loquacious: talkative; garrulous.
Lugubrious: Mournful; very sad.
Maladroit: Clumsy; awkward; bungling.
Malleable: Yielding; amenable; adapting.
Mellifluous: Flowing sweetly (said of words)
Mendicant: A Beggar.
Misanthropy: hatred or distrust of people.
Mitigate: To alleviate; to relieve; to soften.

Fatal bhai no!!
The answer is 12000…
Firstly you should understand that of a whole if 40 % is 8000 than 60 % would be more than 8000. 16000 would tell you that one third of the people overeat but we know 40 % overeat so C is wrong as D is > than C so D is also wrong so C is the correct answer , look you don’t even need maths for it.

So fatal you don’t get a sweet today.::bailan:

*Originally posted by irem: *
mera nai dil kerta parhnay warhnay ka, na gre dene ka :(

App tou jungle ki mharaani hain....

Mehnat tou mujh jaisay aur fatal jaisay khaksaroon ko karni partee hai..:)

Pakora thanks lekin koi bhee nai…mein kahan se mahrani ban gai and u and fatalist arent any khaaksaars either, u guys r more talented than me im sure of that…

kaash aisa hota k mujhay koi zaroorat nai hoti mehnat karne kee par aisi koi baat nai hae…i mean, most of the words in the analogies, i did not even know their meanings i had to look them up from webster.com…and ive completely forgotten the math i havent touched that since high school…my preparation is near zero and my motivation is in the negative scale :hehe:

baaki jo mere doosre weakpoints haen which r gona play a major role in my grad school admission process…un ko idhar toh khayr nai bayaan kar sakti but believe me…i am not in so good of a position as u might think :smiley: :frowning: i mean Allah ka laakh laakh shukar hae i went to stanford for undergrad and to this day i am still wondering how actually i got in :hehe: but believe me just becoz i went there it doesnt mean i am super smart or that its all going to be smooth sailing for me from here on…mere raastay mein utni hi rukavtein haen, if not more, than anyone else’s :smiley: lekin alhamdulillah…bas Allah behtar karay ga inshallah for u guys and for me.. :slight_smile:

anyways…will try to be back in this thread soon.. :slight_smile:

wasalam
irem

Today’s list……

Mnemonic: Assisting the memory.
Morose: Gloomy; sullen.
Motility: The quality of having the inherent power of motion.
Multifarious: Characterized by great variety or diversity.
Munificence: The quality of being extremely generous.
Nadir: The lowest point: The time of great depression.
Nefarious: wicked; vile.
Nexus: A connection, tie, or link.
Noisome: Noxious to health; harmful; hurtful.
Obdurate: Hardened and unrepentant; stubborn; inflexible.

Irem don’t mind me ….I am just jealous…:)

lo ji

jealous us se hua jata hae jis k andar koi khoobi ho…mere andar toh aisi koi khoobi bhee nai k koi muj se jealous ho then why r u jealous?

if u knew my halaat u would be far from jealous trust me u dont want to be in my shoes :smiley: kaafi ghamgeen halaat-e-zindagi haen mere filhaal..

khair alhamdulillah…shudnt complain…

anyways…ok now plz dont be jealous anymore :bummer: :frowning:

yeah true that :k: main to mar gaya hoon, or ab GRE ki tension :smack:

ooops :hehe: sorry i overlooked the question, yeah you are absolutely right :teary1:

meet ur fellow murda then fatalist :bummer: meri bhee mot aa chuki hae :teary1:

Today’s List…..

Obfuscate: To darken; to obscure; to muddle.
Obstreperous: Noisy; Vociferous.
Officious: Unnecessarily accommodating; meddlesome.
Ossify: To settle or fix rigidly in a practice; To become bone.
Paean: A song of praise and triumph.
Palliate: To make some crime appear less serious then it is; to alleviate; to ease.
Panegyric: A formal speech of praise; a eulogy.
Paradigm: A pattern; an example; a model.
Paradox: a statement that seems contradictory.
Pariah: An outcast; someone despised and rejected.(urdu) :D

Soon I am going to make the preparation VERY interesting …(I have some ideas) . The thing I wanted to elucidate or clarify right now is….
That whatever happens in other forums, for e.g we are fighting like cats and dogs among each other on different issues … We shall not carry that baggage here . HERE we are just mates trying to learn…
AGREED!

