girls-would you let your husband marry again or divorce him?

Re: girls-would you let your husband marry again or divorce him?

Good point again. Well understood women sacrifices and labours to build her home. Well then what about just just going for the physical aspect from the other women-maybe daytimes. If no reply, ill presume even just the physical presence with another apart from wife is equally hurtful they same way it would be to a man.

ALL IN ALL: I understand from your intelligent and educating post, is that a women is also a human and no toy, that totally and fully gives herself emotionaly, mentally and physically to a man and a marriages sake on nikah, the same way a man would, and they are also loving and possesive like men, so it is absolutly a major issue for a wife to tolerate another wife or physical partner beside them.
I dont believe in putting my future wife or anyone through such torture. I was unaware it was this commonly a big issue...well to make the burden lighter on my soul.....one must admit the religious concepts of 4 wives, 70 eavenly hoors, prophet & co's promiscuousness, religious literatures of mens attraction etc does making it look appealing and maybe understandeble to the other sex...

Inspite, its acknowledged, a man havingi an additional partner to his good wife, is extremly hurtful, and when one loves thier partner he should not do it.

Another question does come to mind though....How ye ladies then going to handle your husbands 70 heavely hoors.

...dont bash Nutwer...

:P:

Regardless. Nice and educating post K.

And Hareem, you just know your just saying what is ideal to say..I bet your personal feelings - which is what the thread is about, is the same as others.

Good Grief!!! Where is Janwar when a thread is in dire need of him?

He wants to marry again - means our marriage has gone to crap. In which case, I'd rather move on to another man myself. I'd leave him.

yeah right !!

Same here. If a man is asking me if he can have another wife, he has obviously lost interest and respect in me...so why would I stay with him.
We say having more than one wife is ok because it is allowed by Islam. What if Islam allowed women to have more than one husband instead? How many men would actually be okay with their wife looking for a second husband??? I would expect my husband to leave me after such a request.
Dont do to others what you dont want done to you

50 years ago women didnt care, if men took another wife. Now its all the monogamy hoo haa that has made women feel its a big thing.

While growing up back home, I actually had a neighbor who had 2 wives. Both the wives lived in the same house! Just like another poster wrote in her post....also in my neighbor's case one wife lived downstairs, and the other lived upstairs.

It wouldn't bother me if my husband was entertaining the idea of a 2nd wife. My SO makes comments about other women in front of me all the time and it doesn't bother me. Its unrealistic to think that my husband would not be attracted to other women. Its also unrealistic to think that I will not be attracted to other men. However, I remain 100% faithful to my SO and plan on remaining faithful to him once we're married. Despite his attraction to other women, I expect my SO/husband to be 100% faithful to me.

If my husband choose to take on a 2nd wife or cheated on me, I would divorce him. In addition, I work in the legal field so it wouldn't be difficult for me to tie him up in civil and criminal (since having a 2nd spouse is illegal in the U.S.) court for a few years. Quite a few states allow adultery to come into play when deciding division of property and child custody during a divorce. :) My husband will be broke and on the verge of a nervous breakdown by the time I'm done with him.

I wanted to comment on two things I read on this thread:

1) Someone mentioned what if my husband wanted to marry a woman to support her:

*** I'm ok with my husband supporting another woman financially if someone out there needs help. Heck he can support 10 other women if he wants. However, he doesn't need to have sex with a woman in order to support her!

2) Another thread mentioned that most women will not leave their husband despite saying they will:

*** I disagree. Most women raised in the West who are educated and financially independent will not put up sharing a husband with a 2nd wife. Most women in the West would also receive emotional support from their friends if they were to leave their husband since divorce is so common here. In fact, in the West, polygamy carries more stigma than a divorce. I can see this being tolerated mostly by women raised in the east....or by women who can not financially support herself and/or the children (if any).

Maybe the women cared or maybe they didn't. None of us know for a fact how women "felt" 50 years ago.

But we all know that 50 years ago, women didn't have the education/career opportunities they have today. In addition, being divorced was not socially acceptable 50 years ago (both desi and non desi communities). Not sure how things are today in Pakistan but at least here in the U.S., divorced women do have hope.

not really.

The Prophet himself showed that he was very happy in a monogamous marriage with Khadija to the point that he still missed her after her death and once he was married to others.

Now that's true love. It's totally a possible concept. For real men.

note to self: don't marry a lawyer. especially not a divorce lawyer.

thought they do make good coin. what to do, what to do...

Well said :k:

I know a couple of women who have accepted a sautan (husband’s second wife) and did not leave . But I don’t think women from our generation would tolerate a second woman and I feel they should not tolerate. Like what is above said that they have the right to be happy too. Many a times when children are involved and the woman is not educated enough and not financially strong so she continues to stay in that marriage in majboori.

i hope i never have to face such a thing. But if i had to, i dont think i could cope.

However, a lot of other things would come to mind as well.. munchkin. Would she be able to cope without a daddy in her life or with a daddy and another woman on the side. Too many questions.. too many emotions to juggle.

Exactly.

The hype is there. Anyone can see.

These days it would be very difficult for many many men to have multiple wives. Why look for multiple troubles...:D

Dil Ke Behlaane Ko Ghaalib Yeh Khayal Accha Hai

Hence, neither men are so keen in multiple marriages, nor women will actually leave men if their men marry again.

Oh just to add here..

As a general rule, even women will not respect men if those men feel OK with their women contemplating even the thoughts of other men to share their women...

Meaning, most women like men who are somewhat possesive and somewhat jealous. Makes them feel more secured. :)

men having more than one wife is extremely disgraceful. shame on all men with multiple wives. pigs

Ok so my dad's cousin in pakistan was married for 15 years to his wife. And all of a sudden 2 years ago thought hey I know let me get married again to another woman so he did. His two wives now live in the same house as him one in one room and one in the other. With his first wife he had 3 kids and now a child with his new wife. All that has come out of this marriage is hurt and anger. The women are daily arguing even have gone as far as breaking rooms in the home. The kids from the first marriage now resent their father and refuse to talk to him when he is there.

How would the men who take another wife feel if one day their daughter is married and her husband says hey I want to get married again. Would they stand by and watch someone treat their daughter like that?

I agree with Paheli most women are now educated and do not deserve to be treated in such a manner. A marriage is supposed to be a bond of trust and sacred between two people not for the husband to suddenly decide hey im bored i want another wife. How would the first wife feel knowing that her husband has just come to her from the bed of his next wife.

I asked my hubby on what his opinion is on this and he said any man who decides to bring another woman into his life to marry is not repecting the promise and honour that he offered to his first wife.

Its not necessary that anything that can be done (more than 1 marriages), should be done.

Woman have every right to take divorce if man is going for another marriage. If Islam gives "right" to have 4 wives, wife has right to divorce man too if she think she can not live with him anymore for whatever reason (and this whatever reason does not excludes, 2nd marriage)

I would not leave him initially. He is not the type to take responsibilities of household and all..I have been VERY patient with things and his kanjoosi and take care of everything now. Koi aur itni sabr wali ho hee nahin sakti :snooty: so, I would like to see doosri waali kya hashar karay gee :smiley: AND then he will realise my worth and THEN I will leave him ! :asa:

I usually tell him he should try having another wife so that he knows main kitni achi hoon and he says O BIBI, AIK HE KAAFI HAI ! :cb:

^ loll

hmmm… I don’t know what I’d do… I probably won’t leave him, will be hurt and angry and all. But I guess I’ll have to put up with it :bummer: Will have conditions for separate houses and all.
Allah yeh din na dikhaye :frowning: