GRE in PAKISTAN

btw guys, i wanted to let u know that i might be, not sure but i might be decreasing my coming on this site during Ramzan, im not even sure if i will come here during Ramzan so i am not sure if i can keep this up daily during Ramzan. im trying to cut down on my addiction and am hoping maybe staying away in Ramzan will do the trick. not sure though if im gona go ahead with that. but jus wanted to let u know in advance.

-irem

How come you are getting them right ???
Nowonder you got a scholarship to Stanford :mad:

:hehe: mehnat karein hasad na karein Pakora, waise my scholarship to stanford was a big fluke, i honestly dont think i deserved it, schol toh kya even the admission, but Allah ki mehrbani thee bas, He’s got some scheme and places us in places accordingly warna im quite average, not even being modest, its the truth

I will answer tomorrow…:wave:

Allah Hafiz, shab bakhair!

BTW: how did you reach to the “Write : Plagiarize” conclusion

That’s not the only relationship “Speak : Mumble” share?

Acha mujhay nend aa rahee hai…….:wave:

hmm i thought

• mumbling is kind of speaking
  • its not the opposite of speaking
  • its a weird kind of speaking though

and so if u think of this logic, then only Write : Plagiarize fit it

does that make sense? :S

mujhay neend kyun nai aa rai :crying:

ok ji Shab Bakhair :wave:

mealymouthed:talent

presenter:award

elaborate :sketchy

PS: Irem please pm me the answers, unlike you I have a big ego, and you wouldnt want to hurt that....

Bilge: A variant of bulge; The protuberance of a cask.
Blandishment: Flattery, enticement.
Breach: The act of breaking or state of being broken.
Broach: To open up, to mention a subject.
Burnish: To polish; especially by friction.
Cajole: To coax, to wheedle.
Calcify: To change into hard.
Calumniate: To slander; to accuse a person falsely.
Capitulate: To surrender, to give up, to stop resisting.
Capricious: Whimsical; fickle; changeable.

List 2…

Castigate: To chastise; to correct by punishing.
Chastened: Corrected; Punished.
Coda: A final passage in music, bringing a composition to a formal close.
Codicil: An appendix or supplement; an addition to a will.
Coeval: Of the same period; existing at the same time.
Cognizant: Having knowledge of something.
Conjoin: To join together.
Contemn: To scorn or despise.
Contentious: Argumentative, quarrelsome.
Contumacious: Insubordinate; rebellious; disobedient.

By the way irem I am giving, or preparing for GRE out of boredom :hehe: no ulterior motives no axe to grind. So if you don’t want to go ahead with it in Ramzan , its fine with me . :slight_smile:

FOREST: TREES
Fleet : ships
Lumber : wood
Rose : thorns
Shelf : books
Camera : film

RAMPART : FORTRESS
Bicycle : wheel
River : Lake
Cage : animal
Ladder : Roof
Fence : House

SCYTHE : REAPING

Screws : Turning
Crops : Planting
Lights : reading
Shears : Cutting
Saws : Gluing

MOISTEN : DRENCH
Pump : Replenish
Chill : Freeze
Deny : Pretend
Dance : Rejoice
Announce : Suppress

MAVERICK : STRAY
Hermit : Recluse
Expert : Ignorance
Trickster : Payment
Miser : Money
Rumour : Truth

Pakora

By the way irem I am giving, or preparing for GRE out of boredom no ulterior motives no axe to grind. So if you don’t want to go ahead with it in Ramzan , its fine with me <<

hmmm, i did not mean to say that u had an axe to grind or ulterior motive. why would i think that. jus due to some other reasons i was planning to reduce my time on gs and i thought maybe Ramzan was a good time to start doing that, i had already thought of that a couple weeks ago but anyway its not a finalised decision yet. i just dint want u guys to think ive gone back on my commitment even if a silent one so i wanted to mention my thoughts in advance :)

anyways...

hmm...ok, im gona pm u the answers since u asked, but i dont think there's anything to feel bad abt even if u get them wrong, we're all tryna learn here isnt it, wat does it matter if someone gets something wrong. plus if i post them here they'll benefit everyone isnt it.

anyways, here are my tries for these...

FOREST: TREES
Fleet : ships

RAMPART : FORTRESS
Fence : House

SCYTHE : REAPING
Shears : Cutting

MOISTEN : DRENCH
Chill : Freeze

MAVERICK : STRAY
Hermit : Recluse

thanks for taking the time to post in this thread, really appreciate it.

ima be back with the sentences and some new analogies in a bit inshallah :)

All are correct irem :mad3:

By axe to grind I dint mean you :slight_smile: Don’t take everything personally…
Challo choro dafa karo.

BTW: If you want to post the answers to your analogy questions you can :blush:..Be sure to include my pm too…

:hehe: ok koi toh khushi kee baat hui aaj k din mein :smiley: i feel like less of a bum

if its any consolation, i had to look up the meanings of the following words: maverick, scythe, rampart, fortress

thanks for agreeing abt posting the answers. here they r.

barefaced: shame
soldier: medal
elaborate: sketchy

HEADLONG: FORETHOUGHT
mealymouthed: talent
heartbroken: emotion
levelheaded: resolve
singlehanded: ambition

ATHELETE: TROPHY
detective: badge
presenter: award
better: stake
musician: instrument

ARTICULATE: UNCLEAR
assign: unencumbered
explain: lucid
grieve: somber
march: planned

and here is our pm exchange

dont worry with some practice u’ll get a hang of it, u have to figure out the most obvious relationship b/w the words and one that distinctly matches one of the choices

Pakora wrote on 10-12-2004 03:44 PM:
Presenter / broadcaster/ Tv presenter/ Newscaster/ anchor…..They also win awards..They have nominations… …Pata nahi…whatever.

irem wrote on 10-12-2004 11:36 PM:
hmmm

ur logic is correct but the answer u have given “presenter: award” also doesnt fit into that b/c a presenter GIVES [presents] an award, doesnt receive it. the athelete though always GETS the trophy.

soldier medal is correct b/c an athelete wins a trophy b/c of an accomplishment and a soldier wins a medal b/c of an accomplishment.

if u look at the choices below, only that seems to be correct.

