Giving milk to groom (Doodh Pillai)

Re: giving milk to groom

no one can answer my question? fine, I'm not drinkin' it anyway...

you said it sister!

Without such rasm's I think our weddings wud be rather blah..imagine sitting n watching the bride n groom decked-up and then leaving :S

What is the logic behind the glass of milk? i mean why does the bride give groom glass of milk on wedding night, why isn't it other way around?

I agree, i think these rasams add color to our weddings, as long as they are done moderately and not with the intent to loot someone! :)

Ok, my sister is getting married soon INSHALLAH.

I understand about the money, but i wnat to know how to ask groom for money. I mean how do you start.

can anyone please tell me.

Thanks

in a joota churai?
well he's sitting there shoeless and you go up to him with your cousins and family etc., and you say something along the lines of, dude, you want your shoe? pay up!

^ lol

i dont have any sis........isliye my husband ki amount waste hony sy bach gaye

You sisters cannot give milk to your husband they are na mahram for him , only you can give milk to him that too afer nikah. Asking for money for such a gesture of love is plain and simple wrong. Think again.

concept of saali and dewar is na mehram is almost finished in our (so- called) muslims.
i wish ppl try to pick up the right path.

Sahi , sahi , so true. Ameen for your wish.

its a fun tradition, not an obligation! if he doesn’t want to play along, i’m sure he’ll request that before the wedding so her sisters and family know not to do so.
not everything has to be such a scandal just because its a muslim wedding :rolleyes:

I didn't know people collected in thousands! Between that, the jutha chupai, the finger, the entrance of the baraat, entering the bridal room after the ruksati, etcetcetc, the groom probably needs a loan!

^ don't you just pick one rasam and do that? we only had joota chuppai and other families i know only do doodh pillai.

They let the bride have a sip first, then the groom pays up to taste where her lips have been.

That's hot.

We almost always do the finger thing on the mehndi and the jootha usually too. The other things we haven't really done, though my cousins did do the dood thing for my hubby (they just teased a bit, no money as far as I recall). I don't like the stopping of the baraat. That gets too heated. And the post-ruksati is okay cuz it gives the groom's side a chance to collect :D

LOL Where was I?

well giving milk to the groom is kind of "sunnah"....

but it in the tradition giving milk to the groom aur phir uss se pehse mange bohat bhuuri rasm ho gey hai.

duniya bohat lalelij karti hai.

i think thori se "shararte" karna is really ok...but getting money for such things is more then haram.

u know our prophet says that nobody should raise his hand to demand somebody for money. u should just demand and ask Allah !

i have seen a lot of arabian weddings...and the groom and the bride "muu mitha karte hai kajoor aur dhuud ke saath"

issliye hamere rasul-e-pak bhi bohat pasand karte the...

i have seen a lot of wedding...where the little sis of the bride asked the groom such a fazool rakm...kohi karoorpathi to nehi hote saree...

aur phir fazool bateein...uth patangh masak .... thats not islamic and anymore of human... dulhan ka bhi kya kasoor...jab uss waqt se rishta ehse start hora hai...

thora sa mazaak karlo, hass lo....thats ok :)

just find the middle way !

Lol, I had forgotten all about this rasm and then reading this thread's title put some very weird and perverted images in my head.

I've seen it happening at weddings, and honestly, I think I'd be annoyed by it :|. I'll pay the kiddies enough to get them a few ice creams but I won't be doling out the Gs for any aunties.