future spouse, being Namazi

:smack: one of us is sleepy, I know its me.

But then dont alcoholism and gambling fall into the same category? If u drink while driving, u can lose ur license and go to jail etc. gambling..im not sure about the laws around that, but im sure there are some...

On a social level, those who drink, gamble, and have sex to an unhealthy extent (i.e., cheating, paying for it, spreading disease), those also have repercussions and consequences

Re: future spouse, being Namazi

Hmmm good point Sara but to some level, all those things are allowed in our otherwise moral society. Religion is the only law that nips thin the bud. It does not even let you start any of these activities.

well i would like to add sum thing from my side abt this topic..
if a gal or guy pray 5 tymz daily its the link between God and them but if we take it in this axpect kay ager hum mein sey kisi kay pass Allah ko yaad karnay kay leay din mein itna sa tym nahi aur hum chahtay hain kay wo humay seccond kay hazarvey hisay mein bhi na bolein,jo hum mangay wo dey,jis ki chah karay osay humara bana dey..is it fair?Will we not even make a prayer?..ager koi apnay God apnay creator sey hi fair and loyal nahi then how he or she would b fear with her lyf partner.
we should take both world and religion in our daily lyf...

No one is perfect, and praying 5x daily doesn't necessarily make that person a good muslim...and I try my best to pray them on time etc...so it would be nice to support each other to do it...so yea i wouldnt say no i'm not marrying you cause you don't pray reg., but it would be nice it we could work on it together!

I pray namaz 5 times, i am a quran hafiz but am I religious?! aahhh ahhhh omgg look at the word Bi*tch in my avatar:@:

It's not like praying namaz or being a hafiz makes me an Islamist or a terrorist:@:

IMO...

for me, having someone who reads salah 5x a day was important. I too, try my best and make an effort to pray 5x a day and I would want someone who would want to join me - instead of watching tv, sitting at the computer, etc. You know what they say: The ones that pray together, stay together. In my experience, I find that to be true. I love it when my and the hubby pray salah together and he leads.

It shows commitment. Salah is one of the easiest thing one can do as a Muslim. And having someone committed to Allah, himself - for his betterment and his future - shows me that he will also have the same commitment to his wife and family and their lives.

Muslims are supposed to get married for the sake of Allah (SWT). If people get married for other reasons then they won't receive it's blessings.

Muslims marry each other to seek Allah's mercy and happiness. It's not about Islamic history, it's about an Islamic obligation to help strenghten your spouse's faith. This is required.

Agreed. I never seen a marriage fail where the husband and wife share the same devotedness to Allah (SWT).

Its not that black and white as in case of neighbor or friend. "its b/w them and God" can be said for neighbors and others but not for spouse unless someone's concept of marriage is just to sleep together and on their way in the morning.

Marriage is the foundation of a household/family and both spouses are the pillars of it. What one does really effects other. For example If I get a party freak drinking spouse who loves to drink, chances are that now or later, i'll get into drinking too.

I didn't read the 4 pages - but if it's important to you - you SHOULD state that as a requirement (in your marriage resume - as Munza puts it).

I would have to advise that people change and as older they grow older and have kids - and some folks who have never prayed in their life (or just jummah prayers) start becoming very religious. I have seen that over and over again.

Sometimes if you have that requirement of praying 5 times - it doesn't mean it will stick or vice versa.

I would definitely want a spouse who is particular about praying 5 times a day. It's one of the most important duties of a Muslim and I would also want it to be second nature for our children when we have them, inshAllah.

fatto spartie - what would happen if one day she stops praying or is delaying her prayers or her beliefs shifts a bit after something dramatic happens in her life.

What would you then?

even when you buy smallest of electronics or even car, you make sure it "free of defects". you dont buy it believing that it will not "break" later on. It might or it might not.

Ankhoon daikhee makhee nahee niglee ja saktee

decent - I agree if prayer is built as a habit from childhood it's actually very hard to break.

But I have seen numerous couples that one will get VERY religious because loss of a prent or sibling and the other wonders "this is NOT the same person I got married to"

point being - people change after marriage

sure they do change. What I am saying there is no harm in looking for such spouse and then hope for the best. It should not be left to "oh its b/w him or her and God" ....

^ I agree

I've read quite a few of your posts about your husband and Wow he impresses me so much! You're truly lucky to have a guy like him in your life, I am falling in love with him just reading your posts, you better hold tight on to him :p

Regarding the namaz, it IS a faraz and I see a lot of people in this thread saying it doesnt make you a better person bla bla. Regardless of what it makes you, it is a farz, a duty towards your creator. Though I would never demand anyone to be 5x namazi, as it is truly none of my buisness. I believe people should pray to satisfy their God and not me or my demands.

well said :k:

my nana/nani got their daughters and mom married with guys who were shareef and namazi.unluckily nowadays not many parents take such risks/keep strong faith in God that marrying their daughter to a man with average salary is going to do fine..