GRE in PAKISTAN

OK guys

salamz

ive never taken a real computer based test before in my life. and i need to take the GRE soon, like within this month INSHALLAH otherwise im DEAD DEAD DEAD.

dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead dead

ive been dilly dallying with this but just today i actually seriously took out my books and decided IREM BAS BOHT HO GYA YOU CAN DO IT NOW JUS GET TO IT AND JUST DO IT.

i have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to have to

my friend who took the computer based GMAT in karachi was telling me that there was some construction going on on the floor above and when she told those ppl, they were like miss u have to take the test today, ignore the noise. WEIRD.

WEEEEEEEEEEEIIIIRRRRRRDDDDDDDDDDDD

after taking the test she contacted ETS abt this and they dint even cancel her test!

SUCCCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKSSSSSSSS

anyways, what IF the computer crashes while i’m taking the test? what IF the mouse starts behaving weird? what IF the electricity goes out? what IF what IF WHAT IF? you guys get me? like WHAT do i DO if something like this happens?

i know i’m being a BIT paranoid BUT this is important and i REALLY need to ACE this test INSHALLAH TAALA or else DIE.

i need to ace this test
INSHALLAH

those who’ve already taken the GRE’s in PAKISTAN can you plz shed some light on this? what was the attitude of ppl there? were they helpful? were the computers weird or good? what was the environment of the room? were there cooperative ETS personnel there supervising the process?

BTW are calculators allowed for the quantitative section and BTW is there a spell check utility for the analytical section?

can u take water and food inside? where do u do the working for the math section? do they give u pencils, rubbers, paper?

and i know you choose the correct answer and then click on CONFIRM ANSWER CHOICE and then NEXT QUESTION but WHAT IF you click on the wrong answer by mistake and then accidentally click on CONFIRM…???

AYIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII

i dont wana take this test :crying: :eek: :crying: :eek: :crying: :eek: :crying:

the ets test center ins isb is pretty nice, infact it's pretty cozy and quite, they even give you those ear plugs, but i didnt use those, it was just too quite, and to top that people there were friendly! it was a good exp, you should take the test at the ets test center of isb :p

FATALIST!

please TELL MEEEEEEE

1) what IF the computer crashes while i'm taking the test? what IF the mouse starts behaving weird? what IF the electricity goes out? what IF what IF WHAT IF? you guys get me? like WHAT do i DO if something like this happens?

2) BTW are calculators allowed for the quantitative section and BTW is there a spell check utility for the analytical section?

3) were the computers weird or good?

4) were there cooperative ETS personnel there supervising the process?

5) can u take water and food inside? where do u do the working for the math section? do they give u pencils, rubbers, paper?

lastly but not leastly:

1) you just call Malaysia latest three working days before the test and register for the test right?

2) did you handwrite or computer type your analytical section essays?

3) when did you take the test

4) what was ur score ?

5) how did u study for it?

6) do u have other tips?

and was the monitor screen big enough? i cant work on those small 14/15 inch screens!!!

1) what IF the computer crashes while i'm taking the test? what IF the mouse starts behaving weird? what IF the electricity goes out? what IF what IF WHAT IF? you guys get me? like WHAT do i DO if something like this happens?

** if you compter crasher or other some other power problems occur, you can contact the ets personnel there, that's what they told me, just raise your hand to get their attention, they are watching from out side throuh a big glass window **

2) BTW are calculators allowed for the quantitative section and BTW is there a spell check utility for the analytical section?

** no calculators, no spell check utility **

3) were the computers weird or good?
** they were branded compaq computer, about 600 Mhz, were ok, sufficent for the test taking needs**

4) were there cooperative ETS personnel there supervising the process?
*yeah *

5) can u take water and food inside? where do u do the working for the math section? do they give u pencils, rubbers, paper?
** you can not take food or water inside, they provide you lockers, you need to put all your stuff there, only your id card, passport should be with you, yeah they give u stationay pencils, rubber, rough paper etc **

lastly but not leastly:

1) you just call Malaysia latest three working days before the test and register for the test right?
not sure, but call as early as possible, i faxed em and got confirmation email next day

2) did you handwrite or computer type your analytical section essays?
i took toefl, and i typed it

3) when did you take the test
july 2004

4) what was ur score ?
** on toelf it was 270 out of 300 :D, on gre i hope to get 85 % or more :D **

5) how did u study for it?
** for toelf ? i didn't just akhree raat ko parha tha :D, haan gre ki kafi tayaree ho rahee hay**

6) do u have other tips?
** for gre time management is very important **

it was 17 inch monitor

tauba hai irem, phir saari posts repeat keroon kya? :hoonh:

acha baad mai ker doon gaa, stop being paranoid. Nothing will crash. Ab aisi bhi lit nai machi huee..

fatalist has answered everything very well. Just one thing I'd like to add irem is that please dont worry or think about logistics. You should concentrate on exam and that should be it. If u concentrate too much on what ifs, ur tayari will definitely be hampered. Good luck.

thanks for replying guys :)

ahem… Irem, when should i start testing you on those 500 words?

