yaa... my mom thinks she has to give my side of the family stuff too.. is tht true?
That's unnecessary, imo. But my mom is saying something similar- we will be having lots of out of town guests that we are renting a friend's house for. So we already will be paying for the rent, electricity bill, water bill, food expenses, & driving them around & showing them the city. My mom says we also have to get them all gifts to show our appreciation. OMG, I dont know where we will be coming up w/this $$$$$!!!!!
But it is getting expensive.. $200 for a gift for every person… wowwww no way I will let my mom do tht..
my neighbor (who is desi) told my mom to give gold karay and 5 suits to my MIL.. hmmm I m not tht fond of her anyways.. soo its not gonna happen.
I completely agree.. its sooo ridiculous!
OMG!! sameeee heree… our out of town guests should bring us gifts since we will be soo generous to them and take care of them and take them sight seeing.. but nooow we have to give them expensive gifts too?? WHTTT?? its soo annoying. I want all this wedding money and want to put it for a down payment for my house or something instead of spending on ppl i barely know..
We gave clothes to the dur k in-laws... And clothes with some extra stuff to MIL, SIL, FIL, BIL etc... but no Gold! There's no such tradition.. it just depends on u, what you like and what you want to do.
we got this special packing with our names on the packing (mine & hubby's)... we wrapped the suits in it. I made these flowers from card paper,made borders with the sequins, wrote names (in-laws) on them! People loved it.
Then My mum had a bag for my husband with clothes, tie, perfume set etc in it...
But there's no such tradition in our family except for the joday for the susraal... rest we did cz we wanted to!
But it is getting expensive.. $200 for a gift for every person... wowwww no way I will let my mom do tht..
my neighbor (who is desi) told my mom to give gold karay and 5 suits to my MIL.. hmmm I m not tht fond of her anyways.. soo its not gonna happen.
I hope your mom doesn't listen to this pathetic nosy neighbor of yours. lol. That is out of control.... gold karay and 5 suits?! toba....
WHTTT?? its soo annoying. I want all this wedding money and want to put it for a down payment for my house or something instead of spending on ppl i barely know..
100% agree. that is what our parents should spend money on ... if they have that extra money.
my cousin is extremely well off...and her mother just gave the inlaws one fancy suit each and a nice gold chain. thats it, she made it VERY clear that she would rather just give her daughter cash to spend on her new house rather than giving gold to random people. and it wasn't taken very nicely by the inlaws, but when they saw they couldn't do anything about it, they just accepted it:)
i think thats EXACTLY the way it should be done!
my mom is insisting tht she has to give my side of the family gifts too.. I thought I would b the only one receiving gifts :(
My Ammi is sayiing this same thing! So on top of all the tofay we are buying for my susural (which is very big MA but not a good thing when it comes to these type of things) we have to get tofay for my family also!!! Are you kidding me??? But she is like hum ko dena paragha and I dont want to argue with her so I just told her we can buy some acha magar susta sa kapra from Pakistan and just give everyone that same thing. I dont really know what else to do. Gold is so expensive and she wants to get something gold for Dadi, MIL and all 4 SIL's!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I cant seem to talk her outta it :(
We gave clothes to the dur k in-laws... And clothes with some extra stuff to MIL, SIL, FIL, BIL etc... but no Gold! There's no such tradition.. it just depends on u, what you like and what you want to do.
we got this special packing with our names on the packing (mine & hubby's)... we wrapped the suits in it. I made these flowers from card paper,made borders with the sequins, wrote names (in-laws) on them! People loved it.
Then My mum had a bag for my husband with clothes, tie, perfume set etc in it...
But there's no such tradition in our family except for the joday for the susraal... rest we did cz we wanted to!
Your wrapping sounds so pretty MA! Post pics if you can - I would love to see it. I bought all this christmas stuff which was on sale all gold and silver wrapping with these bows so I could wrap everything pretty for everyone.
You had packing with your & your hubby's name on it?? Ive never seen that - I would love to get that made!!!
we went shopping for clothes for gifts today and it got a bit costly in my opinion.. we bought clothes for 5 ppl and it was $1000.. and so far it is only one outfit each.. i dont c the point of spending sooo much on them when they will probably not buy me anything.
thats strange... well see wedding is such a beautiful even where 2 people are going to start their lives together... and everybody should be happy about it ... but people get judgemental...
i think we give away gifts coz we respect and appreciate people... and it shouldn't be imposed that you have to give expensive ones... just see what you can aford...
plus usually groom side does give "Bari" or some gifts to the bride atleast...
on my engagement my mother bought dresses, some makeup items and body care stuff shoes, etc... for my fiancee... and her parents bought me a suite, perfume etc... and on our wedding we are planning something similar... we are buying some things and making gift packs for her and her immediate family...
i was told kay in pakistan usually groom side dont give any gifts to bride's family... which i think is bit weird... there shouldn't be any burden or obligation... if you are not happy with the in laws or they are greedy or something then you shouldn't get attached in the first place...
so just buy whatever you can aford and do go over...
My finance told my family they don't want gifts.... just keep the wedding simple. But I'm my parent's first child getting married, so my parents want to still give some gifts to the immediate family (MIL etc). Nothing too major, but just to show our appreciation. I think If you can afford to, a little gift is nice.
But that being said, I hate the rest of the demanding mentality that most people have, that the bride needs to bring so much with her, especially if she is from abroad. GRRRRRRR our roads are NOT paved with gold!!!!
Alhumdillah my in-laws are chill, but I'm still going to get them something nice (within my budget).
So like hereforu124 said, do what you can, and don't stress. People will talk regardless. Just worry about your family & your In-laws. :)
And instead of me getting too many clothes from my parents or his...I would rather get tickets to go do Umrah. I think that is a nice way to start off your wedding.
Hmmm I'll let my older brother know, he just asked me what I wanted. :)
Jitna bhi do baatein bananey waley phir bhi baatein banaaein ge....ke yeh nahin diya ,woh nahin diya...i think the custom of giving groom's family gifts is all crap...
And instead of me getting too many clothes from my parents or his...I would rather get tickets to go do Umrah. I think that is a nice way to start off your wedding.
Hmmm I'll let my older brother know, he just asked me what I wanted. :)
Love the idea
Is anyone else annoyed that the thread's title suddenly has changed to "a"??????????????