Gobble Gobble!

Oh yeah…its that time of year again :slight_smile:

So who’s making a turkey?

What’s your menu lookin’ like ladies?! :yummy:

We don’t do turkeys…apparently our taste buds have not changed so we’re roasting whole chickens!

BUT the rest of the menu is:

Stuffing
Mashed potatoes
Asparagus
Casserole
Cornbread
Salad (usually a pear, spinach and blueberry one)
Sometimes we do gravy sometimes we don’t
I’ll try cranberry sauce this year

By the way, Southern living has some amazing artery-clogging recipes that I would love to try!

Re: Gobble Gobble!

my niece is throwing a Christmas dinner for us at her place and yes Turkey will be served…not that i am a turkey lover! :smiley:

i’ll be more interested in the get together and playing with her adorable lil baby girl! :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Gobble Gobble!

Turkey- 15 lb
Roast Beef - 10lb
Roasted Chickens- 3
Mashed Potatoes
Sweet Potatoes
Mac N Cheese (homemade gourmet version)
Stuffing
Broccoli Rice & Cheese casserole
Green Bean Casserole
Deviled Eggs
Baked Squash Casserole
Green Salad
Cornbread
Dinner rolls
Cranberry chutney
Chilli
Various pies & cakes

(And the desi food will creep it’s way in there somewhere too :grumpy:)

We’ll have about 40-50 people all together this year…can’t wait for football & food!!! It’s my favorite time of the year :blush:

^ It’s a Texas thing Ya’ll :halo:
p.s: Damn you are a super woman mA :hug:

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…I love your menus!!!

Gobble Gobble!

Omg guys I’m not making it ALL by myself lol!!!

reha can you share how you make your asparagus I’ve never liked it the way I’ve made it so far

Khatti are you making the gourmet mac and cheese. If yes pls share tge recipe.

Yes I am. It’s my signature dish…requested every year. I follow Martha Stewart’s recipe…google Martha Stewart Mac n cheese 101…the secret is top quality cheeses…Gruyere is a must!

Thanksgiving? ASTAGFIRULLAH!!!

I kid I kid :frowning:

I’m not doing a thanksgiving dinner but I’m gettin gtogether with friends the day after…we’re calling it “Friendsgiving” :hehe: so it’ll be a potluck. I’m taking brownies. :@:

I love gruyere…love saying it too!!
khatti yaar please post pictures ok love :slight_smile:

My son’s school is having a fall feast, I am taking water bottles, peas and corn. i have made peas and corn caserole/bake and corn with bell pepper, onions, and feta cheese.

We will be at my parents house for the break. We will probably do some BBQ.

We aren’t huge turkey lovers so we’ll be having roasted chicken instead

along with:

mashed potatoes
casserole
mac and cheese
salad
biscuits
gravy
stuffing
and apple pie

I’m there!!! feed me

We are having our toddler’s birthday on Thanksgiving, menu is only half decided yet. Last year we did Turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberry sauce etc etc along with desi dishes. Here is a pic of turkey from last year, cut and mixed with vegetables ready to be eaten.

Happy Birthday to your kid…masha Allah! :slight_smile:

wow! looks so yum! ::yummy:

Thank you. :slight_smile:

Macaroni and Cheese, Recipe from Martha Stewart Living, January 2001

• tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, plus more for dish

• 6 slices good white bread, crusts removed, torn into 1/4- to 1/2-inch pieces

• 5 1/2 cups milk

• 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

• 2 teaspoons salt

• 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

• 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

• 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, or to taste

• 4 1/2 cups grated sharp white cheddar cheese (about 18 ounces)

• 2 cups grated Gruyere cheese (about 8 ounces) or 1 1/4 cups grated Pecorino Romano cheese (about 5 ounces)

• 1 pound elbow macaroni

• STEP 1Heat oven to 375 degrees. Butter a 3-quart casserole dish; set aside. Place bread in a medium bowl. In a small saucepan over medium heat, melt 2 tablespoons butter. Pour butter into bowl with bread, and toss. Set breadcrumbs aside.

• STEP 2In a medium saucepan set over medium heat, heat milk. Melt remaining 6 tablespoons butter in a high-sided skillet over medium heat. When butter bubbles, add flour. Cook, whisking, 1 minute.

• STEP 3While whisking, slowly pour in hot milk. Continue cooking, whisking constantly, until the mixture bubbles and becomes thick.

• STEP 4Remove pan from heat. Stir in salt, nutmeg, black pepper, cayenne pepper, 3 cups cheddar cheese, and 1 1/2 cups Gruyere or 1 cup Pecorino Romano; set cheese sauce aside.

• STEP 5Fill a large saucepan with water; bring to a boil. Add macaroni; cook 2 to 3 minutes less than manufacturer’s directions, until the outside of pasta is cooked and the inside is underdone. (Different brands of macaroni cook at different rates; be sure to read the instructions.) Transfer macaroni to a colander, rinse under cold running water, and drain well. Stir macaroni into the reserved cheese sauce

• STEP 6Pour mixture into prepared dish. Sprinkle remaining 1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup Gruyere or 1/4 cup Pecorino Romano, and breadcrumbs over top. Bake until browned on top, about 30 minutes. Transfer dish to a wire rack to cool 5 minutes; serve hot.

This is very decadent, so that’s it’s a once year only dish lol! Don’t skimp on the Gruyere! It’s what makes the dish! The nutmeg is important too…fresh is better. And the bread croutons are ammmazzzinnnng on top…omg my mouth is watering already!!!

Sweet Jesus…I went to bed last night thinking of gruyere and woke up to this…khatti your thread :teary1: :teary1: