Getting furniture from Pakistan...

I have recently been looking at furniture in the UK . Dare I say, most of it is totally useless :rolleyes: .. I want my home to have that classic look… you know how people in pakistan have perfectly decorated homes :@:

so I have thought of ordering some furniture from Lahore/Islamabad in a few months inshallah , which will include sofa’s , coffee table and side tables , dining table and chairs …

anyone has experience of it before? does the shipment cost alot? what are the risks ?

Thanks in advance for your advises all …

Re: Getting furniture from Pakistan...

Its odd that UK doesn't have good furniture shops.

Re: Getting furniture from Pakistan…

yeah , they have the usual casual stuff and the heavy classic stuff is way tooo expensive plus its nothing in beauty as compared to some of the stuff you can find in Pakistan :wub:

Been there done that, it was a walk in the park really... the best places in the country to do this, with the best furniture ofcourse are in the twin cities like you mentioned, who get their manufacturing done in places like Gujranwala etc. They charge around 2-3Lakh Rs. to ship it to the US. Very easy process, they take care of pretty much everything, including the freight to your local city. Top notch and sturdy stuff! There are some nice places near Faizabad Flyover towards the Pindi side that you might want to check out.

wow , spock that was extremely helpful , thanks mate .... how long did it take to get the stuff shipped ? a week ?

and did everything reach safely without any breakage?

UK doesnt use wood - its al chipboard or MDF which sucks really.

Unfortunately, there is a trend in Pak to use MDF as a wood substitute, so make sure you know what your furniture is constructed of

My SIL took curtains/comforters/hand made carpets and stuff like this from Pak, she said it was worth it.

Someone else took complete house furniture with her..they rented a container I think, said it was economical..don't know much about the process though.

wow , thanks masi … I guess i am on the right track then :cb: … I will find out from the shipping company what they charge , I too , heard about booking half a container or something … :hmmm:

If they charge 2 - 3 lakh, isn't that like £2000 -£3000? So wouldn't it work out the same to buy good quality solid wood furniture from here (UK)?

think of your carbon footprint. :O

CB
Check out this site…they have really nice furniture but very expensive. You need at least £10,000 to buy main items.

Reproduction Furniture | Traditional Furniture | English Furniture | Georgian Furniture UK

oh nos it's the eco police.

We had some carpets and my uncle had all his restuarant furniture delivered from Pakistan. He hired out a container as they called it.

I think it cost around £1700 pounds (3 years ago). Took a few months to get here. Price fepends on the size of the container.

With regards to buying furniture here, have you looked into joiners/carpenters in your area?

John Lewis has nice furniture. Solid too. You could have a look when the sales start.

Hi dildi, thanks so much mate, for a detailed response … yeah i have looked at pretty much everywhere .. but something or the other is always missing , if the furniture is nice, the price isnt .. if the price is nice , the furniture isnt :smack:

If we have to spend about £10,000 here, might as well get some really classic furniture from pakistan in less then this cost , hai na … thats whats on my mind these days …

Khair , Inshallah i am researching some more on the idea …

Hi, any further updates on the furniture. I am very interested in getting furniture from Pakistan. Any recommendations for shops in Lahore that I could visit.

My mom got all her furniture from Pakistan. The shipment costs were about €1300 (3 years ago). Unfortunnally not everything reached here in perfect condition. The only thing they packed very well was the glass of the dining table. Glass of almost all tables was broken. It costs my mom about €500 to make new glass with the correct sizes. Overall she is very happy with her furniture... It looks sooo beautiful and elegant....

I've seen Pakistani furniture in only one home, and that too in pictures but am I the only one that feels it looks out of place in the western homes? didn't realize it was so common as I've only witnessed one family do this, and I thought they were an exception.

It works in USA, but not in UK. The door widths in UK are not wide enough to accomodate most of the bulky Pakistani furniture which comes fully assembled. A friend had to call handymen to remove the legs of all her imported furniture just to get it through the doors. Not worth all the hassle imo. It is better to buy good quality furniture from UK, and add the pakistani touch with accessories and decorative items from back home.

I want to get furniture from Pakistan.
This is the store I’m crushing on. But I don’t know if it’ll worth buying from there and getting it shipped here and all that extra cost …

exactly my thoughts