:smiley: :devil: :smiley:

nadz

im having second thoughts abt grad school now looking at that word list :hehe:

Re: GRE in PAKISTAN

:rotfl: x100000000000000000000

has has kay pagal hoying

Re: Re: GRE in PAKISTAN

fatalist zada na haso :mad: daanT bahar nikal k gir jayein ge :stuck_out_tongue:

temi tum kidhar ho wordlist mein…aaj mein c se g par pohonch gai :rotato: subha se beth k ratta laga rai thee :rotato: inshallah raat tak bilkul pakka kar loon gi g tak :rotato:

Best Of Luck Irem for your test
I should quote the nike motto here "JUST DO IT"
Also nice answers by fatalist. Someone said "You could find plenty of support if you ask the right questions & ask them to the right people!"
Irem be bold while you take the test. "Courage is doing what you're afraid to do. There can be no courage unless you're scared."
Ralph Waldo Emerson said 'No one can cheat you out of ultimate success but yourselves.' You can do it and you must do it. With confidence, you can reach truly amazing heights; without
confidence, even the simplest accomplishments are beyond your
grasp.

Some links to help in your exam.

http://www.librarysupportstaff.com/ed4you.html#gretests
http://www.petersons.com/testprepchannel/graduate_entrance.asp

http://www.800score.com/gre-index.html

One of the most helpful things for giving a online exam is getting a GRE exam CD and giving mock exams on your computer. Dont be hasty in writing the exams, prepare for a month with atleast 3-4 mock exams and then go for it. Should get above 1350 out of 1600, atleast.

irfan85 thanks :k:

Surya, hey, thank you thanks a lot :slight_smile:

ds :teary2: join the club :crying: lekin bas ab roz-e-mehshar kafi kareeb aa gya hae :bummer: ab kuch karna hi paray ga :S Allah hamein naik hidayat de aameen!!!

Irem I was planning to start a similar thread , but something on the lines of "preparing for GRE"

I need allot of help in the verbal section, word lists etc.

Why not I type ten words a day and you and I have to use those words on GS in any forum or thread we like.....

enjoyment bhi aur parhai bhee

Mods: Flooding Alert!

Here are the first 10 words….

1. Abeyance : Temporary suspension of function and activity .
  2. Abrogate: To repeal, annul or abolish an authoritative act.
  3. Abstemious: Refraining from pleasure .
  4. Abstruse: Difficult to comprehend: Obscure.
  5. Alacrity: Cheerfulness; a readiness or promptness to act.
  6. Alloy: Reduce the purity of a metal.
  7. Amalgamate: To mix blend.
  8. Ameliorate: To improve or make better.
  9. Anachronistic: Erroneous in date.
  10. Anomalous: unexpected; Deviating from the general rule.

Pakora are you taking your GRE’s too? when?

i guess that makes 4 of us on GS:

Pakora
fatalist
Ira
irem

here’s a thread abt GRE prep, its got a lot of useful info:

http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=165187

sure, we can do this words thing if you want, u r not the only one who is weak in vocab, im very weak in that too :S

plus i havent even touched the math…woh bhee kerni hae mein ne :S

the majors i am applying for ive been advised i shud concentrate on the analytical and math n not spend too much energy learning the verbal words coz they dont look at the verbal scores that much for those majors…which major r u applying for? maybe u shud also check how important verbal is for that..and if its worth spending so much time on that..coz analytical and math need some serious pratice

im planning to take GRE inshallah by mid nov…thats the latest i can take it coz im applying for the fall '05 session .. so im thinking now if i shud at all even attempt to learn all the words…i thought i had learnt the words till g..but i only know them properly till c…and i am using the barron’s 3500 wordlist…(which one r u using from which u’ve posted the above words?) princeton’s review has got a shorter wordlist..

ideally INSHALLAH [maybe this is too ambitious] but i do want to learn all these 3500 words.. but everytime i sit with the list i start falling asleep

khayr i know all the A words already..im done till C…what abt u? u r still on A rite? and u want to do 10 words per day? with the time i have left i need to do atleast ummm i think like hmmm 100 words a day :S

so let me know how u think u wana go abt it k

and yah good luck preparing!!! :slight_smile:

*Originally posted by Pakora: *
Here are the first 10 words….

1. Abeyance : Temporary suspension of function and activity .
  2. Abrogate: To repeal, annul or abolish an authoritative act.
  3. Abstemious: Refraining from pleasure .
  4. Abstruse: Difficult to comprehend: Obscure.
  5. Alacrity: Cheerfulness; a readiness or promptness to act.
  6. Alloy: Reduce the purity of a metal.
  7. Amalgamate: To mix blend.
  8. Ameliorate: To improve or make better.
  9. Anachronistic: Erroneous in date.
  10. Anomalous: unexpected; Deviating from the general rule. [/QUOTE]

ok, as u said, sentences

[we cant look at the meaning before making the sentence]

Our GRE preparation is in abeyance.

I hope Musharraf doesnt abrogate the constitution.

Nuns are abstemious, they stay away from evil things.

Physics is an abstruse subject, I usually don't understand it.

A person who is full of alacrity and cheerfulness is always liked by others.

I think brass is an alloy of iron and copper but I could be wrong.

If we amalgamate the resources of all our provinces our country can surely make wonderful progress.

I hope this exercise will ameliorate our GRE scores!

Anachronistic * The thinking of Einstein was anachronistic because he was born in the olden days and his thoughts matched those of the modern world. [Is this correct usage of anachronistic?]

It is anomalous that I should be studying on gupshup but I guess desperate times call for desperte measures!

OK now your turn :)*

^^

and yah as u said u can post the sentences in whichever thread u want whichever forum, i jus decided to post mine here