I am sorry for my absence the thread is not dead, I was suffering from “mood swings”.

Here is the Contd. List….

Paucity: Dearth; Scarcity; Lack.
Pedagogy: The profession or function of teaching.
Pellucid: Transparent; easy to understand
Peregrination: Travelling from one country to the other; Wanderer.
Perfidious: violating good faith; proceeding from treachery.
Perfunctory: Performed without care or interest; Automatic.
Petrous: Like a rock; Stony; hard.
Petulant: Impatient or irritable.
Phlegmatic: sluggish; dull; apathetic;
Pillory: To punish; To hold up to public scorn.

List 2 …
Piquant: Agreeably pungent; stimulating.
Pique: Resentment at being slighted.
Placate: To appease or pacify:
Plethora: Overabundance; excess.
Precipitous: Literally very steep, by extension; hasty or rash.
Precocious: characterized by premature development. as a child who shows special talent earlier than usual.
Predilection: A preconceived liking; a preference.
Proclivity: A natural tendency to do something; an inclination.
Profuse: Poured forth; given or produced freely;
Proliferate: To reproduce in quick succession.
Prolix: Long and wordy.

Pakora...If I go over almost all the vocab lists taht you have been posting lately, how many chances are that some of these words might be on the exam?

I haven't studied at all and taking my GRE in two weeks.. what should I do.. should I just take or reschedule it?

I am soooo upset :(

I just need some quick tips and tricks to do well on this test since I have never done good in standerized tests..NEVER :(

I dun think if anybody has done this, so I 'll give it a try even though I am not positive about these, but I will just stay with my first answer choice. :-)

*Originally posted by Pakora: *
VACUUM : AIR ::
Invitation : Host.
Vacancy : Occupant.
Love : Passion.
Literacy : Writing.
Bait : Trap.<-------

BLAME : SCAPEGOAT ::
Explain : Answer.
Convict : Punishment.<------
Lionize : Hero
Appreciate : Art
Relate : Secret.

ANNEX : BUILDING ::
bedroom : Apartment.
Fountain : Park
Epilogue : Novel. <--------
Dinning Car : Train.
Memory : Computer.

if you guys don't mind I can share som word roots that could be used as a memory tool for the words that we dunno the meaning of.. lets try if noone find it helpful, I 'll quit posting it. :-)

A: Without

amoral: neither moral nor immoral.
atheist: one who doesn;t believe in God.
atypical: not typical
anonymous: of unknown origion
apathy: lack of interest or emotion.
atrophy: the wasting away of body tissue.
anomaly: an irregularity.
agnostic: one who questions the existence of God.

For example, The glob of paint resting on the canvas was rather amorphous.

AB/ABS: off, away, from, apart, down.

Abduct: to take by force.
Abhor: to hate
abolish: to do away with, make void.
abstract: conceived part from concrete realities.
abnormal: deviating from a standard.
abdicate: to renounce
abstinence: forbearance from any indulgence of appetite.
abstruse: hard to understand, secret, hidden.

For example, The behavior of Maurice, the painter, was so aberrant that the dealer felt compelled to not show his work.

GTG

i was having second thoughts abt applying to grad school...bas kya bataoon BOHOT SARAY issues haen...

and so i actually kinda stopped even thinking abt GRE's...

my ENTIRE preparation for GRE has been some words i learnt [till c] most of which i have forgotten...i havent touched math since high school...

i have a feeling im gona bomb the exam so bad...i havent even registered yet and have no idea when im taking it....im totally out of it...i dont even know which schools i should be applying to....

plus there are a TEN MILLION other issues worrying me which are interrelated to this whole situation...

UGH :(

anyways, girl, i suggest, just do the high frequency word list...practice the math...and just practice as many test questions as u can...

if you can reschedule it then why dontcha to the latest date you can afford to take it?

anyways, besta luck

:flower1:

wana galay mil k cry???

:crying:

:crying:

i dont know if its possible for someone to be more upset than i am yaar … and trust me GRE is just a small part of my problems :bummer:

theres SOOO many issues :crying:

man… :----(

hmmm..khair…

GRE is not that bad…two weeks is ok time…even if u cant reschedule…and since u r applyin to the same school for masters from what i recall i think u shud be ok inshallah…just focus now and take it easy :k: inshallah u’ll be ok

:slight_smile: