hatch: hold <---
basement: attic

CHOREOGRAPHY: DANCE
ceremony: sermon
agenda: advertisement
poetry: recitation
instrumentation: conductor <--
plot: story

fatalist, have u registered for the GRE yet? when r u taking it?

r u also taking GRE subject tests?

Hummm……

Sheet: Mattress

Hammer : Carpenter

Limousine : Automobile

Hatch : Hold

Poetry : recitation

oohhh Iss baar tou fatal sahab bhi shamil hain?

Lists….

Conundrum : A perplexing question; a riddle.
Countenance: To Favour; to approve; Support.
Craven: Cowardly; base.
Daunt: To frighten or intimidate.
Dearth: Scarcity; Lack.
Debacle: A break up; an overthrow; a sudden great disaster.
Demur: To hesitate; To take exception; Object.
Denouement: The outcome; The solution; The unravelling of a plot.
Desiccate: To dry completely; To preserve by drying.
Desuetude: The cessation of use; Disuse.

List 2

Desultory: Random; passing from one thing to another in a random way.
Detumescence: Diminution of swelling.
Diaphanous: Transparent or translucent, gauzy.
Diffidence: Modesty; humility; Self Doubt.
Dilatory: Causing Delay; Procrastination.
Disingenuousness: Insincerity; Cunning; Craftiness.
Disparage: To Belittle; to show disrespect for.
Dissemble: To hide; To conceal; to disguise.
Dissolute: Lose in behaviour and morals; lewd; debauched.
Divestiture: The deprivation of ranks; rights; the stripping of arms/clothing.

answers

TABLECLOTH :TABLE
sheet: mattress

CANVAS: PAINTER
marble : sculptor

MANSION: RESIDENCE
limousine: automobile

DOOR: ROOM
hatch: hold

CHOREOGRAPHY: DANCE
plot: story

good job guys :k:

1) Conundrum : A perplexing question; a riddle.

Life is a conundrum which I still haven't figured out.

2) Countenance: To Favour; to approve; Support.

Her parents countenanced all her negative actions because of which she never learnt what's right.

3) Craven: Cowardly; base.

His craven efforts to bully his juniors are worthy of punishment.

4) Daunt: To frighten or intimidate.

Neither bullets nor bombs daunted our brave soldiers.

5) Dearth: Scarcity; Lack.

There is no dearth of human resources and talent in our country, it is material resources that we lack.

6) Debacle: A break up; an overthrow; a sudden great disaster.

The fall of Dhaka in 1971 was the biggest debacle in the history of Pakistan.

7) Demur: To hesitate; To take exception; Object.

She demurred to let her friend cheat off her on the exam.

8) Denouement: The outcome; The solution; The unravelling of a plot.

The denoument of this drama must be a happy one!

9) Desiccate: To dry completely; To preserve by drying.

Desiccate the meat and add spices to it before storing it.

10) Desuetude: The cessation of use; Disuse.

The desuetude of her ancestors' property saddenned her.

List 2

11) Desultory: Random; passing from one thing to another in a random way.

Her desultory glance at the clothes in the showed that she would take a long time to pick her outfit.

12) Detumescence: Diminution of swelling.

The detumescence of the boil on your cheek is a positive sign which shows you are healing.

13) Diaphanous: Transparent or translucent, gauzy.

These diaphanous curtains will not shield the house from outside view.

14) Diffidence: Modesty; humility; Self Doubt.

Her diffidence and politeness are her most endearing traits.

15) Dilatory: Causing Delay; Procrastination.

Getting up for snacks while studying is a dilatory practice.

16) Disingenuousness: Insincerity; Cunning; Craftiness.

The disingenuousness of the seemingly innocent girl is quite disappointing.

17) Disparage: To Belittle; to show disrespect for.

Do not disparage her efforts, she is atleast trying.

18) Dissemble: To hide; To conceal; to disguise.

Lets dissemble the ecidence before the police are here.

19) Dissolute: Lose in behaviour and morals; lewd; debauched.

I pray to God that I never become dissolute but sometimes I wonder if I already am.

20) Divestiture: The deprivation of ranks; rights; the stripping of arms/clothing.

The divestiture of their son from his high post in the military was a matter of great embarrassment for them.

EVAPORATE: VAPOR
petrify:stone
centrifuge:liquid
saturate:fluid
corrode:acid
incinerate:fire

ASSUAGE:SORROW
retaliate:antipathy
dampen:ardor
entrust:reliability
counsel:reluctance
withhold:appreciation

NUMB:INSENSIBLE
reflect:luminous
burnish:lustrous
heckle:raucous
repulse: odious
braid:sinuous

AUDACIOUS:TREPIDATION
refractory:intransigence
laconic:volubility
sordid:aspiration
cursory:accumulation
derisive:subordination

Originally posted by irem: *
**fatalist
*, have u registered for the GRE yet? when r u taking it?

r u also taking GRE subject tests?

what is GRE ?

