Chandbeti, yeah thats one way of looking at it, but thats also a limiting view in my opinion as people tend to think that the wedding day is the most memorable day. I tend to look at other moments as more precious and there's nothing saying that such more events will not arise in the future.
Maniac -- Given the fact that you don't feel the wedding day is the most important/memorable day, why not let the parents have it their way?
Sarah has nicely answered to Madhani below ur reply.. its not ur thread but Sarah's.. r u going to burst everytime some one doesnt agree with Sarah here? shes been posting here for a long time.. and this is a public forum..should we all have to go thru ur screening for repies to her threads.. we may not agree with what Madhani posts but each guppie has her/his own style.. and we r used to it.. for compalints there is a feedbak section or moderators and admins emails..
I expect my husband to stand up for me when someone speaks to me in an insulting manner. And you know what, it's flattering when he does it and I am infinitely glad that I have one who cares about me enough that he gets angry if someone speaks to me rudely. But not all wives are that lucky no? And it's SUCH an un-Pakistani guy trait to stand up for your wife. which is kinda sad don't you think?
^ are u kidding me? Pakistani guys are all about their ego - insult anything they feel "belongs" to them, and they go all emotional. Its usually the wife who has to hold her man back "acha jee, ab bhus".
Actually, it's mothers and sisters they are very protective about. Never seen that protectiveness for a wife. Why else would Degas say stuff like "don't compliment your wife", "dont's stand up for her", and something along the lines of it's not manly when actually a guy who doesn't repsect his wife enough to stand up for her is a wuss. And why else would so many guys here talk about women behind their wives backs? e.g. matsui and his kabooters. some respect.
Real men not only protect their wives, sisters and mothers BUT any woman who is being subjected to vulgar behavior. But to defend her from some dialogue she is having after posing a question is a bit under-estimating her.
I did a little give and take on my engagement. My parents wanted a HUGE party, I argued back and forth, it did not work, so I let them invite hundreds of people that I hardly knew, they were happy with that so be it. I did not want some stupid videowala giving me directions about holding my jhumka or looking sideways or whatever, so that was strictly a No no. I let them have a photographer take pics and that was the limit. I did not want heavy duty make up cuz I HATE wearing it just like you so I went for very basic evening make up. It wasn't bad but it did start itching after a couple of hours and I washed it off as soon as I got home :)
I am all for a simple wedding but I know it won't be so :) If it was up to me, I would go to the masjid and get married, but I realized it is more of my parents' day than my day (Kinda hard to swallow at times!)
Are you having your wedding in the US or Pak? If in the US, go to a Mac or Clinique counter to get your make up done. They keep it very simple cuz they do make up for proms. Don't go to a paindu Pakistani parlour, they turn you into a complete cartoon.
Yaar Sarah, you are mashallah one lucky girl to have got the person of your choice. How many parents are that easy going or that understanding. Isn't it enough that you got what you wanted. Though its not my place to say anything but since you are discusing the issue here, I would say, now your parents deserve to have their say and feel happy about it too.
I am sure, if you'll talk to your parents they'll listen to you and you can manoeuvre things here and there inorder to make your shadi more simple.
*Originally posted by Rukhsarbibi: *
I did a little give and take on my engagement. My parents wanted a HUGE party, I argued back and forth, it did not work, so I let them invite hundreds of people that I hardly knew, they were happy with that so be it. I did not want some stupid videowala giving me directions about holding my jhumka or looking sideways or whatever, so that was strictly a No no. I let them have a photographer take pics and that was the limit. I did not want heavy duty make up cuz I HATE wearing it just like you so I went for very basic evening make up. It wasn't bad but it did start itching after a couple of hours and I washed it off as soon as I got home :)
I am all for a simple wedding but I know it won't be so :) If it was up to me, I would go to the masjid and get married, but I realized it is more of my parents' day than my day (Kinda hard to swallow at times!)
Are you having your wedding in the US or Pak? If in the US, go to a Mac or Clinique counter to get your make up done. They keep it very simple cuz they do make up for proms. Don't go to a paindu Pakistani parlour, they turn you into a complete cartoon.
Rukhsar ...wanna see your "shadi wali" pic yaar.If you don't wanna post then PM me :)
I don't get it. What do parents have to do with planning the wedding? Its the most dumb tradition ever, and especially when the bride and groom are totally capable of taking care of things themselves.
The only wedding I ever really participated in was my cousin's wedding. My mom (her khala) and all the other khalas were dominating the scene. Its like - "DUDE, your time is UP. You're not the one getting married!"
And then of course I got a lecture from my mother afterwards.
*Originally posted by Sarah Splendor: *
Actually, it's mothers and sisters they are very protective about. Never seen that protectiveness for a wife. Why else would Degas say stuff like "don't compliment your wife", "dont's stand up for her", and something along the lines of it's not manly when actually a guy who doesn't repsect his wife enough to stand up for her is a wuss. And why else would so many guys here talk about women behind their wives backs? e.g. matsui and his kabooters. some respect.
changa gupshup does not represent the general population of pakistan :-) there are lot of guys out there who wud die for their wives. :-)