ATHELETE: TROPHY
detective: badge
presenter: award
better: stake
musician: instrument

hope that makes sense

quote]
Pakora wrote on 10-12-2004 03:27 PM:
quote]
irem wrote on 10-12-2004 11:18 PM:
asak Pakora,

here are the correct answers:

/ quote]

how can soldier: medal be correct.

If you see the relationship between athelete: Trophy…

Ben johson ran the 100 meter race and stood first wining a trophy for his country.
Aziz bhatti sacrefised his life for his country getting the highest medal a soldier can get.

There is a clear difference between the two senntences .
A is about wining an event that will yield in 1 2 or 3 winning positions just like a presenters nominations where as sentence B is about showing chivilary in NO Specific Event and getting a award that is created just because of the persons actions (medal)???

What do You say ???
/ quote]
/ quote]
/ quote]

Irem isn’t forethought and headlong near opposites. If we make sentences of the two; The difference between the two is a decision taken after careful consideration and the other taken haphazardly..

So mealymouthed or a glib talker lacks talent …NO?!?!??!

BTW I haven’t checked the dictionary , I might have the meaning wrong :confused:

^^ No NO I get it its wrong :mad2:

Bilge: A variant of bulge; The protuberance of a cask.

The bilge of the titanic hit a glacier.

Blandishment: Flattery, enticement.

Blandishment of your teachers will get you only so far, diligence though will take you all the way to your destination.

Breach: The act of breaking or state of being broken.

her breach of contract was dishonorable because she went back on her word.

Broach: To open up, to mention a subject.

please broach that subject very carefully in front of her because she is sensitive to the issue.

Burnish: To polish; especially by friction.

i've burnished the lamp, you can now see your reflection in it.

Cajole: To coax, to wheedle.

i cajoled the little kid for hours but he still refused to eat any more porridge.

Calcify: To change into hard.

this chemical, if poured into that liquid, will calcify it.

Calumniate: To slander; to accuse a person falsely.

to calumniate someone and accuse them of acts they did not commit is a huge sin.

Capitulate: To surrender, to give up, to stop resisting.

she thought she had lost everything in life and she chose to just capitulate to her fate than build her future.

Capricious: Whimsical; fickle; changeable.

she can't be trusted because she's so capricious and moody.

Castigate: To chastise; to correct by punishing.

to castigate your own family members is not a good idea.

Chastened: Corrected; Punished.

the teacher chastened her students when they made mistakes.

Coda: A final passage in music, bringing a composition to a formal close.

she played the coda in her musical rendition so well that she got a standing ovation by the audience of her show.

Codicil: An appendix or supplement; an addition to a will.

The codicil that is attached to a will must be approved by a court of law.

Coeval: Of the same period; existing at the same time.

M. Arthur and D. John, were coeval historians, they lived in the same era although they inhabited different continents.

Cognizant: Having knowledge of something.

We are all congnizant of the fact that one day we have to answer for our good and bad deeds, yet we continue to commit bad deeds.

Conjoin: To join together.

Let's conjoin these two pieces of the jigsaw puzzle and see what shape it gives rise to.

Contemn: To scorn or despise.

Don't contemn the poor, its not their fault that they are less wealthy.

Contentious: Argumentative, quarrelsome.

This is a contentious issue so lets not discuss it, lest we start quarrelling.

Contumacious: Insubordinate; rebellious; disobedient.

The players in that team are so contumacious, they refuse to listen to their captain.*

Irem isn’t forethought and headlong near opposites. If we make sentences of the two; The difference between the two is a decision taken after careful consideration and the other taken haphazardly..

So mealymouthed or a glib talker lacks talent …NO?!?!??!

BTW I haven’t checked the dictionary , I might have the meaning wrong <<

Pakora,

u r right there,

i think u were unclear abt the exact meanig of mealymouthed tho thats why maybe u got this wrong

mealymouthed * means " not plain and straightforward : DEVIOUS "

[for convenience u can check meanings from webster.com ]

so a person who is mealymouthed doesnt exactly lack “talent” its more like they lack honesty

so barefaced: shame is a more direct match with HEADLONG: FORETHOUGHT

hope that makes sense*

Pakora im gona go to sleep i think.. shab bakhair, u shud sleep too :k:

Allah Hafiz

oops

jus occurred to me

i shud also post some analogies before i sleep

TABLECLOTH :TABLE
tent : ground
shirt: hanger
window: sill
sheet: mattress
cloud: earth

CANVAS: PAINTER
leather : shoe
brush : palette
chisel : wood
marble : sculptor
hammer: carpenter

MANSION: RESIDENCE
limousine: automobile
chandelier: candle
tuxedo: wardrobe
diamond: rhinestone
yacht: harbor

DOOR: ROOM
rudder: anchor
boat: ship
patio: terrace
hatch: hold
basement: attic

CHOREOGRAPHY: DANCE
ceremony: sermon
agenda: advertisement
poetry: recitation
instrumentation: conductor
plot: story

PAKORA im sorry i cant help u with that vocab list coz im not sure where u take them from otherwise i'd help u post the words too since right now u have to type em up by yrself, lemi know if we can take turns in that or something so u dont have to do all the work urself

ok, im gona go sleep :D Allah Hafiz