^^ :rotfl:

*Originally posted by fatalist: *

what is GRE ?

i think its... umm... gujranwala railgaddi express ?

p.s. hansi nai ai :p sahi batao ab, when r u taking them :D

Today’s list ONLY 10 words…

Doggerel: Trivial; poorly constructed verse.
Dogmatic: Arrogant; dictatorial; authoritative.
Ductility: The quality of being easily moulded.
Dulcet: Melodious; Harmonious.
Eclectic: Composed of material collected together from different places and fields.
Efficacious: Effective; Capable of producing the desired result.
Effluvia: An overflow in the form of vapours or invisible particles.
Effrontery: Boldness; impudence.
Empirical: Based solely on experiments or experience.
Emulate: To compete with successfully; to strive for equality.

Thanks irem for the answers …
But I just want to point out that I made a mistake by typing carpenter: hammer , I knew it was the wrong answer , If it would be painter : Paintbrush then that would be the appropriate answer, the correct answer was sculptor :marble …But damn me I typed something else …(that’s the difference between me (the average lot ) and You (the clever lot) socha kuch aur likha kuch)

Acha I think poetry and recitation was the right answer, Because …
“DDLJ had beautiful dance routines the choreography was just superb.
“ Her poetry was beautiful it was well recited”
A story is based on a plot… but plot is not the only thing a story is based on…nevertheless the only kind of recitation is not poetry? :confused:

Nah nahi I am wrong again :mad2:

So this time I am trying a different approach.

EVAPORATE: VAPOR
petrify : stone
centrifuge : liquid
saturate : fluid
corrode : acid
incinerate : fire------->

ASSUAGE : SORROW
retaliate : antipathy
dampen : ardour ------->
entrust : reliability
counsel : reluctance
withhold : appreciation

NUMB : INSENSIBLE
reflect : luminous
burnish : lustrous
heckle : raucous
repulse : odious --->
braid : sinuous

AUDACIOUS:TREPIDATION
refractory : intransigence ---->
laconic : volubility
sordid : aspiration
cursory : accumulation
derisive : subordination

I think all are wrong , 39% of the words had to be seen from the dictionary, they are quite difficult.BTW: I have been preparing since 5 days only :D

I registered for GRE today and going to take it on November 15th.. haven't opened the book yet.. please give me some short cuts or any suggestions that can help me to study for this exam. How to get these vocab words sealed in my memory?? can;t think of anything straight. :(

ps: I guess I can only study on weekends for GRE due to my hectic schedule during the weekdays.. is it a wise choice or should I study for it almost every day?

*Originally posted by irem: *

i think its... umm... gujranwala railgaddi express ?

p.s. hansi nai ai :p sahi batao ab, when r u taking them :D

i talked to my univ cs dept dean about 4/5 months ago and he advised me to go for the cs subject test, he thaught it would be easier plus will increase admission chances and help me later as well when i go for ( if ) phd :(

but i didnt follow his advice and i'm so stupid.

gre registration? hmm probably in november or may be even december, i have abandoned the idea of applying for any us universities this year,

inshaAllah i'll nail it by then hopefully :'(

GTG I think the best way is to use the words on gupshup, Better still if you use the words to debase or disparage someone on GS . This way you will surely remember the words . I know the process is quite contentious but its worth it. Be sure the guppys that you squabble with are good friends and know that you are doing this just to perk up on your GRE skills. The denouement would be great GRE scores. :k:

Todays list...

Enervate: To weaken; to enfeeble.
Enigma: A puzzle; a perplexing statement.
Ephemeral: short lived; transitory.
Epitome: A part or thing that is the representative of the whole; a brief summary or abstract.
Equanimity: Evenness of mind; calm; composure.
Equivocate: To make vague statements; to mislead intentionally by making an ambiguous remark.
Erudite: Learned; scholarly.
Euphoric: Feeling well; buoyant; vigorous.
Evince: To show clearly; to indicate; to manifest.
Excoriate: To flay; strip; or scratch; to denounce strongly.

Very easy math question , I answered it in half a minute.:D

Q:-$2000 is deposited into a saving account that earns interest at the rate of 10 percent per year, compounded semi-annually. How much money will there be in the account at the end of one ear.
A. $2105
B. $2200
C. $2205
D. $2300
E. $2310.