future spouse, being Namazi

Re: future spouse, being Namazi

Definately, that would be one of the main requirements, along with a few others ofcourse.

sadzz: Whilst reading namaz(sincerely) does not make you an angel, it certainly makes you a better human in the eyes of God, and frankly when it comes down to it, that is all that matters. The rest is just wibble warble associated with god-less cultures.

I am sorry to say that in my observations Godless cultures are more humane then God feering ones.

I read about doctors and social workers on ground in Haiti by plane loads from Godless cultures , but none from God feering cultures. How do you explain that ?
On top of that that I see uncles declaring that this earthquake was a punishment from Allah. Haiti is not known for narcotic trade ,rampant prostitution , homosextuality or any other social ills. Those people have been dirt poor as a nation.

MIRCH at one point i do agree that our "MUSLIM NATIONS" are the last to help when somin of this sort happens aur haan hamaarey pyare Mullah fatway detey phirtey hain, lekin I do not agree that God feering culture is wrong , but thats my opinion.

An athiest does have morals, but does and athiest know 'ALLAH swt'?

Being a good person is one thing, charachter, morals, good and bad etc, obeying and fulfilling the rights of Allah swt are another thing.

Haqooq'ul ibaad - these are the rights of our parents, spouse, children, neighbours and society..we can be a good person, heck we can be the best person, never do a bad thing in our life think Mother Teresa

Haqooq'ul ALLAH - these are the rights of Allah swt, our ibaadah, our salaah, our dua's, our worship, our piety and our utmost belief in Him,

We cannot be a complete muslim without both of these, eg we can sit on a prayer mat and worship Allah swt all day but if we hurt others and neglect our family then NO we are not good muslims/people, same as if we become saintly towards humans and forget Allah we can never be whole or a complete muslim. They both go hand in hand, and for me my salah connects me to my Lord, My Lord does not require our prayers, there are a mere test of worship and discipline, but I know i need those salah's those prayers, to help me, to guide me to purify me. It depends on what importance you place worshipping of Allah swt in your life.

As for your partner praying, i think you can never force someone to pray and you cant expect them to just because you do, only pray and set an example so that they too one day can join you...

I am sorry to say but you're observations are not accurate.... or even relevant to the topic. Being namazi does not translate as inhumane, niether does it work the other way...i.e. be-namaz = inhumane. Humanity is not exclusive to one culture over other...so that is a moot point.

Think of the bigger picture, where if namaz is a standard by which if unobserved, renders useless any other good actions you have performed as a muslim. In this world youre action might count for alot, in the next, you'll have very little to show for. And like it or lump it, that is what really counts.

Its one thing if you're ignorant about the signficance of namaz, its another to dismiss it altogether.

p.s HECK yeah, salah is important. It's what segregates us from the non muslims. How much more importance can we give it? It's something we have to do, HAVE to do, regardless of where we are, what we are doing who we are with, it plays importance over every other action, i just don't understand why people don't realise its significance?
Or are trying to brush it under the carpet and brand it as insignificant and also by saying 'if you pray your not a better person'

in the eyes of Allah swt yes you are as your worshipping Him, and guys, reality check if your a muslim: worshipping and loving your Lord is much more important than anything in the world, yes even your mum and dad and yes, even your husband and your kids.

^ :k:

Anything a Muslim does is for Allah (SWT). Praying namaz , taking care of wife , care care of kids, taking care of other humans around you irrespective of their race , religion , age or culture is for Allah.
Allah will judge you based on how you fared in those aspects of life in addition to your namaz.
Namaz is not the only way to get a high place in front of Allah (SWT) It is one of those ways.
Since Allah is the judge , then we do not have the right to judge someone based on how many namaz a person prays, leave it to Allah and you judge people based on their other traits too.

Let me add my two cents in the form of another question.

I agree with all of you that being namazi may not make me a better husband so in a way that should not be the requirement of my wife. But lets say that definition of a better hubby for my wife is the one who goes out to parties with her or spend lots of money on her. Still, because she loves me, she knows that these things will not save me from hell fire. My namaz will. At that time, is it ok for her to put her criteria of a 'better husband' behind and encourage me to do 5 times prayer.

I mean, if she loves me really, she should be more worried about my better akhirat than worldly pleasures.

Too religious for some of you???

That is the the right approach. :k:

for most.

Thats an intresting way to put it.

You are right in that namaz is not the only way to get closer to Allah, but it does supercede everything, so much so that if you're namaz is accepted, all your naik amals will be, if you're namaz is non existant, then where does that leave your good deeds?

When it comes to choosing a spouse, we have every right to judge the suitability of a person on things that actually matter, and when namaz is a core pillar, you would have to be really daft to dismiss it. Sure, its is not he ONLY thing you look for, but it is just as significant as education/character/personality etc.

Abu Hurayrah, may Allah be pleased with him quotes the Prophet, peace and blessings be upon him, as saying, “A woman is married for four things, i.e., her wealth, her family status, her beauty, and her religion. So you should marry the religious woman; (otherwise) you will be a loser.” (Reported by Al-Bukhari)
Read more: Qualities to Look for in a Spouse - IslamonLine.net - Ask The Scholar

I sure would want to be with my husband in Jannah…and that is our goal. To be with each other. So we must strive to reach that in the Akhira here in the Duniya.

Nice reference Afshi. Thanks for sharing :k:

Aapko misunderstanding hogayi hai shayad...being a namazi doesn't neccesarily mean a person will abstain from such acts...I personally know someone who would stand up to do namaz when he was fully drunk(he was a regular drinker) and had molested children(worse than adultery, isn't it?). Namaz is a important part of our religion but we need to understand that it mostly fulfills huqooq-Allah and not huqooq-ul-ibad especially when the person doesn't understand the true meaning of his/her religion.

I would love my partner to be a 5 waqt namazi but I couldn't make this a requirement since I myself don't pray regularly. However, when I wasn't married I didn't think I could settle with someone who isn't spiritually religious and God fearing...that was my requirement and I also wouldn't consider a guy who did not respect people who do pray 5 times a day/do hijab. It's very important for me. I have come across people who don't respect those who commit to Islam and make fun of them or wouldn't associate with them....I simply can't stand a partner like that!

All I meant CA is that if person is in bad habits, you can talk about what quran or hadees says about that bad habit and he may listen cause after all he has some religious influence. You gave one example and I agree that there are exceptions, such as the example you gave.

In my case, YES i must want him to be interested and serious about religion. I myself try my best to say my prayers five times rather i try to do more. Same I would expect from him that at least he knows the imp of this obligation and he tries his best to be a practising muslim. Its not only about me and him but its about our kids and their future and then their kids and so on.. in short our generation. Alhamdulillah my grand parents have been mashAllah very practicing respectful ppl, my parents are the same, they have brought us up in same way and i feel it my responsibility to brought up my kids the same way if not in a better way.

:fatee: Just stop at 5, dont try to do more. We dont have 6 or 7 obligatory prayers, just 5.

and you think this guy's namaz would be accepted? Prayer really keeps u from all bad habits, sins, haraam ONLY AND ONLY when you say it with heart. When you are God fearing. this guy is obviously not God fearing coz if he was then he wont do haraam things such as u mentioned. if he doesnt have God's fear, then i dont understand why he was even bothered to say namaz. Like i dont understand the purpose of saying it.